Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOLVED] New Kernel - Stops at Switching to clocksource tsc
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Cruel
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Jun 2011
Posts: 54

PostPosted: Sat Aug 10, 2013 3:07 pm    Post subject: [SOLVED] New Kernel - Stops at Switching to clocksource tsc Reply with quote

Hello guys,

today I tried to compile my first own kernel on my laptop (Acer Travelmate 5542g).
On the first time I booted into my new system I noticed that the boot procedure stocked
at the step "Switching to clocksource tsc". After some googling time I found out that this problem could
occur when the radeon drivers are not correctly installed. I checked that and on my opinion everything is fine.
Additionally, after 2 minutes stocking on this step, I get a stacktrace and the whole machine is blocked
only a hard reset is possible. I think I forgot something during the kernel configuration but I don't know what exactly.
Below you can find my hardware information, dmesg and .config.


Quote:

00:00.0 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] RS880 Host Bridge
00:02.0 PCI bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] RS780 PCI to PCI bridge (ext gf x port 0)
00:04.0 PCI bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] RS780/RS880 PCI to PCI bridge ( PCIE port 0)
00:05.0 PCI bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] RS780/RS880 PCI to PCI bridge ( PCIE port 1)
00:11.0 SATA controller: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI SB7x0/SB8x0/SB9x0 SATA Controller [AHCI mode]
00:12.0 USB controller: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI SB7x0/SB8x0/SB9x0 U SB OHCI0 Controller
00:12.2 USB controller: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI SB7x0/SB8x0/SB9x0 U SB EHCI Controller
00:13.0 USB controller: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI SB7x0/SB8x0/SB9x0 U SB OHCI0 Controller
00:13.2 USB controller: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI SB7x0/SB8x0/SB9x0 U SB EHCI Controller
00:14.0 SMBus: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI SBx00 SMBus Controller (rev 42)
00:14.2 Audio device: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI SBx00 Azalia (Intel H DA) (rev 40)
00:14.3 ISA bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI SB7x0/SB8x0/SB9x0 LPC h ost controller (rev 40)
00:14.4 PCI bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI SBx00 PCI to PCI Bridge (rev 40)
00:14.5 USB controller: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI SB7x0/SB8x0/SB9x0 U SB OHCI2 Controller
00:18.0 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Family 10h Processor HyperTran sport Configuration
00:18.1 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Family 10h Processor Address M ap
00:18.2 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Family 10h Processor DRAM Cont roller
00:18.3 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Family 10h Processor Miscellan eous Control
00:18.4 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Family 10h Processor Link Cont rol
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI Madison [Radeon HD 5000M Series]
01:00.1 Audio device: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI Redwood HDMI Audio [R adeon HD 5000 Series]
02:00.0 Ethernet controller: Broadcom Corporation NetLink BCM57780 Gigabit Ether net PCIe (rev 01)
08:00.0 Network controller: Atheros Communications Inc. AR9287 Wireless Network Adapter (PCI-Express) (rev 01)


dmesg: http://pastebin.com/z3LwU4XS
.config: http://pastebin.com/nqZWxJXK


Last edited by Cruel on Tue Aug 13, 2013 5:59 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TomWij
Developer
Developer


Joined: 04 Jul 2012
Posts: 1347

PostPosted: Sat Aug 10, 2013 3:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Please file the stack trace at https://bugs.gentoo.org such that we can track and look into this.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 31342
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Aug 10, 2013 3:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Cruel,

Code:
# CONFIG_DEVTMPFS is not set
means that your /dev is empty so your devices cannot be found.
When you enable that in make menuconfig, you will see another option about mounting DEVTMPFS at boot. Select that too.

While you are fixing your kernel, turn on
Code:
# CONFIG_SCSI_MULTI_LUN is not set
as card readers need it.

Fix your kernel and try again.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cruel
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Jun 2011
Posts: 54

PostPosted: Sat Aug 10, 2013 4:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the fast response! :-)

@NeddySeagoon
I tried your solution but it doesn't work. Still the same...

@TomWij
Do you know how or where I can get this stacktrace?
Because the system is completely blocked after this Stacktrace and I can't find it in the logs.
I took a picture of the stacktrace for you. I hope it's okay:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/lw14syb01j8faxd/2013-08-10%2018.39.23.jpg
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TomWij
Developer
Developer


Joined: 04 Jul 2012
Posts: 1347

PostPosted: Sat Aug 10, 2013 4:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

"Kernel panic - not syncing: No init found. Try passing ..." means it cannot find the init executable.

Some initial questions to help troubleshoot:

1. Are you using an initramfs / initrd / ... or not?
2. Can we see your grub menu config?
3. Is /sbin/init present on your system?
4. Is root=... specified correctly on the kernel command line?
5. In case of an initramfs / initrd / ... is init=... specified correctly as well?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 31342
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Aug 10, 2013 5:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Cruel,

Its very easy to make a mess of the kernel install. Please use
Code:
ls -l
to check the time/date on the following files:-

1. /usr/src/linux/.config This file should be the oldest
2. /usr/src/linux/arch/x86/boot/bzImage This is the kernel file made from the .config, so should be newer.

You copied the bzImage file to /boot and probably renamed it too.
Use
Code:
ls -l /boot
to check the file times there.

One kernel file should have the same time as bzImage above.

If you have two kernel files here, which one does grub load. The old one or the new one?
Edit grub.conf to load the new kernel if its loading the wrong one now.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cruel
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Jun 2011
Posts: 54

PostPosted: Mon Aug 12, 2013 6:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
Cruel,

Its very easy to make a mess of the kernel install. Please use
Code:
ls -l
to check the time/date on the following files:-

1. /usr/src/linux/.config This file should be the oldest
2. /usr/src/linux/arch/x86/boot/bzImage This is the kernel file made from the .config, so should be newer.

You copied the bzImage file to /boot and probably renamed it too.
Use
Code:
ls -l /boot
to check the file times there.

One kernel file should have the same time as bzImage above.

If you have two kernel files here, which one does grub load. The old one or the new one?
Edit grub.conf to load the new kernel if its loading the wrong one now.


Yeah I checked that several times too but it is definitively the right kernel.


TomWij wrote:
"Kernel panic - not syncing: No init found. Try passing ..." means it cannot find the init executable.

Some initial questions to help troubleshoot:

1. Are you using an initramfs / initrd / ... or not?
2. Can we see your grub menu config?
3. Is /sbin/init present on your system?
4. Is root=... specified correctly on the kernel command line?
5. In case of an initramfs / initrd / ... is init=... specified correctly as well?


1. No I'm not using initramfs nor initrd.
2. I'm not using grub. It's the first time I tried lilo. Here is the config:

Quote:

boot=/dev/sda # Install LILO in the MBR
prompt # Give the user the chance to select another section
timeout=50 # Wait 5 (five) seconds before booting the default section
default=gentoo # When the timeout has passed, boot the "gentoo" section
lba32

image=/boot/linux-3.8.13-10.08.13
label=gentoo # Name we give to this section
read-only # Start with a read-only root. Do not alter!
root=/dev/sda3 # Location of the root filesystem

image=/boot/linux-3.8.13-10.08.13
label=gentoo.rescue # Name we give to this section
read-only # Start with a read-only root. Do not alter!
root=/dev/sda3 # Location of the root filesystem
append="init=/bin/bb" # Launch the Gentoo static rescue shell

# The next two lines are only if you dualboot with a Windows system.
# In this case, Windows is hosted on /dev/sda6.
other=/dev/sda1
label=Windows


3. Yes, /sbin/init is present.
4. Yes it is. /dev/sda1 and /dev/sda2 are my windows partitions. /dev/sda3 is my root partition and /dev/sda4 is an extended
partition with 2 logical partitions included.

By the way, here is my fstab config:

Quote:

/dev/sda3 /boot ext2 defaults,noatime 0 2
/dev/sda5 / ext4 noatime 0 1
/dev/sda6 none swap sw 0 0
/dev/cdrom /mnt/cdrom auto noauto,ro 0 0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TomWij
Developer
Developer


Joined: 04 Jul 2012
Posts: 1347

PostPosted: Mon Aug 12, 2013 7:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

/dev/sda3 is your boot (/boot) partition, not your root (/) partition; therefore, you want to set /dev/sda5 instead of /dev/sda3 in the lilo config for the root parameter.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DawgG
Guru
Guru


Joined: 17 Sep 2003
Posts: 595

PostPosted: Tue Aug 13, 2013 1:09 pm    Post subject: check radeonfb Reply with quote

i've had a similar problem and was able to solve it by leaving radeonfb outside of kernel; maybe that works for you:
https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-p-7290158.html
GOOD LUCK!
_________________
DUMM KLICKT GUT.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 31342
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Tue Aug 13, 2013 5:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Cruel,

Every kernel update you must run /sbin/lilo if you forget, lilo loads the last kernel even though its no longer in the directory.
/sbin/lilo builds a block list that lilo blindly loads, hoping your kernel is there. lilo cannot read the filesystem at boot time, unlike grub.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cruel
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Jun 2011
Posts: 54

PostPosted: Tue Aug 13, 2013 5:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

TomWij wrote:
/dev/sda3 is your boot (/boot) partition, not your root (/) partition; therefore, you want to set /dev/sda5 instead of /dev/sda3 in the lilo config for the root parameter.


:oops: now it works. Really stupid from me... sorry for the circumstances.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum