View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours
View posts from last 7 days

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
WvR
Apprentice
Apprentice

PostPosted: Tue Oct 08, 2013 10:58 pm    Post subject: After update, no X, no network, and no errors Reply with quote

Computer: Lenovo Thinkpad x201i. I have been using Gentoo on the laptop since February 2011, so far without too many problems.

Recently (first week of october 2013) I updated the computer and installed a new kernel (3.10.7-r1). I did not restart the computer immediately, but I used it a couple of days (using "suspend" rather than "shutdown") and I did not notice anything wrong. I use Gnome-3.8 and systemd. The migration to systemd was not easy but it has been working fine for a couple of weeks now.

However, yesterday I had to boot into Windows, and when I rebooted Gentoo, there was a problem :( Symptoms:

- Boot process seems to be fine, but when systemd mentions "starting GNOME display manager", the screen goes black, and it seems that X is starting, but then nothing happens: there is no mouse pointer, no login screen, no nothing.

- network does not work. I tried the ethernet card (used to work fine), built-in wireless, and an external wireless. In all cases, the interfaces come up, but /var/log/messages mentions
Code:
the interface is not ready

- For X, I have had this problem before with kernel updates, so I do
Code:
emerge xf86-video-intel xf86-input-evdev
. Compiles fine, but still GDM does not start - this is __not__ normal.

-
Code:
ps -eadf | grep X
shows that the X server is running. I can kill it and issue "startx" as root. The X server starts, but there is only a black screen, no TWM or anything. Xorg.0.log mentions no problems. As a user, can do "X -retro" and I get the old fashioned grey screen with an X in the center.

- Maybe a kernel issue? I started with my older kernels, but the problems are the same