Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
64 bits kernel on 32 bits system : nvidia error
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
alex6
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Jul 2011
Posts: 172

PostPosted: Thu Jul 04, 2013 5:29 pm    Post subject: 64 bits kernel on 32 bits system : nvidia error Reply with quote

I would like to build a 64 bits kernel on a 32 bits system

I followed this guide : https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-409261-highlight-.html

But I have a problem...nvidia driver doesn't want to re-merge...

http://bpaste.net/show/111942/

I also tried

Quote:
ARCH="x86_64" CROSS_COMPILE="x86_64-pc-linux-gnu-" emerge -1 nvidia-drivers


but it doesn't work...

Also, nvidia is looking for "high memory" option not available on 64 bits kernel...

Any idea how I could solve this problem ? (please don't answer "use nouveau"...)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
_______0
Guru
Guru


Joined: 15 Oct 2012
Posts: 521

PostPosted: Thu Jul 04, 2013 5:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

w0ot??

Don't you mean the other way around? 32bit in 64bit?

kind regards
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alex6
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Jul 2011
Posts: 172

PostPosted: Thu Jul 04, 2013 5:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

_______0 wrote:
w0ot??

Don't you mean the other way around? 32bit in 64bit?

kind regards


32 bits system
64 bit kernel (to have more RAM because 32 bits pae doesn't work with nvidia)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Doctor
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 27 Jul 2010
Posts: 2678

PostPosted: Thu Jul 04, 2013 6:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I would strongly advise you to back up your data and reinstall. You can't go from 32 bit to 64 bit.

Just for perspective, I believe that what you are trying to do is unsupported.
_________________
First things first, but not necessarily in that order.

Apologies if I take a while to respond. I'm currently working on the dematerialization circuit for my blue box.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alex6
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Jul 2011
Posts: 172

PostPosted: Thu Jul 04, 2013 6:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The Doctor wrote:
I would strongly advise you to back up your data and reinstall. You can't go from 32 bit to 64 bit.

Just for perspective, I believe that what you are trying to do is unsupported.


I'm not trying to transform a 32 bits gentoo to a 64 bits gentoo...

Only trying to make a 64 bits kernel, but I want to keep using my 32 bits system...
It is supposed to be supported : there is documentation everywhere about how to do it

The only problem is about nvidia...I guess I should need a 64 bits nvidia-driver...But can't emerge it...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hu
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 06 Mar 2007
Posts: 21431

PostPosted: Thu Jul 04, 2013 9:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you do not use the proprietary nVidia blob, are you able to boot the 64-bit kernel correctly?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PaulBredbury
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 14 Jul 2005
Posts: 7310

PostPosted: Thu Jul 04, 2013 10:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I run 32-bit userland on a 64-bit kernel (not in Gentoo). It was a pain to set up. crosstool got me started in being able to compile a 64-bit kernel from within a 32-bit kernel/userland.

With Nvidia, we need to mix-and-match both of:
    NVIDIA-Linux-x86_64-$VERSION.run
    NVIDIA-Linux-x86-$VERSION.run

Because we want to compile a 64-bit kernel module, but use 32-bit for all other Nvidia libs/apps.

Quote:
make -j4 HOSTCC=i686-pc-linux-gnu-gcc CROSS_COMPILE=i686-pc-linux-gnu- LDFLAGS= ARCH=i386 ... CC=i686-pc-linux-gnu-gcc clean module

It looks like your mistake is trying to compile a 32-bit, rather than 64-bit, kernel module.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alex6
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Jul 2011
Posts: 172

PostPosted: Thu Jul 04, 2013 11:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

PaulBredbury wrote:

It looks like your mistake is trying to compile a 32-bit, rather than 64-bit, kernel module.


I'm trying to do the exact controry : "ARCH="x86_64" CROSS_COMPILE="x86_64-pc-linux-gnu-" emerge -1 nvidia-drivers"

Quote:
NVIDIA-Linux-x86_64-$VERSION.run
NVIDIA-Linux-x86-$VERSION.run


Do you talk about the binary installer available on nvidia website ?

Quote:
make -j4 HOSTCC=i686-pc-linux-gnu-gcc CROSS_COMPILE=i686-pc-linux-gnu- LDFLAGS= ARCH=i386 ... CC=i686-pc-linux-gnu-gcc clean module


why "i686" ? And why "..." ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PaulBredbury
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 14 Jul 2005
Posts: 7310

PostPosted: Thu Jul 04, 2013 11:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

My quote is straight from your bpaste.

Why don't you show the bpaste for your 64-bit attempt? I expect it will fail when it tries to compile for a 64-bit userland ;)

Those 2 .run files contain, as well as a binary blob, source code for Nvidia apps and libraries, and also precompiled versions of them.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Genone
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 14 Mar 2003
Posts: 9501
Location: beyond the rim

PostPosted: Fri Jul 05, 2013 6:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You're likely building the x86 version as portage on your system is configured for x86 only. But as Paul said, you'll likely have to hack something together from both the x86 and x86_64 version on your own.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alex6
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Jul 2011
Posts: 172

PostPosted: Fri Jul 05, 2013 10:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hum, I'm a bit scared to install these .run nvidia files...Can't than corrupt things on the system ?
I'm not sure how I can remove them after that...Since I'm on gentoo I don't really trust binary installers :/

And if I install the 32 bits version, I guess the 64 one will not want to install...

Someone suggested me to get the liveDVD 64, install nvidia 64 and take the ".ko" file and copy it manually, but would this file be enough ?


I heard nvidia didn't work with PAE, but nvidia is looking for high memory options when it tries to install...In fact I have it enabled (4GB) and it's working with nvidia without any problem with all 32 bits.
But if I set it to high memory 64 GB it does kernel oops.Does it mean PAE = 64 GB, non PAE = 4 GB ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PaulBredbury
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 14 Jul 2005
Posts: 7310

PostPosted: Fri Jul 05, 2013 11:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

alex6 wrote:
binary installers

Extract them, by running them with the option "-x". These are the same files that Gentoo uses, to compile from source, so your mantra of "binary installers" is not the whole truth. They contains both binaries and source code.

There's also Nvidia source code for nvidia-settings, etc.

Quote:
take the ".ko" file and copy it manually

In general, that's terrible advice.

Quote:
I heard nvidia didn't work with PAE

Heard where? Nvidia works with PAE, I've been using it on 32-bit with 4gb RAM for years.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alex6
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Jul 2011
Posts: 172

PostPosted: Mon Jul 08, 2013 12:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

PaulBredbury wrote:

I heard nvidia didn't work with PAE

Heard where? Nvidia works with PAE, I've been using it on 32-bit with 4gb RAM for years.[/quote]

I can also do it with 4GB option, but not 64GB option (for 6GB).It does kernel oops.

Do you think this is a normal issue or something else ? Maybe I should make another post about it ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PaulBredbury
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 14 Jul 2005
Posts: 7310

PostPosted: Mon Jul 08, 2013 3:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

alex6 wrote:
It does kernel oops

Report it to Nvidia.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alex6
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Jul 2011
Posts: 172

PostPosted: Mon Jul 08, 2013 4:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I switched to kernel 3.9.4 and my kernel doesn't crash even with nvidia drivers + high memory support set to 64GB in the kernel config.

But one of those days, I'll switch to 64 bits gentoo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alex6
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Jul 2011
Posts: 172

PostPosted: Mon Jul 08, 2013 10:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

PaulBredbury wrote:

Extract them, by running them with the option "-x".


Done, what file I should put where ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PaulBredbury
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 14 Jul 2005
Posts: 7310

PostPosted: Tue Jul 09, 2013 5:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

See Nvidia's README, and Gentoo's ebuilds.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum