Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOLVED]Why so many failed emerges lately?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Tman11
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 30 Jun 2013
Posts: 77

PostPosted: Tue Aug 27, 2013 3:45 pm    Post subject: [SOLVED]Why so many failed emerges lately? Reply with quote

I just dont understand, i did a complete KDE install not but 4 days ago with no errors, fails, issues. Now it seems like everything is getting in the way. I have the following fails. let me know what info you guys need cuz im at a loss right now...

Failed to emerge sys-apps/sandbox-2.6-r1
Code:
emerge -pqv '=sys-apps/sandbox-2.6-r1'
[ebuild   R   ] sys-apps/sandbox-2.6-r1  USE="(multilib*)"


used emerge --skipfirst to try and get around sandbox but then this happens...

Failed to emerge sys-libs/glibc-2.15-r3
Code:
emerge -pqv '=sys-libs/glibc-2.15-r3'
[ebuild   R   ] sys-libs/glibc-2.15-r3  USE="(multilib*) -debug -gd (-hardened) -profile (-selinux) -vanilla"


not to sure about what other fails im going to find when performing this command
Code:
emerge --ask --changed-use --deep @world


Last edited by Tman11 on Fri Aug 30, 2013 2:40 pm; edited 3 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DawgG
l33t
l33t


Joined: 17 Sep 2003
Posts: 866

PostPosted: Tue Aug 27, 2013 3:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

only install the updates you need.
Code:
emerge -quDN world
is a fast way into deep trouble unless you have some sturdy experience with portage.

i suggest you use
Code:
emerge -v...
instead of
Code:
 emerge -q...
so you can see what fails und which USEFLAGS will be changed because of the -N.
in my experience the best way is to set all the useflags you need in a package.use-file, so nbothing (or not much) happnes when the default-useflags in the ebuild(s) change.

sometimes disabling some FEATURES of portage will allow you to emerge a package that failed to emerge with those features enabled. if some ebuild fails beacuse of sandbox-violations and you are certain it does not contain any malicious code you can try to emerge it with FEATURES="-sandbox"

GOOD LUCK!
_________________
DUMM KLICKT GUT.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tman11
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 30 Jun 2013
Posts: 77

PostPosted: Tue Aug 27, 2013 4:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
emerge -quDN world

 * IMPORTANT: 6 news items need reading for repository 'gentoo'.
 * Use eselect news to read news items.

>>> Verifying ebuild manifests
>>> Running pre-merge checks for media-libs/glu-9.0.0
>>> Running pre-merge checks for kde-base/kdelibs-4.10.5-r1
>>> Emerging (1 of 74) sys-libs/timezone-data-2013c
>>> Failed to emerge sys-libs/timezone-data-2013c, Log file:
>>>  '/var/tmp/portage/sys-libs/timezone-data-2013c/temp/build.log'
--2013-08-27 06:01:27--  http://lug.mtu.edu/gentoo/distfiles/tzdata2013c.tar.gz
Resolving lug.mtu.edu... failed: Name or service not known.
wget: unable to resolve host address ‘lug.mtu.edu’
--2013-08-27 06:01:27--  ftp://munnari.oz.au/pub/tzdata2013c.tar.gz
           => ‘/usr/portage/distfiles/tzdata2013c.tar.gz’
Resolving munnari.oz.au... failed: Name or service not known.
wget: unable to resolve host address ‘munnari.oz.au’
--2013-08-27 06:01:27--  http://www.iana.org/time-zones/repository/releases/tzdata2013c.tar.gz
Resolving www.iana.org... failed: Name or service not known.
wget: unable to resolve host address ‘www.iana.org’
!!! Couldn't download 'tzdata2013c.tar.gz'. Aborting.
 * Fetch failed for 'sys-libs/timezone-data-2013c', Log file:
 *  '/var/tmp/portage/sys-libs/timezone-data-2013c/temp/build.log'

 * Messages for package sys-libs/timezone-data-2013c:

 * Fetch failed for 'sys-libs/timezone-data-2013c', Log file:
 *  '/var/tmp/portage/sys-libs/timezone-data-2013c/temp/build.log'
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hielvc
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 19 Apr 2002
Posts: 2805
Location: Oceanside, Ca

PostPosted: Tue Aug 27, 2013 5:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Post your /etc/portage/make.conf .
_________________
An A-Z Index of the Linux BASH command line
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tman11
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 30 Jun 2013
Posts: 77

PostPosted: Tue Aug 27, 2013 6:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
# These settings were set by the catalyst build script that automatically
# built this stage.
# Please consult /usr/share/portage/config/make.conf.example for a more
# detailed example.
CFLAGS="-march=amdfam10 -O2 -pipe -mtune=amdfam10"
CXXFLAGS="${CFLAGS}"
# WARNING: Changing your CHOST is not something that should be done lightly.
# Please consult http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/change-chost.xml before changing.
CHOST="x86_64-pc-linux-gnu"
# These are the USE flags that were used in addition to what is provided by the
# profile used for building.
USE="bindist acl pam nls introspection firmware-loader gudev hwdb keymap openrc X -gtk -gnome qt4 kde dvd alsa cdr mmx sse s$
MAKEOPTS="-j5"

GENTOO_MIRRORS="http://lug.mtu.edu/gentoo/"

SYNC="rsync://rsync24.us.gentoo.org/gentoo-portage"

VIDEO_CARDS="radeon"
INPUT_DEVICES="evdev"

LICENSE="*"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hu
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 06 Mar 2007
Posts: 21635

PostPosted: Tue Aug 27, 2013 8:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Post the output of cat /etc/resolv.conf ; ls -l /etc/resolv.conf. Your name resolution is not working for Portage.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tman11
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 30 Jun 2013
Posts: 77

PostPosted: Tue Aug 27, 2013 8:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
cat /etc/resolv.conf
# Generated by dhcpcd
# /etc/resolv.conf.head can replace this line
# /etc/resolv.conf.tail can replace this line



Code:
 ls -l /etc/resolv.conf
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 114 Aug 27 10:20 /etc/resolv.conf


I'm about to head to work soon, so my response will be delayed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hu
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 06 Mar 2007
Posts: 21635

PostPosted: Tue Aug 27, 2013 9:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Your name resolution is not working at all. Your DHCP client is not configuring any nameservers, so you cannot resolve any names. Check that your DHCP server offers nameservers when it grants a lease.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Logicien
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 16 Sep 2005
Posts: 1555
Location: Montréal

PostPosted: Tue Aug 27, 2013 9:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You should close the parenthesis of the USE variable like this:
Code:
USE="bindist acl pam nls introspection firmware-loader gudev hwdb keymap openrc X -gtk -gnome qt4 kde dvd alsa cdr mmx sse s$"

_________________
Paul
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hu
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 06 Mar 2007
Posts: 21635

PostPosted: Tue Aug 27, 2013 9:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Logicien wrote:
You should close the parenthesis of the USE variable like this:
Code:
USE="bindist acl pam nls introspection firmware-loader gudev hwdb keymap openrc X -gtk -gnome qt4 kde dvd alsa cdr mmx sse s$"
That $ is characteristic of some editors that default not to wrapping text. The original poster probably opened the file in a text editor and then copied the contents of the terminal. There is no $ in the file, and some flags are unshown.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Logicien
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 16 Sep 2005
Posts: 1555
Location: Montréal

PostPosted: Tue Aug 27, 2013 10:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So Hu,

do you say that the code we see from the original poster of this thread is not the exact copy of the /etc/portage/make.conf file? If yes, is it reliable?
_________________
Paul
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hu
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 06 Mar 2007
Posts: 21635

PostPosted: Tue Aug 27, 2013 10:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, that is what I said. It is not wholly reliable. In my opinion, all lines shorter than the one with the dollar sign can be trusted as accurate. The USE line can be trusted as accurate for the characters left of the dollar sign, but has unspecified content to the right of the dollar sign. Since USE variables can be inverted, it is possible that choices we see to the left of the dollar sign are inverted by choices hidden on the right of the dollar sign.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tman11
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 30 Jun 2013
Posts: 77

PostPosted: Wed Aug 28, 2013 12:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hu wrote:
Your name resolution is not working at all. Your DHCP client is not configuring any nameservers, so you cannot resolve any names. Check that your DHCP server offers nameservers when it grants a lease.


Last time I set up the dhcp it was just the config_eth0="dhcp" in /etc/conf.d/net. It worked last time I installed 4 days ago. But how would I chaeck what you're asking for?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hielvc
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 19 Apr 2002
Posts: 2805
Location: Oceanside, Ca

PostPosted: Wed Aug 28, 2013 1:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Run
Code:
sudo /etc/init.d/dhcpcd stop
sudo /etc/init.d/dhcpcd start

You should see something like this
Code:
hielvc@amd_1055 ~ $ sudo  /etc/init.d/dhcpcd stop
 * Unmounting network filesystems ...                                     [ ok ]
 * Stopping DHCP Client Daemon ...                                        [ ok ]
hielvc@amd_1055 ~ $ sudo  /etc/init.d/dhcpcd start
 * Starting DHCP Client Daemon ...                                        [ ok ]

If you do then run
Code:
sudo rc-update add dhcpcd boot

_________________
An A-Z Index of the Linux BASH command line
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hu
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 06 Mar 2007
Posts: 21635

PostPosted: Wed Aug 28, 2013 2:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hielvc: his resolv.conf already confirms he is running dhcpcd. The problem is that it is not configuring his nameservers. This is likely because the DHCP server is not providing any.

OP: contact the administrator of your DHCP server and ask him/her to check it, or use the DHCP client's debug facility to print out what it receives from the DHCP server.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tman11
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 30 Jun 2013
Posts: 77

PostPosted: Wed Aug 28, 2013 2:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The admin of my dhcp would be my ISP right? And I'm doing this on a home pc not for business use. I still don't understand why it would be a dhcp problem

Edit: kind of late but heres my config.log
Code:
/var/tmp/portage/sys-apps/sandbox-2.6-r1/work/build-amd64/config.log

http://bpaste.net/show/126939/

Code:
/var/tmp/portage/sys-apps/sandbox-2.6-r1/work/build-x86/config.log

http://bpaste.net/show/126941

Not sure if we needed the amd64 (which im building) or the x86 for any other reasons.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tman11
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 30 Jun 2013
Posts: 77

PostPosted: Wed Aug 28, 2013 1:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

taking this post to portage and programming
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hu
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 06 Mar 2007
Posts: 21635

PostPosted: Wed Aug 28, 2013 9:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Although some users talk directly to their ISP DHCP server, many home users buy a consumer grade router and let that talk to their ISP, then point their computers to the local router. If this describes you, then you need to look at the home router first.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7651
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Thu Aug 29, 2013 12:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
echo "nameserver 8.8.8.8" > /etc/resolv.conf
ping google.com
if that works:
Code:
echo "nameserver 8.8.8.8" > /etc/resolv.conf.tail
which should preserve a valid nameserver address even though dhcpcd writes over /etc/resolv.conf each time it runs..
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tman11
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 30 Jun 2013
Posts: 77

PostPosted: Thu Aug 29, 2013 12:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I will try your method DONAHUE as soon as i get a chance, but this is everything i've gathered so far.

ok so i gathered up all the information here we go

Code:
emerge --ask --changed-use --deep @world


i get error that sys-apps/sandbox-2.6-r1 has an error and failed.

Code:
>>> Failed to emerge sys-apps/sandbox-2.6-r1, Log file:

>>>  '/var/tmp/portage/sys-apps/sandbox-2.6-r1/temp/build.log'

 * Messages for package sys-apps/sandbox-2.6-r1:

 * ERROR: sys-apps/sandbox-2.6-r1 failed (compile phase):
 *   econf failed
 *
 * Call stack:
 *          ebuild.sh, line   93:  Called src_compile
 *        environment, line 2685:  Called multijob_child_init 'sb_configure'
 *        environment, line 2166:  Called sb_configure
 *        environment, line 2632:  Called econf
 *   phase-helpers.sh, line  521:  Called die
 * The specific snippet of code:
 *                      die "econf failed"
 *
 * If you need support, post the output of `emerge --info '=sys-apps/sandbox-2.6-r1'`,
 * the complete build log and the output of `emerge -pqv '=sys-apps/sandbox-2.6-r1'`.
 * If configure failed with a 'cannot run C compiled programs' error, try this:
 * FEATURES=-sandbox emerge sandbox
 * The complete build log is located at '/var/tmp/portage/sys-apps/sandbox-2.6-r1/temp/build.log'.
 * The ebuild environment file is located at '/var/tmp/portage/sys-apps/sandbox-2.6-r1/temp/environment'.
 * Working directory: '/var/tmp/portage/sys-apps/sandbox-2.6-r1/work/build-x86'
 * S: '/var/tmp/portage/sys-apps/sandbox-2.6-r1/work/sandbox-2.6'


config.log
http://bpaste.net/show/126939/

Code:
emerge -pqv '=sys-apps/sandbox-2.6-r1'
[ebuild   R   ] sys-apps/sandbox-2.6-r1  USE="(multilib*)"


--info for sys-apps
Code:
Portage 2.1.12.2 (default/linux/amd64/13.0/desktop/kde, gcc-4.6.3, glibc-2.15-r3, 3.6.8-gentoo-r1 x86_64)
=================================================================
                         System Settings
=================================================================
System uname: Linux-3.6.8-gentoo-r1-x86_64-AMD_Phenom-tm-_II_X2_555_Processor-with-gentoo-2.2
KiB Mem:     4054228 total,   1201904 free
KiB Swap:          0 total,         0 free
Timestamp of tree: Tue, 27 Aug 2013 01:45:01 +0000
ld GNU ld (GNU Binutils) 2.23.1
app-shells/bash:          4.2_p45
dev-lang/python:          2.7.5, 3.2.5-r1
dev-util/pkgconfig:       0.28
sys-apps/baselayout:      2.2
sys-apps/openrc:          0.11.8
sys-apps/sandbox:         2.6-r1
sys-devel/autoconf:       2.13, 2.69
sys-devel/automake:       1.10.3, 1.12.6
sys-devel/binutils:       2.23.1
sys-devel/gcc:            4.6.3
sys-devel/gcc-config:     1.7.3
sys-devel/libtool:        2.4-r1
sys-devel/make:           3.82-r4
sys-kernel/linux-headers: 3.7 (virtual/os-headers)
sys-libs/glibc:           2.15-r3
Repositories: gentoo
ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="amd64"
ACCEPT_LICENSE="* -@EULA"
CBUILD="x86_64-pc-linux-gnu"
CFLAGS="-march=amdfam10 -O2 -pipe -mtune=amdfam10"
CHOST="x86_64-pc-linux-gnu"
CONFIG_PROTECT="/etc /usr/share/config"
CONFIG_PROTECT_MASK="/etc/ca-certificates.conf /etc/env.d /etc/fonts/fonts.conf /etc/gconf /etc/gentoo-release /etc/sandbox.d /etc/terminfo"
CXXFLAGS="-march=amdfam10 -O2 -pipe -mtune=amdfam10"
DISTDIR="/usr/portage/distfiles"
FCFLAGS="-O2 -pipe"
FEATURES="assume-digests binpkg-logs config-protect-if-modified distlocks ebuild-locks fixlafiles merge-sync news parallel-fetch preserve-libs protect-owned sandbox sfperms strict unknown-features-warn unmerge-logs unmerge-orphans userfetch"
FFLAGS="-O2 -pipe"
GENTOO_MIRRORS="http://lug.mtu.edu/gentoo/"
LANG="en_US.UTF-8"
LDFLAGS="-Wl,-O1 -Wl,--as-needed"
MAKEOPTS="-j5"
PKGDIR="/usr/portage/packages"
PORTAGE_CONFIGROOT="/"
PORTAGE_RSYNC_OPTS="--recursive --links --safe-links --perms --times --compress --force --whole-file --delete --stats --human-readable --timeout=180 --exclude=/distfiles --exclude=/local --exclude=/packages"
PORTAGE_TMPDIR="/var/tmp"
PORTDIR="/usr/portage"
PORTDIR_OVERLAY=""
SYNC="rsync://rsync24.us.gentoo.org/gentoo-portage"
USE="X a52 aac acl acpi alsa amd64 berkdb bindist bluetooth branding bzip2 cairo cdda cdr cli consolekit cracklib crypt cups cxx dbus declarative dri dts dvd dvdr emboss encode exif fam firefox firmware-loader flac fortran gdbm gif gpm gudev hwdb iconv introspection ipv6 jpeg kde keymap kipi lcms ldap libnotify mad mmx mng modules mp3 mp4 mpeg mudflap multilib ncurses nls nptl ogg opengl openmp openrc pam pango pcre pdf phonon plasma png policykit ppds qt3support qt4 readline sdl semantic-desktop session spell sse sse2 ssl startup-notification svg tcpd tiff truetype udev udisks unicode upower usb vorbis wxwidgets x264 xcb xcomposite xinerama xml xscreensaver xv xvid zlib" ABI_X86="64" ALSA_CARDS="ali5451 als4000 atiixp atiixp-modem bt87x ca0106 cmipci emu10k1x ens1370 ens1371 es1938 es1968 fm801 hda-intel intel8x0 intel8x0m maestro3 trident usb-audio via82xx via82xx-modem ymfpci" APACHE2_MODULES="authn_core authz_core socache_shmcb unixd actions alias auth_basic authn_alias authn_anon authn_dbm authn_default authn_file authz_dbm authz_default authz_groupfile authz_host authz_owner authz_user autoindex cache cgi cgid dav dav_fs dav_lock deflate dir disk_cache env expires ext_filter file_cache filter headers include info log_config logio mem_cache mime mime_magic negotiation rewrite setenvif speling status unique_id userdir usertrack vhost_alias" CALLIGRA_FEATURES="kexi words flow plan sheets stage tables krita karbon braindump author" CAMERAS="ptp2" COLLECTD_PLUGINS="df interface irq load memory rrdtool swap syslog" ELIBC="glibc" GPSD_PROTOCOLS="ashtech aivdm earthmate evermore fv18 garmin garmintxt gpsclock itrax mtk3301 nmea ntrip navcom oceanserver oldstyle oncore rtcm104v2 rtcm104v3 sirf superstar2 timing tsip tripmate tnt ubx" INPUT_DEVICES="evdev" KERNEL="linux" LCD_DEVICES="bayrad cfontz cfontz633 glk hd44780 lb216 lcdm001 mtxorb ncurses text" LIBREOFFICE_EXTENSIONS="presenter-console presenter-minimizer" OFFICE_IMPLEMENTATION="libreoffice" PHP_TARGETS="php5-5" PYTHON_SINGLE_TARGET="python2_7" PYTHON_TARGETS="python2_7 python3_2" RUBY_TARGETS="ruby19 ruby18" USERLAND="GNU" VIDEO_CARDS="radeon" XTABLES_ADDONS="quota2 psd pknock lscan length2 ipv4options ipset ipp2p iface geoip fuzzy condition tee tarpit sysrq steal rawnat logmark ipmark dhcpmac delude chaos account"
Unset:  CPPFLAGS, CTARGET, EMERGE_DEFAULT_OPTS, INSTALL_MASK, LC_ALL, PORTAGE_BUNZIP2_COMMAND, PORTAGE_COMPRESS, PORTAGE_COMPRESS_FLAGS, PORTAGE_RSYNC_EXTRA_OPTS, USE_PYTHON

=================================================================
                        Package Settings
=================================================================

sys-apps/sandbox-2.6-r1 was built with the following:
USE="(-multilib)" ABI_X86="64"
CFLAGS="-O2 -pipe"
CXXFLAGS="-O2 -pipe"


I use the following to try and get around that error, but then another problem shows up
Code:
emerge --skipfirst


Code:
>>> Failed to emerge sys-libs/glibc-2.15-r3, Log file:

>>>  '/var/tmp/portage/sys-libs/glibc-2.15-r3/temp/build.log'

 * Messages for package sys-libs/glibc-2.15-r3:

 * ERROR: sys-libs/glibc-2.15-r3 failed (compile phase):
 *   failed to configure glibc
 *
 * Call stack:
 *           ebuild.sh, line   93:  Called src_compile
 *         environment, line 3317:  Called eblit-run 'src_compile'
 *         environment, line  870:  Called eblit-glibc-src_compile
 *   src_compile.eblit, line  245:  Called src_compile
 *         environment, line 3317:  Called eblit-run 'src_compile'
 *         environment, line  870:  Called eblit-glibc-src_compile
 *   src_compile.eblit, line  253:  Called toolchain-glibc_src_compile
 *   src_compile.eblit, line  151:  Called glibc_do_configure 'nptl'
 *   src_compile.eblit, line  113:  Called die
 * The specific snippet of code:
 *      "$@" || die "failed to configure glibc"
 *
 * If you need support, post the output of `emerge --info '=sys-libs/glibc-2.15-r3'`,
 * the complete build log and the output of `emerge -pqv '=sys-libs/glibc-2.15-r3'`.
 * The complete build log is located at '/var/tmp/portage/sys-libs/glibc-2.15-r3/temp/build.log'.
 * The ebuild environment file is located at '/var/tmp/portage/sys-libs/glibc-2.15-r3/temp/environment'.
 * Working directory: '/var/tmp/portage/sys-libs/glibc-2.15-r3/work/build-x86-x86_64-pc-linux-gnu-nptl'
 * S: '/var/tmp/portage/sys-libs/glibc-2.15-r3/work/glibc-2.15'


if you guys need the same info as the sandbox for this let me know and i'll post it. Please help me out, i did a full install for KDE not but a week ago and everything went very smoothly. I dont know why i'm getting so many errors. btw here is my make.conf

Code:
# These settings were set by the catalyst build script that automatically
# built this stage.
# Please consult /usr/share/portage/config/make.conf.example for a more
# detailed example.
CFLAGS="-march=amdfam10 -O2 -pipe -mtune=amdfam10"
CXXFLAGS="${CFLAGS}"
# WARNING: Changing your CHOST is not something that should be done lightly.
# Please consult http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/change-chost.xml before changing.
CHOST="x86_64-pc-linux-gnu"
# These are the USE flags that were used in addition to what is provided by the
# profile used for building.
USE="bindist acl pam nls introspection firmware-loader gudev hwdb keymap openrc X -gtk -gnome qt4 kde dvd alsa cdr mmx sse sse2 consolekit dbus policykit udev udisks"
MAKEOPTS="-j5"

GENTOO_MIRRORS="http://lug.mtu.edu/gentoo/"

SYNC="rsync://rsync24.us.gentoo.org/gentoo-portage"

VIDEO_CARDS="radeon"
INPUT_DEVICES="evdev"

LICENSE="*"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tman11
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 30 Jun 2013
Posts: 77

PostPosted: Thu Aug 29, 2013 4:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

DONAHUE wrote:
Code:
echo "nameserver 8.8.8.8" > /etc/resolv.conf
ping google.com
if that works:
Code:
echo "nameserver 8.8.8.8" > /etc/resolv.conf.tail
which should preserve a valid nameserver address even though dhcpcd writes over /etc/resolv.conf each time it runs..


it pings and echo'd though still no luck on the sandbox for emerge --ask --changed-use --deep @world
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
imaginasys
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 26 Dec 2009
Posts: 83
Location: Québec

PostPosted: Thu Aug 29, 2013 5:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Would you happen to have a firewall that block dhcp ?

there is a reason DHCP doesn't offer you an address or a DNS. You have to find it.

Show us output of "# ifconfig eth0". I want to see if you have an IP address on that network.

do you run "NetworkManager" ? ... if yes try to disable the network and after 30 sec re-enable it with nm-applet.
it will try to reconnect and if you keep your mouse on the applet you will see messages.
(or restart NetworkManager: # /etc/init.d/NetworkManager restart ).

If you use a net.eth0 script to connect (replace eth0 by your actual ifname), then try this:

1- kill dhcpd (as root): # dhcpcd -k eth0
2-wait 30 secs and try: # dhpcd eth0
and post the messages dhcp will issue to you if you don't get an IP or a DNS in /etc/resolv.conf
if you have a home router, your DNS is probably 192.168.1.1 (the address of your router).
then check connectivity: is the router up and you can ping it, is your ISP up and you can ping it ?

And last if nothing work show your firewall info : # iptables -L
show your routing table: # route

Regards,

BT :mrgreen:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7651
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Thu Aug 29, 2013 5:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

are you still seeing the "fetch failed" messages?
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tman11
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 30 Jun 2013
Posts: 77

PostPosted: Thu Aug 29, 2013 3:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

DONAHUE wrote:
are you still seeing the "fetch failed" messages?


@DONAHUE: timezone emerged though and fetched, and now stopped back at sandbox with same errors given. heres the build.log on it
http://bpaste.net/show/127460

@Imagineasys:
Code:
dhcpcd -k eth0
dhcpcd[14739]: sending commands to master dhcpcd process
dhcpcd eth0
dhcpcd[14752]: sending commands to master dhcpcd process


im able to ping my router with success
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7651
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Thu Aug 29, 2013 4:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I would try
Code:
emerge -1 libtool
then
Code:
emerge -e system

_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum