Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Gentoo 3.8.13 with r8101 issue
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
wylls
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Mar 2011
Posts: 12
Location: Lille, FR

PostPosted: Tue Jul 23, 2013 9:22 pm    Post subject: Gentoo 3.8.13 with r8101 issue Reply with quote

Hello,

I am trying to install gentoo on a Toshiba laptop C870 with a LiveCD.
No problem to install the kernel, and the computer boots normally.
I have one problem with net.eth0, it doesn't want to start, it says : "net.eth0 does not exist ...".

I have supposed that the drivers is not set.
I have downloaded from realtreak webiste and install it.
When I use lsmod, it says that the modules is loaded, but net.eth0 still not working.
I have already try with r8169, but same result.

For set net.eth0, I have followed the hankbook instructions:
Code:

ln -s net.lo net.eth0
rc-update add net.eth0 default


Here is the result of lspci:
Code:
00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation 2nd Generation Core Processor Family DRAM Controller (rev 09)
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation 2nd Generation Core Processor Family Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 09)
00:14.0 USB controller: Intel Corporation 7 Series/C210 Series Chipset Family USB xHCI Host Controller (rev 04)
00:16.0 Communication controller: Intel Corporation 7 Series/C210 Series Chipset Family MEI Controller #1 (rev 04)
00:1a.0 USB controller: Intel Corporation 7 Series/C210 Series Chipset Family USB Enhanced Host Controller #2 (rev 04)
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 7 Series/C210 Series Chipset Family High Definition Audio Controller (rev 04)
00:1c.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 7 Series/C210 Series Chipset Family PCI Express Root Port 1 (rev c4)
00:1c.1 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 7 Series/C210 Series Chipset Family PCI Express Root Port 2 (rev c4)
00:1c.2 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 7 Series/C210 Series Chipset Family PCI Express Root Port 3 (rev c4)
00:1d.0 USB controller: Intel Corporation 7 Series/C210 Series Chipset Family USB Enhanced Host Controller #1 (rev 04)
00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation 7 Series Chipset Family LPC Controller (rev 04)
00:1f.2 SATA controller: Intel Corporation 7 Series Chipset Family 6-port SATA Controller [AHCI mode] (rev 04)
00:1f.3 SMBus: Intel Corporation 7 Series/C210 Series Chipset Family SMBus Controller (rev 04)
02:00.0 Network controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8188CE 802.11b/g/n WiFi Adapter (rev 01)
03:00.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8101E/RTL8102E PCI Express Fast Ethernet controller (rev 05)


Maybe I have forgot something obvious, but after 10-15 hours of searching I am asking for some help !

Thanks for your reply.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 6966
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Tue Jul 23, 2013 9:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Your interface is not eth0, try ifonfig -a to see how it is named. Why it is not eth0? No comment ...
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wylls
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Mar 2011
Posts: 12
Location: Lille, FR

PostPosted: Wed Jul 24, 2013 9:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello,

Here is the result of ifconfig -a when it boots on the livecd:

Code:
eth0: flags=4163<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,MULTICAST>  mtu 1500
        inet 192.168.1.38  netmask 255.255.255.0  broadcast 192.168.1.255
        inet6 fe80::4e72:b9ff:fed1:42e6  prefixlen 64  scopeid 0x20<link>
        ether 4c:72:b9:d1:42:e6  txqueuelen 1000  (Ethernet)
        RX packets 13382  bytes 3413679 (3.2 MiB)
        RX errors 0  dropped 10  overruns 0  frame 0
        TX packets 1068  bytes 96516 (94.2 KiB)
        TX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  carrier 0  collisions 0

lo: flags=73<UP,LOOPBACK,RUNNING>  mtu 16436
        inet 127.0.0.1  netmask 255.0.0.0
        inet6 ::1  prefixlen 128  scopeid 0x10<host>
        loop  txqueuelen 0  (Local Loopback)
        RX packets 737  bytes 13266 (12.9 KiB)
        RX errors 0  dropped 0  overruns 0  frame 0
        TX packets 737  bytes 13266 (12.9 KiB)
        TX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  carrier 0  collisions 0


Here is the net file :

Code:

config_eth0=( "192.168.1.102 netmask 255.255.255.0 brd 192.168.1.255" )
routes_eth0=( "default via 192.168.1.1" )
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 6966
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Wed Jul 24, 2013 2:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You need to run ifconfig -a from your installation, not liveCD.
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wylls
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Mar 2011
Posts: 12
Location: Lille, FR

PostPosted: Wed Jul 24, 2013 3:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here is the result:

Code:
lo: flags=73<UP,LOOPBACK,RUNNING>  mtu 65536
        inet 127.0.0.1  netmask 255.0.0.0
        inet6 ::1  prefixlen 128  scopeid 0x10<host>
        loop  txqueuelen 0  (Local Loopback)
        RX packets 0  bytes 0 (0.0 KiB)
        RX errors 0  dropped 0  overruns 0  frame 0
        TX packets 0  bytes 0 (0.0 KiB)
        TX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  carrier 0  collisions 0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 6966
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Wed Jul 24, 2013 5:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can you post lspci -nnk output for your NIC.
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wylls
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Mar 2011
Posts: 12
Location: Lille, FR

PostPosted: Wed Jul 24, 2013 5:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here is the result:

Code:

03:00.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8101E/RTL8102E PCI Express Fast Ethernet controller (rev 05)
Subsystem: Toshiba America Info Systems DEvice [1179:fb46]
Kernel driver in use: r8169
Kernel modules: r8169, r8101
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 6966
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Wed Jul 24, 2013 6:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I assume this is from liveCD? If you do not see kernel driver loaded from your own kernel then you missed r8169 in kernel configuration.
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wylls
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Mar 2011
Posts: 12
Location: Lille, FR

PostPosted: Wed Jul 24, 2013 7:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No, this is from my gentoo install.
I have set r8169 in my kernel configuration, and also install the r8101.

But eth0 does not work,it continues to say:
Code:

ERROR: interface eth0 does not exist
Ensure that you have loaded the correct module for your hardware
ERROR: net.eth0 failed to start


I have tried ifconfig -a and now i have a new result three interfaces:

Code:

emp3s0: flags .....
lo: flags: ....
sit0: flags: .....


I have never seen that, do you have an idea ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 6966
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Wed Jul 24, 2013 8:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

emp3s0 is your interface (that used to be eth0), just use it everywhere in configuration instead of eth0.
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wylls
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Mar 2011
Posts: 12
Location: Lille, FR

PostPosted: Wed Jul 24, 2013 8:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have tried with emp3s0, but it says the same error message.
I have create a new symbolic link with emp3s0 and change my /etc/conf.d/net file.
I have forgot someting for switch from eth0 to emp3s0 properly ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wylls
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Mar 2011
Posts: 12
Location: Lille, FR

PostPosted: Thu Jul 25, 2013 5:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have check dmesg with grep eth0, and I saw that it is udev who changes eth0 to emp3s0.
Maybe my problem comes from that.
I have never used udev, there is something to do for use my NIC correctly ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wylls
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Mar 2011
Posts: 12
Location: Lille, FR

PostPosted: Thu Jul 25, 2013 6:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It works !
I have finally found the problem, and it is me !
The interface name is enp3s0, not eMp3s0....

Thanks Jaglover for your help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum