Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Broken layman executable
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Silmano
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Mar 2012
Posts: 38

PostPosted: Fri Dec 13, 2013 12:22 pm    Post subject: Broken layman executable Reply with quote

Hi,

I'm having a weird issue with layman and don't know how to fix it. The problem is that the executable doesn't behave like it should do, as it doesn't really like any of the options I use (-a, --list, -S).
Code:
server ~ # layman -L
usage: layman [options] requirement_or_url ...
   or: layman --help

error: option -L not recognized

If I run the --help option, I get a totally different set of options than layman should have:
Code:
server ~ # layman --help

Global options:
  --verbose (-v)  run verbosely (default)
  --quiet (-q)    run quietly (turns verbosity off)
  --dry-run (-n)  don't actually do anything
  --help (-h)     show detailed help message
  --no-user-cfg   ignore pydistutils.cfg in your home directory

Options for 'easy_install' command:
  --prefix                   installation prefix
  --zip-ok (-z)              install package as a zipfile
  --multi-version (-m)       make apps have to require() a version
  --upgrade (-U)             force upgrade (searches PyPI for latest versions)
  --install-dir (-d)         install package to DIR
  --script-dir (-s)          install scripts to DIR
  --exclude-scripts (-x)     Don't install scripts
  --always-copy (-a)         Copy all needed packages to install dir
  --index-url (-i)           base URL of Python Package Index
  --find-links (-f)          additional URL(s) to search for packages
  --build-directory (-b)     download/extract/build in DIR; keep the results
  --optimize (-O)            also compile with optimization: -O1 for "python -
                             O", -O2 for "python -OO", and -O0 to disable
                             [default: -O0]
  --record                   filename in which to record list of installed
                             files
  --always-unzip (-Z)        don't install as a zipfile, no matter what
  --site-dirs (-S)           list of directories where .pth files work
  --editable (-e)            Install specified packages in editable form
  --no-deps (-N)             don't install dependencies
  --allow-hosts (-H)         pattern(s) that hostnames must match
  --local-snapshots-ok (-l)  allow building eggs from local checkouts
  --version                  print version information and exit
  --no-find-links            Don't load find-links defined in packages being
                             installed
  --user                     install in user site-package
                             '/root/.local/lib64/python2.7/site-packages'

usage: layman [options] requirement_or_url ...
   or: layman --help

I've check where is the executable it is trying to use and it seems it's a link pointing to a python executable:
Code:
server ~ # whereis layman
layman: /usr/bin/layman /etc/layman /usr/share/man/man8/layman.8.bz2
server ~ # ls -l /usr/bin/layman
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 31 Dec 13 13:05 /usr/bin/layman -> ../lib/python-exec/python-exec2

I've tried to reinstall both layman and python, the reinstalls finish without any problems, but I'm still facing the same issue. Any idea how to fix this behaviour?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Maitreya
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 11 Jan 2006
Posts: 190

PostPosted: Fri Dec 13, 2013 1:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes those are the options easy_install and not layman.
easy_install and layman both point to the same python-exec. Did you update python recently?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Silmano
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Mar 2012
Posts: 38

PostPosted: Fri Dec 13, 2013 1:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Maitreya wrote:
Yes those are the options easy_install and not layman.
easy_install and layman both point to the same python-exec. Did you update python recently?

I installed python 3.3, but I've got as active python 2.7
Code:
server ~ # eselect python list
Available Python interpreters:
  [1]   python2.7 *
  [2]   python3.2
  [3]   python3.3


Could that be the issue?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
XavierMiller
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 23 Jul 2004
Posts: 5271
Location: ~Brussels - Belgique

PostPosted: Fri Dec 13, 2013 1:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Try to rebuild python-exec
_________________
Xavier Miller
(FR) Merci de respecter les règles du forum.
http://www.xaviermiller.be
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Silmano
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Mar 2012
Posts: 38

PostPosted: Fri Dec 13, 2013 2:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

XavierMiller wrote:
Try to rebuild python-exec

That did it, thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum