Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
virtualbox with systemd
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
waterloo2005
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 26 Aug 2008
Posts: 248

PostPosted: Sun Aug 25, 2013 3:03 pm    Post subject: virtualbox with systemd Reply with quote

After installing virtualbox-bin in gnome 3.8 with systemd, I can not find /etc/init.d/vboxdrv .
How to do with it? Thanks
_________________
i5-2450M, gnome, amd64
R,Mathematica,Emacs
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CrUpf
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Dec 2008
Posts: 12
Location: /home/crupf

PostPosted: Sun Aug 25, 2013 4:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

systemd doesn't even use your initscripts. Afaik it could, but it is disabled on Gentoo by default.

If there is no corresponding systemd unit, you could write your own one. Or one for each VM.

You could use this as a base to work on:
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Systemd/Services#VirtualBox_virtual_machines

In the case you haven't alread read it, this post might be useful:
http://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Systemd#Services
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vasettoo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 Nov 2012
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Mon Aug 26, 2013 12:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You don't need to start service - just copy the modules for loading at boot time to corresponding folder.

http://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Systemd#Automatic_module_loading
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
diablo465
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 10 Sep 2013
Posts: 92

PostPosted: Mon Feb 03, 2014 1:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

sorry @vasettoo I tried that, but it desn't work for me.

I also tried http://stackoverflow.com/questions/14171481/virtualbox-headless-not-starting-via-systemd. But still no luck
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vasettoo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 Nov 2012
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Tue Feb 04, 2014 9:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've just noticed that you use the bin package - my suggestion is to install source based package with needed use flags for extensions. That way systemd will create corresponding service upon installating virtualbox package. And don't forget the modules in systemd folder from my previous post.
Reference: http://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/VirtualBox
Good luck!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
diablo465
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 10 Sep 2013
Posts: 92

PostPosted: Tue Feb 04, 2014 10:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks @vasettoo, but which flag should I add? I have got:

Code:
debian / # emerge -av virtualbox

 * IMPORTANT: 1 news items need reading for repository 'gentoo'.
 * Use eselect news to read news items.


 * IMPORTANT: config file '/etc/portage/package.use/x11-base' needs updating.
 * See the CONFIGURATION FILES section of the emerge
 * man page to learn how to update config files.

These are the packages that would be merged, in order:

Calculating dependencies... done!
[ebuild   R    ] app-emulation/virtualbox-4.2.22  USE="additions alsa opengl pam pulseaudio python qt4 sdk -doc -extensions -headless -java -vboxwebsrv -vnc" PYTHON_SINGLE_TARGET="python2_7" PYTHON_TARGETS="python2_7" 0 kB

Total: 1 package (1 reinstall), Size of downloads: 0 kB
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
diablo465
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 10 Sep 2013
Posts: 92

PostPosted: Tue Feb 04, 2014 1:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks @vasettoo this problem is solved after executing:

Code:
emerge -1 @module-rebuild



as suggested by http://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/VirtualBox

In fact I am not using binary package as you speculated. But apparently a compiled virtualbox still requires rebuilding modules after a systemd update.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum