Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[solved] gentoo on /dev/sdc
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
seneca
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Apr 2013
Posts: 53

PostPosted: Mon Sep 02, 2013 7:31 pm    Post subject: [solved] gentoo on /dev/sdc Reply with quote

Any thoughts on the correct grub2 entry for this scenario:

1. PC with three hard drives, sda (contains debian wheezy), sdb (contains backups, etc), sdc (has gentoo)
2. The sdc with gentoo was on a different PC originally, where it was sda and installed with sda1=boot, sda2=swap, sda3=root

If I run 'update-grub' from sda (debian), the gentoo is noted but grub's menu does not update to include gentoo. If I manually make an entry in debian's grub.d/40_custom, gentoo starts to boot but fails to find 'sda3' to mount root. Changing the grub entry for gentoo to 'sdc3' or adding a dalay of 30 seconds does not fix the issue.

So, how would one write the entry to have gentoo boot?
_________________
Whatever is well said by another, is mine.
I don't consider myself bald, I'm just taller than my hair.

Lucius Annaeus Seneca


Last edited by seneca on Tue Sep 03, 2013 11:05 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
genterminl
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Feb 2005
Posts: 336
Location: Connecticut, USA

PostPosted: Mon Sep 02, 2013 10:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What part of the boot sequence is failing to find "sda3" ? If it's something within the kernel (like an initram) then you need to fix that to point to sdc3. However, unless you can fix it with sda3 mounted from debian, you might need to make that drive sda, boot gentoo, fix it so it looks for sdc, then switch the drives back. I don't know grub2 well enough, but it might help for you to post what you've tried so far, and also post the grub entry from the gentoo drive.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
quilosaq
l33t
l33t


Joined: 22 Dec 2009
Posts: 762

PostPosted: Mon Sep 02, 2013 10:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Maybe you must update /etc/fstab in gentoo root filesystem:
Code:
# <fs>                  <mountpoint>    <type>          <opts>          <dump/pass>
/dev/sdc3                    /           ...              ...               1 2
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ryo-san
l33t
l33t


Joined: 17 Feb 2005
Posts: 725

PostPosted: Mon Sep 02, 2013 11:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hi

Quote:
Maybe you must update /etc/fstab in gentoo root filesystem


The system should be able to boot without any root in fstab.

Could you post your custom grub_entry instead, and the layout of your disk ( fdisk -l ).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
seneca
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Apr 2013
Posts: 53

PostPosted: Tue Sep 03, 2013 12:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi guys. Thanks for taking the time to help.

I am writing from my laptop as the PC wont boot at all after all the "experiments".... I am going to reinstall all from scratch this weekend. Any advice to supplement the information on the gentoo site installation pages on how to modify the installation instructions when installing gentoo on a drive other than the sda (in my case, gentoo will go on sdc)? Things like: should I install grub only on sda (where debian will go) or should I install grub on sda AND sdc, then chainload the sdc grub from sda, or, "keep it simple until you learn more and install all of gentoo on a single partition" (no separate partition for boot), etc

You have the right to ask: why the hell are you installing both gentoo and Debian? well... I am trying to learn linux and the use of both is supplemental as a learning experience, with gentoo the harder of the two but also the more fun to work with.

Any guidance will be very much appreciated
_________________
Whatever is well said by another, is mine.
I don't consider myself bald, I'm just taller than my hair.

Lucius Annaeus Seneca
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
genterminl
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Feb 2005
Posts: 336
Location: Connecticut, USA

PostPosted: Tue Sep 03, 2013 1:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Your setup is simple enough that it really should work without too much effort. Personally, I would only install grub (grub or grub2? either is good, but they are rather differeent) on sda. The only issue I see is when you do the second install (either order, Gentoo or Debian) I don't know if the installer will correctly add the new OS to the existing grub or if you will need to make the addition manually.

One additional thing you might try is booting from a rescue disk or live cd (or even usb stick if the box will boot from usb). That way, you can make changes to the existing setup and try again without a full reinstall.

However, for any better ideas on what went wrong, you need to post more details about your setup and error messages.

Good luck and keep learning.

Jack
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cwr
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Dec 2005
Posts: 1632

PostPosted: Tue Sep 03, 2013 3:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I always put grub on sda (on its own partition) but once I've installed grub
it will boot any partition on sda/b/c/d/e, with the appropriate editing of grub.conf
The trouble is that I use grub 1.x, so I can't tell you how to set up grub 2.x
However, it should be pretty straightforward.

The boot process is MBR => grub => kernel, so the MBR has either to find
the grub partition directly, or boot through a windows menu (often helpful
in dual-booting systems) to find grub. But once grub's running it's easy.

Will
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
seneca
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Apr 2013
Posts: 53

PostPosted: Tue Sep 03, 2013 11:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks guys

The rescue CD is a good idea but I think I will reinstall all again to get rid of all the manual changes I made trying to get that to work...I lost track of all the changes, which is the first rule I violated with this: keep a log.

I will do the install of grub on sda only, as well advised, and will do 'grub-update' from there once I get sdc installed.

Again, thanking you all, I will mark this as solved.
best
_________________
Whatever is well said by another, is mine.
I don't consider myself bald, I'm just taller than my hair.

Lucius Annaeus Seneca
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
seneca
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Apr 2013
Posts: 53

PostPosted: Thu Sep 12, 2013 11:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

just a follow-up

I installed as before but this time with grub only on sda (with the Debian) and with gentoo on sdc1 (no separate /boot partition) and it works great.

best to all
_________________
Whatever is well said by another, is mine.
I don't consider myself bald, I'm just taller than my hair.

Lucius Annaeus Seneca
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum