Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
3 Monitors: 2 sharing 1 screen and the 3rd on a separate?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
venustomars
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Sep 2008
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Thu Aug 01, 2013 9:37 pm    Post subject: 3 Monitors: 2 sharing 1 screen and the 3rd on a separate? Reply with quote

I have 2 LCDs and 1 TV, connected with an nVidia and Intel onboard card. For a variety of reasons I prefer the TV and 1 of the monitors connected to the nVidia card and the 2nd monitor on the intel card.

Due to some fullscreen issues, I would like the TV to be on a separate screen from the 2 LCDs. Currently I'm only able to figure out how to have them all on one screen or all separate using xinerama:

Code:

Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier     "X.org Configured"
    Screen      0  "Screen0" 0 0
    Screen      1   "Screen1" RightOf "Screen0"
    Screen         2 "Screen2" LeftOf "Screen0"
    InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
    InputDevice    "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
    Option         "Xinerama" "1"
EndSection


Does anyone know of a way to create a mixed environment like I'm after? If I put both the LCDs on the nVidia card and use TwinView I can make the TV on a separate screen, but I would like to avoid this route.

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 5029
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Thu Aug 01, 2013 10:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You could run anther instance of Xorg for TV.
I have similar setup myself, only I'm using two nVidia outputs for three displays, having DVI to DVI+HDMI splitter to send signal to the TV. To avoid confusion from two EDID read from a single output I load EDID from a binary file instead (AFAIK EDID cannot be disabled with blob driver).
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
venustomars
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Sep 2008
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Sat Aug 03, 2013 10:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jaglover wrote:
You could run anther instance of Xorg for TV.
I have similar setup myself, only I'm using two nVidia outputs for three displays, having DVI to DVI+HDMI splitter to send signal to the TV. To avoid confusion from two EDID read from a single output I load EDID from a binary file instead (AFAIK EDID cannot be disabled with blob driver).


Okay by creating a second config file and running "startx -- :1 -config xorg.conf.second" I can get the TV to work with the other X session running, but I need to use Ctrl+Alt+F8/F9 to switch between them. Is this supposed to happen or is something misconfigured? What I'd like to do is have TV streaming on the television while doing work on the two monitors and that doesn't work if I have to switch VTs.

Here are my two config files:

xorg.conf:
Code:

# nvidia-settings: X configuration file generated by nvidia-settings
# nvidia-settings:  version 319.12  (root@nexus)  Tue Apr 23 21:54:21 EDT 2013

Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier     "X.org Configured"
    Screen      0  "Screen0" 0 0
#    Screen      1   "Screen1" RightOf "Screen0"
    Screen         2 "Screen2" LeftOf "Screen0"
    InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
    InputDevice    "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
    Option         "DontVTSwitch" "off"
    Option         "BlankTime" "0"
    Option         "StandbyTime" "0"
    Option         "SuspendTime" "20"
    Option         "Xinerama" "1"
EndSection

Section "Files"
   #FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/misc/"
   #FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/TTF/"
   #FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/OTF"
   #FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/Type1/"
   #FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/100dpi/"
   #FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/75dpi/"
#   FontPath   "/usr/share/fonts/mathematica-fonts"
    FontPath        "/usr/share/fonts/misc:unscaled"
    FontPath        "/usr/share/fonts/Type1"
    FontPath        "/usr/share/fonts/TTF"
    FontPath        "/usr/share/fonts/corefonts"
    FontPath        "/usr/share/fonts/freefont"
    FontPath        "/usr/share/fonts/sharefonts"
    FontPath        "/usr/share/fonts/ttf-bitstream-vera"
    FontPath        "/usr/share/fonts/75dpi:unscaled"
    FontPath        "/usr/share/fonts/100dpi:unscaled"
    FontPath        "/usr/share/fonts/artwiz-aleczapka-en"
    FontPath        "/usr/share/fonts/unifont"
    FontPath        "/usr/share/fonts/texcm-ttf"
    FontPath        "/usr/share/fonts/local"
    FontPath        "/usr/share/fonts/cyrillic"
EndSection

Section "Module"
    Load           "glx"
    Load           "extmod"
    Load           "xtrap"
    Load           "record"
    Load           "dbe"
    Load           "freetype"
    Load           "type1"
EndSection

Section "ServerFlags"
    Option         "AutoAddDevices" "on"
    Option         "AutoEnableDevices" "on"
    Option         "AllowEmptyInput" "on"
    Option         "Xinerama" "0"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"

    # generated from default
    Identifier     "Keyboard0"
    Driver         "kbd"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"

    # generated from default
    Identifier     "Mouse0"
    Driver         "mouse"
    Option         "Protocol" "ExplorerPS/2"
    Option         "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
    Option         "Emulate3Buttons" "true"
    Option         "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
EndSection

#Section "Monitor"
#    Identifier     "Monitor1"
#    VendorName     "Unknown"
#    ModelName      "Panasonic-TV"
#    HorizSync       15.0 - 68.0
#    VertRefresh     23.0 - 61.0
#EndSection

Section "Monitor"
    Identifier     "Monitor0"
    VendorName     "Unknown"
    ModelName      "DELL U2312HM"
    HorizSync       30.0 - 83.0
    VertRefresh     56.0 - 76.0
    Option         "DPMS"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
    Identifier     "Monitor2"
    VendorName     "Unknown"
    ModelName      "DELL U2312HM"
    HorizSync       30.0 - 83.0
    VertRefresh     56.0 - 76.0
EndSection

#Section "Device"
#    Identifier     "Device1"
#    Driver         "nvidia"
#    VendorName     "NVIDIA Corporation"
#    BoardName      "GeForce GTX 560 Ti"
#    BusID          "PCI:1:0:0"
#    Screen          1
#EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier     "Device0"
    Driver         "nvidia"
    VendorName     "NVIDIA Corporation"
    BoardName      "GeForce GTX 560 Ti"
    BusID          "PCI:1:0:0"
    Screen         0
EndSection



Section "Device"
    Identifier     "Device2"
    Driver         "nvidia"
    VendorName     "NVIDIA Corporation"
    BoardName      "GeForce GTX 560 Ti"
    BusID          "PCI:1:0:0"
#    Screen          2
EndSection

Section "Device"
   Identifier  "Card1"
#   Driver      "i915"
   Driver      "intel"
   BusID       "PCI:0:2:0"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier     "Screen0"
    Device         "Device0"
    Monitor        "Monitor0"
    DefaultDepth    24
#    Option         "TwinView" "1"
#    Option         "TwinViewXineramaInfoOrder" "DFP-0"
#    Option         "Stereo" "0"
#    Option         "nvidiaXineramaInfoOrder" "DFP-1"
    Option         "metamodes" "DFP-0: nvidia-auto-select, DFP-2: nvidia-auto-select +0+0"
#    Option         "metamodes" "DFP-0: nvidia-auto-select +1920+0, DFP-2: nvidia-auto-select +0+0"
    SubSection     "Display"
        Depth       24
    EndSubSection
EndSection

#Section "Screen"
#    Identifier     "Screen1"
#    Device         "Device1"
#    Monitor        "Monitor1"
#    DefaultDepth    24
#    SubSection     "Display"
#        Depth       24
#      Modes      "1240x680"
#    EndSubSection
#EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier     "Screen2"
    Device         "Card1"
    Monitor        "Monitor2"
    DefaultDepth    24
    Option         "Stereo" "0"
    Option         "metamodes" "DFP-2: nvidia-auto-select +0+0"
    SubSection     "Display"
        Depth       24
    EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Extensions"
    Option         "Composite" "Disable"
EndSection


xorg.conf.second:
Code:

# nvidia-settings: X configuration file generated by nvidia-settings
# nvidia-settings:  version 319.12  (root@nexus)  Tue Apr 23 21:54:21 EDT 2013

Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier     "X.org Configured"
#    Screen      0  "Screen0" 0 0
#    Screen      1   "Screen1" RightOf "Screen0"
    Screen      1   "Screen1" 0 0
#    Screen         2 "Screen2" LeftOf "Screen0"
    InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
    InputDevice    "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
    Option         "DontVTSwitch" "off"
    Option         "BlankTime" "0"
    Option         "StandbyTime" "0"
    Option         "SuspendTime" "20"
#    Option         "Xinerama" "1"
EndSection

Section "Files"
    FontPath        "/usr/share/fonts/misc:unscaled"
    FontPath        "/usr/share/fonts/Type1"
    FontPath        "/usr/share/fonts/TTF"
    FontPath        "/usr/share/fonts/corefonts"
    FontPath        "/usr/share/fonts/freefont"
    FontPath        "/usr/share/fonts/sharefonts"
    FontPath        "/usr/share/fonts/ttf-bitstream-vera"
    FontPath        "/usr/share/fonts/75dpi:unscaled"
    FontPath        "/usr/share/fonts/100dpi:unscaled"
    FontPath        "/usr/share/fonts/artwiz-aleczapka-en"
    FontPath        "/usr/share/fonts/unifont"
    FontPath        "/usr/share/fonts/texcm-ttf"
    FontPath        "/usr/share/fonts/local"
    FontPath        "/usr/share/fonts/cyrillic"
EndSection

Section "Module"
    Load           "glx"
    Load           "extmod"
    Load           "xtrap"
    Load           "record"
    Load           "dbe"
    Load           "freetype"
    Load           "type1"
EndSection

Section "ServerFlags"
    Option         "AutoAddDevices" "on"
    Option         "AutoEnableDevices" "on"
    Option         "AllowEmptyInput" "on"
    Option         "Xinerama" "0"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"

    # generated from default
    Identifier     "Keyboard0"
    Driver         "kbd"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"

    # generated from default
    Identifier     "Mouse0"
    Driver         "mouse"
    Option         "Protocol" "ExplorerPS/2"
    Option         "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
    Option         "Emulate3Buttons" "true"
    Option         "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
    Identifier     "Monitor1"
    VendorName     "Unknown"
    ModelName      "Panasonic-TV"
    HorizSync       15.0 - 68.0
    VertRefresh     23.0 - 61.0
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier     "Device1"
    Driver         "nvidia"
    VendorName     "NVIDIA Corporation"
    BoardName      "GeForce GTX 560 Ti"
    BusID          "PCI:1:0:0"
#    Screen          1
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier     "Device0"
    Driver         "nvidia"
    VendorName     "NVIDIA Corporation"
    BoardName      "GeForce GTX 560 Ti"
    BusID          "PCI:1:0:0"
#    Screen         0
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier     "Device2"
    Driver         "nvidia"
    VendorName     "NVIDIA Corporation"
    BoardName      "GeForce GTX 560 Ti"
    BusID          "PCI:1:0:0"
#    Screen          2
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier     "Screen1"
    Device         "Device0"
    Monitor        "Monitor1"
    DefaultDepth    24
    SubSection     "Display"
        Depth       24
#      Modes      "1240x680"
    EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Extensions"
    Option         "Composite" "Disable"
EndSection
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Knute
Guru
Guru


Joined: 28 Jun 2004
Posts: 362
Location: Fargo, ND

PostPosted: Sun Aug 04, 2013 6:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, how I would set it up, is to get the one lcd monitor and tv working the way that you want with nvidia-settings.

Once you have those set up the way that you want, write the config settings to a file. Then, copy that file to /etc/X11/xorg.conf, and set up your other lcd monitor on the intel card. I suggest copying it, just incase you foobar what you set up with nvidia-settings. It's always easier to copy the untouched file over than to try to recreate it. :)

Also, as you are playing with X-settings, I would suggest that you turn off any display managers that you have running (xdm, kdm, gdm, slim, etc) as, if something goes haywire, you can fall back to the console alot easier if they aren't running. Then you can make additional changes to the xorg.conf file and try it again with startx.

I know I didn't post code, but I hope I helped.
_________________
Knute
----------
The human race has one really effective weapon, and that is laughter.
-- Mark Twain

If you want proof of that, take a look at windows sometime. :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
venustomars
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Sep 2008
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Tue Aug 06, 2013 3:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Knute wrote:
Ok, how I would set it up, is to get the one lcd monitor and tv working the way that you want with nvidia-settings.

Once you have those set up the way that you want, write the config settings to a file. Then, copy that file to /etc/X11/xorg.conf, and set up your other lcd monitor on the intel card.
.


The part that I don't know how to do is, after the LCD and the TV on the nVidia card are set up, how do I add the 2nd LCD to be on the same screen as the first one without enabling Xinerama and having all 3 be on the same screen?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Knute
Guru
Guru


Joined: 28 Jun 2004
Posts: 362
Location: Fargo, ND

PostPosted: Tue Aug 06, 2013 3:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

After you set up the tv and monitor with nvidia-settings, you can save that configuration to a file, and then modify that file to add the intel card and 2nd lcd monitor.

Does that make sense?
_________________
Knute
----------
The human race has one really effective weapon, and that is laughter.
-- Mark Twain

If you want proof of that, take a look at windows sometime. :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
venustomars
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Sep 2008
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Tue Aug 06, 2013 3:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I understand how to create an xorg.conf with screens for all 3 devices. How do I then join the 2 LCDs onto one screen while leaving the TV on a separate screen? Perhaps I am misunderstanding you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Knute
Guru
Guru


Joined: 28 Jun 2004
Posts: 362
Location: Fargo, ND

PostPosted: Tue Aug 06, 2013 4:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, that may take some toying around with.

I don't think that the nvidia-settings can do that itself.

Xinerama might be able to do it, but I'm not sure. There may be xrandr settings that could do it as well, but that's just a guess. Sorry I can't be more helpful on that part of it.
_________________
Knute
----------
The human race has one really effective weapon, and that is laughter.
-- Mark Twain

If you want proof of that, take a look at windows sometime. :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
venustomars
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Sep 2008
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Tue Aug 06, 2013 4:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

In an attempt to use xrandr, I have an xorg.conf with 3 separate screens, no xinerama. When I try to join the two LCDs, using a command like "xrandr --auto --output DVI-0 --mode 1440x900 --right-of DVI-1", I can't join the two monitors since they don't appear in one "xrandr -q"

"xrandr -q" on nVidia DVI:
Code:

Screen 0: minimum 8 x 8, current 1920 x 1080, maximum 16384 x 16384
DVI-I-0 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
DVI-I-1 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
DVI-I-2 connected 1920x1080+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 510mm x 287mm
   1920x1080      60.0*+
   1280x1024      75.0     60.0 
   1152x864       75.0 
   1024x768       75.0     60.0 
   800x600        75.0     60.3 
   640x480        75.0     59.9 
DVI-I-3 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)


"xrandr -q" on intel DVI:
Code:

Screen 2: minimum 320 x 200, current 1920 x 1080, maximum 32767 x 32767
VGA1 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
HDMI1 connected 1920x1080+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 510mm x 287mm
   1920x1080      60.0*+
   1280x1024      75.0     60.0 
   1152x864       75.0 
   1024x768       75.1     60.0 
   800x600        75.0     60.3 
   640x480        75.0     60.0 
   720x400        70.1 
DP1 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
HDMI2 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
HDMI3 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
DP2 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
DP3 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)


Does anyone know a way around this, or is this a known limitation of xrandr? Wikipedia says you can't combine screens from different video cards in 1.2, but that's rather outdated.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum