Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
(SOLVED) Alsa in kernel
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
mrbassie
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 31 May 2013
Posts: 135

PostPosted: Sat Aug 10, 2013 5:38 pm    Post subject: (SOLVED) Alsa in kernel Reply with quote

been experimenting with whittling down the kernel,

I find that if I compile all things alsa into the kernel I get no audio playback from vlc or anything playing in the browser but oddly the test sound in phonon does play.

compiling as modules everything works fine.

obviously it's no real problem but I do like everything to be in kernel and I would like to understand what the issue (if any) is.



lspci | grep -i audio:

Code:
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) HD Audio Controller (rev 03)


Last edited by mrbassie on Mon Aug 12, 2013 1:17 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 31363
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Aug 10, 2013 6:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mrbassie,

Are you passing module parameters to snd-hda-intel when it loads?
If so, you need to do this via the kernel line in grub.conf when snd-hda-intel is built in.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mrbassie
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 31 May 2013
Posts: 135

PostPosted: Sat Aug 10, 2013 6:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

could you give me an example to try?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 31363
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Aug 10, 2013 6:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mrbassie,

Look in your /etc/conf.d/modules to see if there are any options for snd-hda-intel listed there.
Also look in /etc/modprobe.d/alsa.conf since module parameters for sound drives can be listed there too. You would have set them in the past.

Once you have found the module parameters, you need to read the top of /usr/src/linux/Documentation/kernel-parameters.txt to see how to pass module parameters to kernel build in modules.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mrbassie
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 31 May 2013
Posts: 135

PostPosted: Sat Aug 10, 2013 9:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

both files are stock, this is a recent install. Do you think it could be

Code:
Symbol: MODULE_FORCE_LOAD [=y]                                                                                                                                                          │ 
  │ Type  : boolean                                                                                                                                                                         │ 
  │ Prompt: Forced module loading                                                                                                                                                           │ 
  │   Defined at init/Kconfig:1593                                                                                                                                                          │ 
  │   Depends on: MODULES [=y]                                                                                                                                                              │ 
  │   Location:                                                                                                                                                                             │ 
  │     -> Enable loadable module support (MODULES [=y])


???
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 31363
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Aug 10, 2013 9:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mrbassie,

Unlikely - thats really a debug or despertion option as it allows the loading of modules made for another kernel.
It turns off the kernels sanit checks on modules being loaded.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ant P.
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 18 Apr 2009
Posts: 2207
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat Aug 10, 2013 11:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Would help to see the output of `cat /proc/asound/cards` also.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PaulBredbury
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 14 Jul 2005
Posts: 7310

PostPosted: Sun Aug 11, 2013 5:35 am    Post subject: Re: Alsa in kernel Reply with quote

mrbassie wrote:
what the issue (if any) is.

AIUI, it's because ALSA relies on udev (e.g. /usr/share/alsa/init/00main ), so udev must be running when the modules are initialized.
_________________
Improve your font rendering and ALSA sound
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mrbassie
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 31 May 2013
Posts: 135

PostPosted: Sun Aug 11, 2013 5:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ant P. wrote:
Would help to see the output of `cat /proc/asound/cards` also.


Code:
0 [Intel          ]: HDA-Intel - HDA Intel
                      HDA Intel at 0xf0700000 irq 42


what I find odd is that the phonon test sound plays in kde and I can hear it but there's no sound from the media applications like vlc.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mrbassie
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 31 May 2013
Posts: 135

PostPosted: Mon Aug 12, 2013 1:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok well, I recompiled my kernel with firmware blobs under
Code:
device drivers
               ---->generic driver options


and it now works. which is a little surprising as I was under the impression the intel drivers/firmware were all completely free, guess not.

Thanks for the advice anyway guys.

marking as solved.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum