[SOLVED] Output files stop receiving data from program
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
odeSolver
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper

PostPosted: Sun Jun 30, 2013 4:25 am    Post subject: [SOLVED] Output files stop receiving data from program Reply with quote

Hi. I'm having a problem with the program I wrote for my math thesis. It is running on a Gentoo cluster and I think the problem may have something to do with the OS' buffering of output files (or something like that). But I haven't any idea how to resolve it. I am pretty new to this type of programming (I've done scripting, before, but not "real" programming).

The problem is that after the program runs for a long time, the output files stop receiving data the program writes. That is, in the middle - or what should be the middle - of a file, it will stop getting any new data. New output files are created, but they also receive no data - they are all size 0.

I have (somehow) attached to the program using gdb and found that it is running correctly and sending the correct output to the files. But the files never receive the output.

Some details:
The program is written in C and uses an ODE solver called CVODE (part of SUNDIALS suite of ODE solvers) and MPICH Version 1.2.7 (which I can't find any documentation about - but that's another issue). It simulates a 2 dimensional physical system. I output two file types: time data and position data. To keep the file sizes reasonable, I close them and start new ones every so often (right now every 10,000 lines).

Bigger systems have more data on each line, so 10,000 lines of a big system is larger than 10,000 lines of a small system. For example, the position file of an 8x8 system has 128 floating point numbers on each line; a 16x16 system will have 512 fl pt numbers per line.