Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Gnome 2 installed by default
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
scott45
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 Sep 2010
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Wed Jul 03, 2013 1:32 pm    Post subject: Gnome 2 installed by default Reply with quote

Hello,

I just finished a new Gentoo install on an amd64 system. I followed the guide at http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gnome-config.xml to install Gnome. When it finished installing I fired up gdm and logged in and to my surprise it had installed Gnome 2. I thought that Gnome 3 was now the default? Btw I have high end ATI graphics and followed the guide at http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/xorg-config.xml to set up the radeon drivers.

Why did it install Gnome 2, and how do I change things to Gnome 3?

Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hadrons123
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 08 Mar 2012
Posts: 90
Location: chennai

PostPosted: Wed Jul 03, 2013 3:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you chose the default setup gentoo stable shall have gnome2. But if you want gnome 3 use this http://www.gentoo.org/proj/en/desktop/gnome/howtos/gnome-3.6-upgrade.xml?style=printable
_________________
LENOVO Y580 FHD Intel® Core™ i7-3630QM CPU @ 2.40GHz × 8 |660M GTX NVIDIA | 16GB SanDisk SSD
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
scott45
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 Sep 2010
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Wed Jul 03, 2013 4:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the reply hadrons, but I saw that page you linked to. It seems to just talk about differences between Gnome 2 and Gnome 3. I don't see where there is any discussion of "if you have Gnome 2 installed, do steps A, B, C, etc ... to upgrade to Gnome 3."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hadrons123
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 08 Mar 2012
Posts: 90
Location: chennai

PostPosted: Wed Jul 03, 2013 4:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

see if this helps. http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/handbook/handbook-x86.xml?part=3&chap=3
_________________
LENOVO Y580 FHD Intel® Core™ i7-3630QM CPU @ 2.40GHz × 8 |660M GTX NVIDIA | 16GB SanDisk SSD
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hadrons123
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 08 Mar 2012
Posts: 90
Location: chennai

PostPosted: Wed Jul 03, 2013 4:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hadrons123 wrote:
The gnome 3 is in Gentoo unstable. You will have to move to either unstable or selective upgrade .see if this helps. http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/handbook/handbook-x86.xml?part=3&chap=3

_________________
LENOVO Y580 FHD Intel® Core™ i7-3630QM CPU @ 2.40GHz × 8 |660M GTX NVIDIA | 16GB SanDisk SSD
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
scott45
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 Sep 2010
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Wed Jul 03, 2013 4:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So I suppose I just need to add an ACCEPT_KEYWORDS statement in my make.conf. I didn't put that in on this particular install so I guess that's why, but I thought I had read somewhere that Gnome 3 was stable now. Oh well, I'll give it a shot. Also found this: http://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/GNOME guess I should have searched a little harder. :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum