Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
problems loading iso with qemu
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
_______0
Guru
Guru


Joined: 15 Oct 2012
Posts: 521

PostPosted: Mon Oct 28, 2013 8:36 pm    Post subject: problems loading iso with qemu Reply with quote

hi,

I am having a problem when booting qemu with the following options,

-nodefaults (don't want ide stuff, floppy and old things)
-M q35 (most modern southbridge chipset emulation)

I've tried doing -drive file=etc,media=cdrom and -cdrom to no avail.

Anyone know whether this combination with -M q35 and cdrom is possible?

thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eyoung100
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 Jan 2004
Posts: 1406

PostPosted: Mon Oct 28, 2013 8:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

EHow: Attach an ISO Image
_________________
The Birth and Growth of Science is the Death and Atrophy of Art -- Unknown
Registerd Linux User #363735
Adopt a Post | Strip Comments| Emerge Wrapper
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
_______0
Guru
Guru


Joined: 15 Oct 2012
Posts: 521

PostPosted: Mon Oct 28, 2013 9:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

can't you show how? I've blocked ehow and experts-exchange from my browser.

Code:
-drive file=/home/nbhs/windows.iso,id=isocd -device ide-cd,bus=ahci.1,drive=isocd


wow, amazing guide!!

http://www.overclock.net/t/1205216/guide-create-a-gaming-virtual-machine/600


Last edited by _______0 on Mon Oct 28, 2013 10:01 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eyoung100
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 Jan 2004
Posts: 1406

PostPosted: Mon Oct 28, 2013 9:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

EHow wrote:
1. Launch your preferred terminal emulator from your desktop.
2. Use the "cd" command to navigate to the folder in which your ISO image is stored.
3. Type "qemu -boot c -hda disk.iso", where "disk.iso" is the name of your ISO image, then press the "Enter" key to launch the virtual instance.

_________________
The Birth and Growth of Science is the Death and Atrophy of Art -- Unknown
Registerd Linux User #363735
Adopt a Post | Strip Comments| Emerge Wrapper
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
_______0
Guru
Guru


Joined: 15 Oct 2012
Posts: 521

PostPosted: Mon Oct 28, 2013 10:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

eyoung100 wrote:
EHow wrote:
1. Launch your preferred terminal emulator from your desktop.
2. Use the "cd" command to navigate to the folder in which your ISO image is stored.
3. Type "qemu -boot c -hda disk.iso", where "disk.iso" is the name of your ISO image, then press the "Enter" key to launch the virtual instance.


dude . . . . . .


My original question have the following constraints:

-nodefaults
-M q35


that's exactly why I've blocked ehow.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eyoung100
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 Jan 2004
Posts: 1406

PostPosted: Tue Oct 29, 2013 1:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

QEMU-kvm Man page

-nodefaults disables cdrom
_________________
The Birth and Growth of Science is the Death and Atrophy of Art -- Unknown
Registerd Linux User #363735
Adopt a Post | Strip Comments| Emerge Wrapper
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum