Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Cant emerge: Section gentoo in repos.conf has name...
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
austinramsay
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Oct 2010
Posts: 29

PostPosted: Fri Oct 25, 2013 2:49 am    Post subject: Cant emerge: Section gentoo in repos.conf has name... Reply with quote

Im trying to do emerge --sync, im in the process of installing gentoo. Its giving me

Code:
Section 'gentoo' in repos.conf has name different from repository name 'livecd' set inside repository


What does this mean and how do i fix it?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 6256
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Fri Oct 25, 2013 4:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

the livecd reference in this context suggests you want to be in a chroot for an install or maintenace but are not

assuming that to be the case: boot the cd, mount the gentoo partitions, enter the chroot, nominally:
Code:
mount /dev/sda3 /mnt/gentoo
mount /dev/sda1 /mnt/gentoo/boot
cp -L /etc/resolv.conf /mnt/gentoo/etc/
mount -t proc none /mnt/gentoo/proc
mount --rbind /sys /mnt/gentoo/sys
mount --rbind /dev /mnt/gentoo/dev
chroot /mnt/gentoo /bin/bash
source /etc/profile
export PS1="(chroot) $PS1"
do your work, make a graceful exit
Code:
exit
cd
umount -l /mnt/gentoo/dev{/shm,/pts,}
umount -l /mnt/gentoo{/boot,/proc,}
reboot

_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
austinramsay
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Oct 2010
Posts: 29

PostPosted: Fri Oct 25, 2013 5:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

DONAHUE wrote:
the livecd reference in this context suggests you want to be in a chroot for an install or maintenace but are not

assuming that to be the case: boot the cd, mount the gentoo partitions, enter the chroot, nominally:
Code:
mount /dev/sda3 /mnt/gentoo
mount /dev/sda1 /mnt/gentoo/boot
cp -L /etc/resolv.conf /mnt/gentoo/etc/
mount -t proc none /mnt/gentoo/proc
mount --rbind /sys /mnt/gentoo/sys
mount --rbind /dev /mnt/gentoo/dev
chroot /mnt/gentoo /bin/bash
source /etc/profile
export PS1="(chroot) $PS1"
do your work, make a graceful exit
Code:
exit
cd
umount -l /mnt/gentoo/dev{/shm,/pts,}
umount -l /mnt/gentoo{/boot,/proc,}
reboot


The thing is i already had chrooted. Well i got it working, i just changed /usr/portage/repo_name from 'livecd' to 'gentoo' and it works fine now. Why would this have been changed to livecd?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dol-sen
Developer
Developer


Joined: 30 Jun 2002
Posts: 2503
Location: Richmond, BC, Canada

PostPosted: Fri Oct 25, 2013 2:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Which livecd did you use for the install? What were the instructions you used to install the portage "gentoo" tree initially?
_________________
Brian
Porthole, the Portage GUI frontend irc@freenode: #gentoo-guis, #porthole, Blog
layman, gentoolkit, CoreBuilder, esearch...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum