Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Creative CA0132 [UNSOLVED]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 31342
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Wed Jul 31, 2013 7:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Martux,
Code:
cat /proc/asound/cards
 0 [NVidia         ]: HDA-Intel - HDA NVidia
                      HDA NVidia at 0xf7080000 irq 17
 1 [Creative       ]: HDA-Intel - HDA Creative
                      HDA Creative at 0xf7104000 irq 19


Shows that your HDMI sound card is the default card. Its digital only so does not understand the concept of front, which refers to an analogue output.
Your test commands should work if you send them to card 1.

If you disable HDMI sound in the BIOS, it should all work the way you expect.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Martux
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 04 Feb 2005
Posts: 1710
Location: Wolkenkuckucksheim

PostPosted: Wed Jul 31, 2013 8:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi!
Hmm, that's the HDMI output from the Nvidia graphics card. No way to disable that in BIOS. At least I didn't find any.
_________________
"Coincidence is God's way of remaining anonymous."
Albert Einstein
"The road to success is always under construction"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Martux
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 04 Feb 2005
Posts: 1710
Location: Wolkenkuckucksheim

PostPosted: Fri Aug 02, 2013 5:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That's odd: Even if I deselect all the stuff in Intel HDA section of the kernel, except ca0132, the HDMI devices still show up in alsa...
Also Kubuntu live CD doesn't manage to output sound. Same situation as in Gentoo, all controls show up, no sound.
I will mark thos thread as not solved, because I don't even think there is a working setup for this.
_________________
"Coincidence is God's way of remaining anonymous."
Albert Einstein
"The road to success is always under construction"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 31342
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Fri Aug 02, 2013 8:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Martux,

You can configure your applications to output to your second sound card.
How you do this depends varies from application to application.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Martux
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 04 Feb 2005
Posts: 1710
Location: Wolkenkuckucksheim

PostPosted: Fri Aug 02, 2013 8:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah, I did in kde. It's the default sound card. It's simply not working though.
_________________
"Coincidence is God's way of remaining anonymous."
Albert Einstein
"The road to success is always under construction"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 31342
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Fri Aug 02, 2013 8:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Martux,

I'm not a KDE user - how did you make it the default sound card in KDE ?
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Martux
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 04 Feb 2005
Posts: 1710
Location: Wolkenkuckucksheim

PostPosted: Fri Aug 02, 2013 8:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

There is a system setting module to control phonon. One can change the order of output devices there. Do you have a card with this chip??
_________________
"Coincidence is God's way of remaining anonymous."
Albert Einstein
"The road to success is always under construction"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 31342
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Fri Aug 02, 2013 9:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Martux,

Nope, sorry.

The intel-hda driver is a bit a dog. Intel didn't do a very good job of writing the spec so when other hardware came along implementing the same interface, it was different.
This makes it difficult to write a one size fits all driver that auto detects all hardware.

However, its not all doom and gloom. Be sure your sound card driver is made as a module. You will need to modprobe -r it, then load it with some module parameters.
Have a look in /usr/src/linux/Documentation/sound/alsa
HD-Audio-Models.txt is a list of models you can pass at module load time to help the software identify your card correctly.
You do modprobe snd_hda_intel model=

HD-Audio.txt is worth a read too but it may make your eyes glaze over.

Code:
modinfo snd_hda_intel
is useful too.
The alias: lines list the Vendor and Device IDs of supported cards. Get your vendor and device ID from
Code:
lspci -n

The parm: lines show what parameters the module takes, and in some cases, permitted values.

Now it gets complicated for you as you have two snd_hda_intel cards - you need to send the settings to the right card.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Martux
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 04 Feb 2005
Posts: 1710
Location: Wolkenkuckucksheim

PostPosted: Fri Aug 02, 2013 9:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Why do you mean compiling it in as a module is better? I used to embed everything right into the kernel usually.
_________________
"Coincidence is God's way of remaining anonymous."
Albert Einstein
"The road to success is always under construction"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 31342
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Fri Aug 02, 2013 9:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Martux,

When you build something as a module, you can modprobe it to load it and modprobe -r to remove it again, so you can try loading the module again with different module parameters.

You can pass paramaters to built ins too but they go on the kernel line in grub and you must reboot to change them.
When you are hunting the right module parameters by trial and error, using modprobe and modprobe -r is much faster than lots of rebooting.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Martux
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 04 Feb 2005
Posts: 1710
Location: Wolkenkuckucksheim

PostPosted: Fri Aug 02, 2013 9:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sounds reasonable. Will investigate within the next days. Thanks.
_________________
"Coincidence is God's way of remaining anonymous."
Albert Einstein
"The road to success is always under construction"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Martux
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 04 Feb 2005
Posts: 1710
Location: Wolkenkuckucksheim

PostPosted: Sun Aug 04, 2013 5:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I was reading through that documentations. Unfortunately the ca0132 isn't even mentioned anywhere in the HD-Audio-Models.txt.
What was wondering me too was, that even without editing /etc/conf.d/modules, alsamixer still showed all the devices. This time I compiled the whole Intel-HDA section as module only... Is that normal?
Just for fun I switched to the internal soundcard. And darn, the quality difference is unbelievable (I got some really decent pair of Canton speakers connected to the amplifier). So, just using the internal card is not an option.
_________________
"Coincidence is God's way of remaining anonymous."
Albert Einstein
"The road to success is always under construction"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 31342
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun Aug 04, 2013 5:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Martux,

Lets recap a little ...
You have a HDMI sound output on your nVida graphics card.
You have a ca0132 based sound blaster (plug in)
You also have another 'on board' sound card ...

Has this on board sound card been disabled up to now ?

Please post the output of lspci and lspci -n

Yes, building the snd-hda-intel as a module is correct.

--- edit ---
Google suggests that you need firmware. Firmware loading is much simpler with a kernel module than with built in.
Please use wgetpaste to put your dmesg on a pastebin site, so we can see what the kernel has to say about firmware loading.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Martux
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 04 Feb 2005
Posts: 1710
Location: Wolkenkuckucksheim

PostPosted: Tue Aug 06, 2013 7:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

For the recap part, that is correct. I had the onboard hda-intel disabled, now it's enabled just for trying.
Here's what lspci says:
Code:

lspci
00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation 4th Gen Core Processor DRAM Controller (rev 06)
00:01.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation Xeon E3-1200 v3/4th Gen Core Processor PCI Express x16 Controller (rev 06)
00:14.0 USB controller: Intel Corporation 8 Series/C220 Series Chipset Family USB xHCI (rev 04)
00:16.0 Communication controller: Intel Corporation 8 Series/C220 Series Chipset Family MEI Controller #1 (rev 04)
00:1a.0 USB controller: Intel Corporation 8 Series/C220 Series Chipset Family USB EHCI #2 (rev 04)
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 8 Series/C220 Series Chipset High Definition Audio Controller (rev 04)
00:1c.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 8 Series/C220 Series Chipset Family PCI Express Root Port #1 (rev d4)
00:1c.2 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 8 Series/C220 Series Chipset Family PCI Express Root Port #3 (rev d4)
00:1c.3 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801 PCI Bridge (rev d4)
00:1c.7 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 8 Series/C220 Series Chipset Family PCI Express Root Port #8 (rev d4)
00:1d.0 USB controller: Intel Corporation 8 Series/C220 Series Chipset Family USB EHCI #1 (rev 04)
00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation Z87 Express LPC Controller (rev 04)
00:1f.2 SATA controller: Intel Corporation 8 Series/C220 Series Chipset Family 6-port SATA Controller 1 [AHCI mode] (rev 04)
00:1f.3 SMBus: Intel Corporation 8 Series/C220 Series Chipset Family SMBus Controller (rev 04)
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: NVIDIA Corporation GK104 [GeForce GTX 660 Ti] (rev a1)
01:00.1 Audio device: NVIDIA Corporation GK104 HDMI Audio Controller (rev a1)
04:00.0 PCI bridge: ASMedia Technology Inc. ASM1083/1085 PCIe to PCI Bridge (rev 03)
06:00.0 Audio device: Creative Labs Device 0012 (rev 01)



lspci -n
00:00.0 0600: 8086:0c00 (rev 06)
00:01.0 0604: 8086:0c01 (rev 06)
00:14.0 0c03: 8086:8c31 (rev 04)
00:16.0 0780: 8086:8c3a (rev 04)
00:1a.0 0c03: 8086:8c2d (rev 04)
00:1b.0 0403: 8086:8c20 (rev 04)
00:1c.0 0604: 8086:8c10 (rev d4)
00:1c.2 0604: 8086:8c14 (rev d4)
00:1c.3 0604: 8086:244e (rev d4)
00:1c.7 0604: 8086:8c1e (rev d4)
00:1d.0 0c03: 8086:8c26 (rev 04)
00:1f.0 0601: 8086:8c44 (rev 04)
00:1f.2 0106: 8086:8c02 (rev 04)
00:1f.3 0c05: 8086:8c22 (rev 04)
01:00.0 0300: 10de:1183 (rev a1)
01:00.1 0403: 10de:0e0a (rev a1)
04:00.0 0604: 1b21:1080 (rev 03)
06:00.0 0403: 1102:0012 (rev 01)


Here is the output of cat /var/log/dmesg:

http://bpaste.net/show/120566/

Thanks for zour effort!
_________________
"Coincidence is God's way of remaining anonymous."
Albert Einstein
"The road to success is always under construction"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 31342
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Tue Aug 06, 2013 9:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Martux,
dmesg:

Linux version 3.9.11-gentoo-r1
[    0.578470] ALSA device list:
[    0.578471]   #0: HDA Intel PCH at 0xf7210000 irq 46
[    0.578472]   #1: HDA NVidia at 0xf7080000 irq 17
[    0.578473]   #2: HDA Creative at 0xf7104000 irq 19
so you do have 3 sound cards and no evidence of any attempt to load firmware.
That may be OK as Google suggests it provides optional extra functionality.

Your Creative card is
Code:
06:00.0 Audio device: Creative Labs Device 0012 (rev 01)
with PCI vendor and device ID
Code:
1102:0012


/sbin/modinfo snd-hda-intel:
alias:          pci:v00001102d00000012sv*sd*bc*sc*i*
which is your card.
So far so good.

You need the options
Code:
│    [*]   Build Creative CA0132 codec support                              │ │ 
  │ │    [*]     Support new DSP code for CA0132 codec 
in your kernel. Read the helo on the last one. Get the firmware it needs and put it into /lib/firmware.
Code:
<M>   Intel HD Audio  --->
must be set as <M> for now.

Now you should be able to see the controls for the Creative card with
Code:
alsamixer -c 2

Mute anything with IEC or SPDI/F in its name. Many cards can do digital or analogue output but not both together. They normally revert to digital, which is not what you want.
Unmute only Master, Front and PCM (you may only have two of those) and set the sliders to about 70%.

Don't forget to connect your speakers to the light Green jack on the creative card. :)
Playing mono or stereo to card 2 with also should just work

aplay -L will list your devices - choose front on card 2
aplay -D=<name> <some_sound> should play <some_sound> using the device you selected.

You may find aplay -h useful
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
VoidMage
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 14 Oct 2006
Posts: 5267

PostPosted: Tue Aug 06, 2013 9:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK, let's have another go.

Could we have 'lspci -k', just to be sure correct modules are used ?

Now, first move your .asoundrc out of the way - it will skew the results.
Once that done, post both 'aplay -l' and 'aplay -L'.
BTW, that "device is busy" result might have actually been good (I'll might explain, if we get to the correct point).
'fuser' might be handy later on - it's a part of sys-process/psmisc (it *might* be a part of @system, but not sure about it).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Navar
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 20 Aug 2012
Posts: 222

PostPosted: Wed Aug 07, 2013 4:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Martux wrote:
This is what aplay -L lists for the Creative device:
Code:

sysdefault:CARD=Creative
    HDA Creative, CA0132 Analog
    Default Audio Device
front:CARD=Creative,DEV=0
    HDA Creative, CA0132 Analog
    Front speakers
   
[..>8..snipped]

surround71:CARD=Creative,DEV=0
    HDA Creative, CA0132 Analog
    7.1 Surround output to Front, Center, Side, Rear and Woofer speakers
iec958:CARD=Creative,DEV=0



Given what you listed, for 'pink' noise sound tests try:
For analog out:
Quote:

speaker-test -Dsurround71:CARD=Creative,DEV=0 -c2

For SPDIF:
Quote:

speaker-test -Diec958:CARD=Creative,DEV=0 -c2


You could also just give speaker-test -Dplug:front -c2 a try since your aplay -L listing implies the Creative is set as the default even though it's card number wasn't 0.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Martux
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 04 Feb 2005
Posts: 1710
Location: Wolkenkuckucksheim

PostPosted: Wed Aug 07, 2013 7:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I will investigate further, once I find the time for testing all your suggestions. Weekend probably. In the meantime, I have found a pretty disencouraging thread here: https://bugzilla.kernel.org/show_bug.cgi?id=55541

I am open for suggestions for another soundcard. As this machine stands in my living room and is connected to some seriously huge speakers, I massively care about sound quality. Internal audio sound very bad. Any ideas (below 100€ best)?
_________________
"Coincidence is God's way of remaining anonymous."
Albert Einstein
"The road to success is always under construction"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Martux
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 04 Feb 2005
Posts: 1710
Location: Wolkenkuckucksheim

PostPosted: Thu Aug 08, 2013 4:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

K guys... I added the hda intel module to /etc/conf.d/modules. When I browse through the dmesg, I notice that the DSP code is not getting loaded.
Here's the latest dmesg http://bpaste.net/show/121135/.

lsmod:
Code:

lsmod
Module                  Size  Used by
snd_hda_codec_ca0132    25461  1
snd_hda_codec_hdmi     27218  1
hid_logitech_dj        10053  0
nvidia               9314819  54
snd_hda_codec_realtek    28094  1
snd_hda_intel          29006  6
snd_hda_codec         122487  4 snd_hda_codec_realtek,snd_hda_codec_hdmi,snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec_ca0132


lspci -k:
Code:

lspci -k
00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation 4th Gen Core Processor DRAM Controller (rev 06)
        Subsystem: ASUSTeK Computer Inc. Device 8534
00:01.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation Xeon E3-1200 v3/4th Gen Core Processor PCI Express x16 Controller (rev 06)
        Kernel driver in use: pcieport
00:14.0 USB controller: Intel Corporation 8 Series/C220 Series Chipset Family USB xHCI (rev 04)
        Subsystem: ASUSTeK Computer Inc. Device 8534
        Kernel driver in use: xhci_hcd
00:16.0 Communication controller: Intel Corporation 8 Series/C220 Series Chipset Family MEI Controller #1 (rev 04)
        Subsystem: ASUSTeK Computer Inc. Device 8534
00:1a.0 USB controller: Intel Corporation 8 Series/C220 Series Chipset Family USB EHCI #2 (rev 04)
        Subsystem: ASUSTeK Computer Inc. Device 8534
        Kernel driver in use: ehci-pci
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 8 Series/C220 Series Chipset High Definition Audio Controller (rev 04)
        Subsystem: ASUSTeK Computer Inc. Device 85b0
        Kernel driver in use: snd_hda_intel
        Kernel modules: snd_hda_intel
00:1c.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 8 Series/C220 Series Chipset Family PCI Express Root Port #1 (rev d4)
        Kernel driver in use: pcieport
00:1c.2 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 8 Series/C220 Series Chipset Family PCI Express Root Port #3 (rev d4)
        Kernel driver in use: pcieport
00:1c.3 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801 PCI Bridge (rev d4)
00:1c.7 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 8 Series/C220 Series Chipset Family PCI Express Root Port #8 (rev d4)
        Kernel driver in use: pcieport
00:1d.0 USB controller: Intel Corporation 8 Series/C220 Series Chipset Family USB EHCI #1 (rev 04)
        Subsystem: ASUSTeK Computer Inc. Device 8534
        Kernel driver in use: ehci-pci
00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation Z87 Express LPC Controller (rev 04)
        Subsystem: ASUSTeK Computer Inc. Device 8534
        Kernel driver in use: lpc_ich
00:1f.2 SATA controller: Intel Corporation 8 Series/C220 Series Chipset Family 6-port SATA Controller 1 [AHCI mode] (rev 04)
        Subsystem: ASUSTeK Computer Inc. Device 8534
        Kernel driver in use: ahci
00:1f.3 SMBus: Intel Corporation 8 Series/C220 Series Chipset Family SMBus Controller (rev 04)
        Subsystem: ASUSTeK Computer Inc. Device 8534
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: NVIDIA Corporation GK104 [GeForce GTX 660 Ti] (rev a1)
        Subsystem: ASUSTeK Computer Inc. Device 841e
        Kernel driver in use: nvidia
        Kernel modules: nvidia
01:00.1 Audio device: NVIDIA Corporation GK104 HDMI Audio Controller (rev a1)
        Subsystem: ASUSTeK Computer Inc. Device 841e
        Kernel driver in use: snd_hda_intel
        Kernel modules: snd_hda_intel
04:00.0 PCI bridge: ASMedia Technology Inc. ASM1083/1085 PCIe to PCI Bridge (rev 03)
06:00.0 Audio device: Creative Labs Device 0012 (rev 01)
        Subsystem: Creative Labs Device 0027
        Kernel driver in use: snd_hda_intel
        Kernel modules: snd_hda_intel


Quote:

You need the options Code:
│ [*] Build Creative CA0132 codec support │ │
│ │ [*] Support new DSP code for CA0132 codec

in your kernel. Read the helo on the last one. Get the firmware it needs and put it into /lib/firmware. Code:
<M> Intel HD Audio --->

must be set as <M> for now.


is all set like that! The firmware files are there:
Code:

ls -la /lib/firmware | grep ct
-rw-r--r--  1 root root  655436  1. Aug 21:27 ctefx.bin
-rw-r--r--  1 root root    4120  1. Aug 21:27 ctspeq.bin

Guess what, after all this >>> Still no sound.
I am seriously considering a Creative X/Fi Titanium HD. Does anybody have experience with it? From what I read around the Internet and also here, experiences seem to be very mixed as well...
_________________
"Coincidence is God's way of remaining anonymous."
Albert Einstein
"The road to success is always under construction"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 31342
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Thu Aug 08, 2013 5:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Martux,

Google suggests that the DSP code failed to load the first time would would load after a
Code:
modprobe -r snd-hda-intel
modprobe snd-hda-intel


If that works and you get sound, put it in a file in /etc/local.d/ be sure to read the README there.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hedmo
l33t
l33t


Joined: 29 Aug 2009
Posts: 839
Location: halmstad

PostPosted: Thu Aug 29, 2013 4:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Martux

Try

Code:
rmmod snd_hda_intel
modprobe snd_hda_intel position_fix=1

try your digital output.
Regards hedmo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Page 2 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum