Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Works with someone the plugins in check_mk agent?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
boospy
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 07 Feb 2010
Posts: 293
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Wed Nov 16, 2016 12:43 am    Post subject: Works with someone the plugins in check_mk agent? Reply with quote

Hello,

for some weeks i've written to the check_mk mailingslist. But have no solution for my problem, so I'am here.

I have some gentooservers, we are changeing from nagios to check_mk. Installed the agent over the ebuild and also tested manualy. Always the same problem. All plugins in the plugindirectory:
Code:
/usr/lib/check_mk_agent/plugins/

did not send informations to the check_mk server. But when i execute the plugins manualy on they display the right data.

So has anyone work with this already?

Gentoo up to date.

thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bbgermany
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 21 Feb 2005
Posts: 1574
Location: Oranienburg/Germany

PostPosted: Wed Nov 16, 2016 11:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

are you trying to use native nagios plugins with check_mk?

greetings bb
_________________
1st: i5-4440, 16GB, 1,75TB
2nd: C2D E7300, 4GB, 120 GB
3rd: Athlon II X2 215, 8GB, 7TB
4th: Samung N350, 2GB, 250GB
5th: Rasperry Pi, 512MB, 8GB USB + NFS
6th: C2D T7200, 2GB, 16GB USB + NFS
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
boospy
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 07 Feb 2010
Posts: 293
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Wed Nov 16, 2016 12:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

bbgermany wrote:
Hi,
are you trying to use native nagios plugins with check_mk?
greetings bb

No, only the checkmk plugins, to copy under the directory /usr/lib/check_mk_agent/plugins/.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bbgermany
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 21 Feb 2005
Posts: 1574
Location: Oranienburg/Germany

PostPosted: Thu Nov 17, 2016 7:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

let me guess, you copy for example mk_mysql into the directory, and if you run check_mk_agent on the client everything shows up for mysql. But if you try to connect via telnet <client> 6556, the mysql section is missing from the agent output. Is this correct?

If yes, you suffer the same issue I do. I have not found a solution up to now, but you can work around this, if you run the check via ssh. All output will arrive at the check_mk server afterwards.

greets, bb
_________________
1st: i5-4440, 16GB, 1,75TB
2nd: C2D E7300, 4GB, 120 GB
3rd: Athlon II X2 215, 8GB, 7TB
4th: Samung N350, 2GB, 250GB
5th: Rasperry Pi, 512MB, 8GB USB + NFS
6th: C2D T7200, 2GB, 16GB USB + NFS
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
boospy
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 07 Feb 2010
Posts: 293
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Thu Nov 17, 2016 7:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

bbgermany wrote:
Hi,
let me guess, you copy for example mk_mysql into the directory, and if you run check_mk_agent on the client everything shows up for mysql. But if you try to connect via telnet <client> 6556, the mysql section is missing from the agent output. Is this correct?

Yes exactly!

And yes ssh works for me too, very thanks! :) But btw, have you solved the OSname too in the inventory? Because Gentoo does not show his OS name. For example:

Code:
Code Name   Jessie
Kernel Architecture   x86_64
Kernel Version   4.4.21-1-pve
Name   Debian 8.6
Type   linux
Vendor   Debian
Version   8.6


Code:
Kernel Architecture   x86_64
Kernel Version   4.3.3-gentoo
Type   linux
Vendor   Gentoo


So the Name is not shown.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bbgermany
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 21 Feb 2005
Posts: 1574
Location: Oranienburg/Germany

PostPosted: Fri Nov 18, 2016 9:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

i havent fixed it fully, but you need mk_inventory in /usr/lib/check_mk_agent/plugins and you need to have sys-apps/lsb-release installed, since mk_inventory checkf for /etc/lsb-release.

My installation doesnt show up Gentoo as well. But I think, that can be fixed. Maybe, I will check it on the weekend.

Greets, bb

EDIT: I had already time to check. Gentoo is not really full of details in this case. I had to install the check_mk_agent 1.2.6p12 of my Check_MK instance to get more than the kernelversion and the architecture. But it just tells me the same like your installation does. Another issue is, that this agent doesnt support cups queues. So i cannot get information about my printers anymore :(
_________________
1st: i5-4440, 16GB, 1,75TB
2nd: C2D E7300, 4GB, 120 GB
3rd: Athlon II X2 215, 8GB, 7TB
4th: Samung N350, 2GB, 250GB
5th: Rasperry Pi, 512MB, 8GB USB + NFS
6th: C2D T7200, 2GB, 16GB USB + NFS
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
boospy
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 07 Feb 2010
Posts: 293
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Fri Nov 18, 2016 8:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Since change to SSH one system have sometimes a load from 100 and more 8O But this value is not right. The Server has no nload. Had you this phenomenon too?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bbgermany
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 21 Feb 2005
Posts: 1574
Location: Oranienburg/Germany

PostPosted: Sat Nov 19, 2016 2:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

not up to now. Sorry

Greets, bb
_________________
1st: i5-4440, 16GB, 1,75TB
2nd: C2D E7300, 4GB, 120 GB
3rd: Athlon II X2 215, 8GB, 7TB
4th: Samung N350, 2GB, 250GB
5th: Rasperry Pi, 512MB, 8GB USB + NFS
6th: C2D T7200, 2GB, 16GB USB + NFS
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
boospy
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 07 Feb 2010
Posts: 293
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Sat Nov 19, 2016 2:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

bbgermany wrote:
Hi,
not up to now. Sorry
Greets, bb

No problem, nice WE!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
boospy
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 07 Feb 2010
Posts: 293
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Sat Nov 19, 2016 9:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Supplement: On one Gentoosystem (an kodiclient) this with the inventory and the OS name works out of the box, so I think there is something missing.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bbgermany
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 21 Feb 2005
Posts: 1574
Location: Oranienburg/Germany

PostPosted: Mon Nov 21, 2016 6:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

you should check the installed packages and the configured use-flags then.

Greets, bb

EDIT: Oh and thank you ;)
_________________
1st: i5-4440, 16GB, 1,75TB
2nd: C2D E7300, 4GB, 120 GB
3rd: Athlon II X2 215, 8GB, 7TB
4th: Samung N350, 2GB, 250GB
5th: Rasperry Pi, 512MB, 8GB USB + NFS
6th: C2D T7200, 2GB, 16GB USB + NFS
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
boospy
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 07 Feb 2010
Posts: 293
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Mon Nov 21, 2016 4:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

For the inventory you can change this:

copy ~/share/check_mk/inventory/lnx_distro to ~/local/share/check_mk/inventory/ change the line 116 from "for line in lines:" to

Code:
for line in [l for l in lines if "=" in l]:


I have this from the check_mk Mailinglist. And it works.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bbgermany
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 21 Feb 2005
Posts: 1574
Location: Oranienburg/Germany

PostPosted: Tue Nov 22, 2016 7:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

can you post the whole section please. The modified and unmodified would be great.

Thank you and greet bb.
_________________
1st: i5-4440, 16GB, 1,75TB
2nd: C2D E7300, 4GB, 120 GB
3rd: Athlon II X2 215, 8GB, 7TB
4th: Samung N350, 2GB, 250GB
5th: Rasperry Pi, 512MB, 8GB USB + NFS
6th: C2D T7200, 2GB, 16GB USB + NFS
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
boospy
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 07 Feb 2010
Posts: 293
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Tue Nov 22, 2016 7:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
der Fehler liegt daran, dass in der Sektion lnx_distro hinter dem letzten Pipezeichen nichts mehr kommt. Die Inventurpruefung (~/share/check_mk/inventory/lnx_distro) erwartet, dass da so nicht.

Kannst du mal die Datei "/etc/lsb-release" vom Server als Anhang schicken?

Als Workaround kannst du ~/share/check_mk/inventory/lnx_distro ins Verzeichnis ~/local/share/check_mk/inventory/ kopieren und dort in Zeile 116 statt "for line in lines:" dies eintragen:

for line in [l for l in lines if "=" in l]:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bbgermany
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 21 Feb 2005
Posts: 1574
Location: Oranienburg/Germany

PostPosted: Tue Nov 22, 2016 8:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you/Danke,

but in line 116 there is no such entry./aber in Zeile 116 gibt es solch einen Eintrag nicht bei mir.

Greets/MfG. bb
_________________
1st: i5-4440, 16GB, 1,75TB
2nd: C2D E7300, 4GB, 120 GB
3rd: Athlon II X2 215, 8GB, 7TB
4th: Samung N350, 2GB, 250GB
5th: Rasperry Pi, 512MB, 8GB USB + NFS
6th: C2D T7200, 2GB, 16GB USB + NFS
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum