Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Firefox gets stuck and keeps one core fully loaded
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Ripper-tm
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 May 2011
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Thu Aug 22, 2013 4:57 pm    Post subject: Firefox gets stuck and keeps one core fully loaded Reply with quote

Under unknown circumstances firefox begins to eat 100% on [sometimes more than] one core. If all FF windows closed, the process will remain and will still be doing its unknown stuff, heavily loading one cpu. After that it will be impossible to start a new window as it will tell you "FF is already running". killall (with standard signal) helps.

Since it happens very frequently but always unexpectedly, I'm looking for an any way to constantly debug FFs behavior.
_________________
Ripper-tm's English language support is a work in progress


Last edited by Ripper-tm on Thu Aug 22, 2013 6:49 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 3601
Location: USA

PostPosted: Thu Aug 22, 2013 5:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Which architecture? Any specific web page? Is it a plugin issue?

I had firefox hang randomly on ia64, and I heard it was rootcaused to a rampant garbage collecting routine. Because ia64 isn't "supported" they wouldn't take the patch. I wonder if the same bug affects other non x86/x86_64 architectures...
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed to be advocating?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ripper-tm
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 May 2011
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Thu Aug 22, 2013 6:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

amd64. I haven't yet found out if it is caused by a specific page *. And, the only plugin I'm using is AdBlock.

* The problem is that the only way to detect the appearance of this bug is to constantly monitor resouces. FF doesn't hang in a general sense, it starts an unknown heavy singlethreaded workload that does not noticably affect performace on a multicore system.
_________________
Ripper-tm's English language support is a work in progress
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum