Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Installed, Rebooted: Root Read-Only and Boot Unmounted
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
swass
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Jun 2013
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Wed Jun 26, 2013 1:15 am    Post subject: Installed, Rebooted: Root Read-Only and Boot Unmounted Reply with quote

I'm new to Gentoo, and have completed the base installation using the boot CD. After rebooting, the root file system is read-only and /boot is not mounted.

Remounting the / (root) file system as read/write works perfectly. Mounting /boot works perfectly, then. Services seem to be in a hung state of coming up. I had to manually load the ethernet interface driver, configure an address through ifconfig, and use the client ssh to sent what I could off the system to post here.

Attempting to execute through rc-service or /etc/init.d/<service> restart (or start) tells me:

Code:
* WARNING: <service> is already starting


It is no use trying to use the init scripts at all to manually start anything.

/etc/fstab:
Code:

/dev/sda1               /boot           ext4            noauto,noatime          1 2
/dev/sda3               /               ext4            noatime         0 1
/dev/sda2               none            swap            sw              0 0
/dev/cdrom              /mnt/cdrom      auto            noauto,ro       0 0
/dev/fd0                /mnt/floppy     auto            noauto          0 0


Everything I can see in dmesg looks clean. /var/log/messages doesn't exist because syslog didn't start.

rc-status shows the following:
Code:
Runlevel: default
 dmeventd                                                          [  stopped  ]
 lvm                                                               [  stopped  ]
 syslog-ng                                                         [  stopped  ]
 vixie-cron                                                        [  stopped  ]
 dhcpcd                                                            [  stopped  ]
 net.eth0                                                          [  stopped  ]
 sshd                                                              [  stopped  ]
 netmount                                                          [  stopped  ]
 lvm-monitoring                                                    [  stopped  ]
 mdadm                                                             [  stopped  ]
 nscd                                                              [  stopped  ]
 local                                                             [  stopped  ]
Runlevel: shutdown
 savecache                                                         [  stopped  ]
 killprocs                                                         [  stopped  ]
 mount-ro                                                          [  stopped  ]
Runlevel: sysinit
 dmesg                                                             [  stopped  ]
 udev-mount                                                        [  stopped  ]
 devfs                                                             [  stopped  ]
 sysfs                                                             [  stopped  ]
 udev                                                              [  stopped  ]
Runlevel: boot
 hwclock                                                           [  stopped  ]
 modules                                                           [  stopped  ]
 fsck                                                              [  stopped  ]
 root                                                              [  stopped  ]
 mtab                                                              [  stopped  ]
 swap                                                              [  stopped  ]
 localmount                                                        [  stopped  ]
 sysctl                                                            [  stopped  ]
 bootmisc                                                          [  stopped  ]
 termencoding                                                      [  stopped  ]
 keymaps                                                           [  stopped  ]
 hostname                                                          [  stopped  ]
 net.lo                                                            [  stopped  ]
 tmpfiles.setup                                                    [  stopped  ]
 urandom                                                           [  stopped  ]
 procfs                                                            [  stopped  ]
 swapfiles                                                         [  stopped  ]
Dynamic Runlevel: hotplugged
Dynamic Runlevel: needed
Dynamic Runlevel: manual


/boot/grub/grub.conf:
Code:
default 0
timeout 5
#splashimage=(hd0,0)/boot/grub/splash.xpm.gz

title Gentoo Linux 3.8.13
root (hd0,0)
kernel /boot/kernel-genkernel-x86-3.8.13-gentoo rootfstype=ext4 root=/dev/sda3
initrd /boot/initramfs-genkernel-x86-3.8.13-gentoo

# vim:ft=conf:

Anyone have any ideas of what I can try? Seems like something broken with the boot process, but it's hard to troubleshoot with no logs. (other than dmesg, which looks clean)

To me it looks like the rc init isn't working at all.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 6256
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Wed Jun 26, 2013 1:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
grep -i tmpfs /usr/src/linux/.config
look for
Quote:
CONFIG_DEVTMPFS=y
CONFIG_DEVTMPFS_MOUNT=y
CONFIG_TMPFS=y
CONFIG_TMPFS_POSIX_ACL=y
CONFIG_TMPFS_XATTR=y

Code:
grep -i sysfs /usr/src/linux/.config
look for
Quote:
CONFIG_SYSFS_DEPRECATED is not set
CONFIG_EDAC_LEGACY_SYSFS=y
CONFIG_RTC_INTF_SYSFS=y
CONFIG_DMI_SYSFS=m
CONFIG_SYSFS=y


Quote:
/dev/sda1 /boot ext4 noauto,noatime 1 2
so /boot not mounting at boot is okay

grub is not involved

Code:
emerge -s openrc udev baselayout

look for
Quote:
sys-apps/openrc
Latest version available: 0.11.8
Latest version installed: 0.11.8
sys-fs/udev-init-scripts
Latest version available: 25
Latest version installed: 25
virtual/udev
Latest version available: 197-r3
Latest version installed: 197-r3
sys-fs/udev
Latest version available: 200
Latest version installed: 200
sys-apps/baselayout
Latest version available: 2.2
Latest version installed: 2.2

_________________
Defund the FCC.


Last edited by DONAHUE on Wed Jun 26, 2013 2:06 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Doctor
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 27 Jul 2010
Posts: 1269

PostPosted: Wed Jun 26, 2013 2:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Since you used genkernel, I strongly suspect this isn't strictly a kernel issue.

I suggest using an interactive boot. It should be the first line in /etc/rc.conf that isn't commented out. Set it to "YES" if you haven't already. Then reboot and use the interactive mode. Something should fail and you should be able to see what it was this time.

EDIT: I see DONAHUE was faster at posting then I was.
_________________
First things first, but not necessarily in that order.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
swass
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Jun 2013
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Wed Jun 26, 2013 2:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Donahue:

CONFIG_DEVTMPFS_MOUNT is not set, but otherwise all are enabled. /dev /dev/pts /sys /proc and /run are all mounted.

CONFIG_GPIO_SYSFS, CONFIG_DMI_SYSFS, and CONFIG_SYSFS_DEPRECATED are not set, but others are.

All you software you mentioned in emerge is there and installed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
swass
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Jun 2013
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Wed Jun 26, 2013 2:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The Doctor wrote:

I suggest using an interactive boot. It should be the first line in /etc/rc.conf that isn't commented out. Set it to "YES" if you haven't already. Then reboot and use the interactive mode. Something should fail and you should be able to see what it was this time..


I set:
rc_interactive="YES"
.. and it didn't prompt me or anything. After it loads some modules, such as usb and the like, it flashes a screen quickly and goes to the login prompt.

It would seem that it may not be launching rc at all. Odd.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Doctor
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 27 Jul 2010
Posts: 1269

PostPosted: Wed Jun 26, 2013 2:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmm... Try pressing I as its booting up. I suspect that OpenRC is just flashing by too quickly for you to see. This is why many people add the --noclear option to in /etc/inittab like so
c1:12345:respawn:/sbin/agetty --noclear 38400 tty1 linux Its only necessary to do this for the first one if you want to try it. This used to be the default behavior.
_________________
First things first, but not necessarily in that order.


Last edited by The Doctor on Wed Jun 26, 2013 2:36 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 6256
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Wed Jun 26, 2013 2:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

CONFIG_DEVTMPFS is ordinarily sufficient but occasionally CONFIG_DEVTMPFS_MOUNT is needed
I would set CONFIG_GPIO_SYSFS, CONFIG_DMI_SYSFS but do not know that they have ever been linked with your problem
CONFIG_SYSFS_DEPRECATED should never be set

I think the Doctor's idea is a very good one.
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
swass
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Jun 2013
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Wed Jun 26, 2013 2:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The Doctor wrote:
Hmm... Try pressing I as its booting up. I suspect that OpenRC is just flashing by too quickly for you to see. This is why many people add the --noclear option to in /etc/inittab like so
c1:12345:respawn:/sbin/agetty --noclear 38400 tty1 linux Its only necessary to do this for the first one if you want to try it. This used to be the default behavior.


Thanks, that was a good idea. Since I cannot capture this, I am going to type it in here:

Code:

INIT: version 2.88 booting

    OpenRC 0.11.8 is starting up Gentoo Linux (i686)

Press I to enter interactive boot mode

 * /proc is already mounted
 * /Mounting /run ...
 * /run/openrc: creating directory
 * /run/lock: creating directory
 * /run/lock: correcting owner
 * Caching service dependencies ...                                 [ ok ]
INIT: Entering runlevel: 3


This is (none).unknown_domain (Linux i686 3.8.13-gentoo) 15:49:14

(none) login:


Hmm. I'm not sure how this is supposed to look, but that is all I get and nothing more.

Thanks to both of you for your help on this.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
swass
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Jun 2013
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Wed Jun 26, 2013 2:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

DONAHUE wrote:
CONFIG_DEVTMPFS is ordinarily sufficient but occasionally CONFIG_DEVTMPFS_MOUNT is needed
I would set CONFIG_GPIO_SYSFS, CONFIG_DMI_SYSFS but do not know that they have ever been linked with your problem
CONFIG_SYSFS_DEPRECATED should never be set
.


I am pretty good usually at slimming the kernel down, as I do a lot of cross-compile scratch builds of Linux for embedded systems, so I usually take pretty good care to ensure it is setup properly. Still, if all else fails, I can certainly look at rebuilding it and enabling some extra features. My total kernel is 2.6MiB, and that is pretty large for me. :) I'll be the first to admit that I don't know Gentoo like you guys do, so maybe there is some dependency that I wouldn't think of.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Doctor
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 27 Jul 2010
Posts: 1269

PostPosted: Wed Jun 26, 2013 3:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

what does rc-update show report? Your right, it shouldn't be that short. About 10 things should have started.
_________________
First things first, but not necessarily in that order.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 6256
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Wed Jun 26, 2013 3:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

everything looks normal for
ls -l /etc/runlevels
ls -l /etc/runlevels/boot
ls -l /etc/runlevels/default
ls -l /etc/runlevels/shutdown
ls -l /etc/runlevels/sysinit
ls -l /etc/init.d

???
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
swass
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Jun 2013
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Wed Jun 26, 2013 4:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the responses. I am goind to try them tomorrow morning and write back.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
swass
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Jun 2013
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Wed Jun 26, 2013 1:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The Doctor wrote:
what does rc-update show report? Your right, it shouldn't be that short. About 10 things should have started.


The Doctor: The rc-update show is below.

Code:
             bootmisc | boot
                devfs |                       sysinit
               dhcpcd |      default
                dmesg |                       sysinit
             dmeventd |      default
                 fsck | boot
             hostname | boot
              hwclock | boot
              keymaps | boot
            killprocs |              shutdown
                local |      default
           localmount | boot
                  lvm |      default
       lvm-monitoring |      default
                mdadm |      default
              modules | boot
             mount-ro |              shutdown
                 mtab | boot
             net.eth0 |      default
               net.lo | boot
             netmount |      default
                 nscd |      default
               procfs | boot
                 root | boot
            savecache |              shutdown
                 sshd |      default
                 swap | boot
            swapfiles | boot
               sysctl | boot
                sysfs |                       sysinit
            syslog-ng |      default
         termencoding | boot
       tmpfiles.setup | boot
                 udev |                       sysinit
           udev-mount |                       sysinit
              urandom | boot
           vixie-cron |      default


Donahue: Yes, there are no broken links and all permissions on the init.d scripts are 755.

Think it makes sense to try to emerge everything again?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 6256
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Wed Jun 26, 2013 3:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I would enable CONFIG_DEVTMPFS_MOUNT rebuild kernel and test as a first attempt at differential diagnosis.
As a second attempt I would:
preferred: visit http://kernel-seeds.org and adopt a kernel seed configuration deleting nothing and adding only needed drivers to boot.and test.
less preferred: build an unedited genkernel and test
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
swass
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Jun 2013
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Wed Jun 26, 2013 9:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

DONAHUE wrote:
I would enable CONFIG_DEVTMPFS_MOUNT rebuild kernel and test as a first attempt at differential diagnosis.
As a second attempt I would:
preferred: visit http://kernel-seeds.org and adopt a kernel seed configuration deleting nothing and adding only needed drivers to boot.and test.
less preferred: build an unedited genkernel and test


Yeah, I may have to try that. That said, this still doesn't "feel" like it's the problem. But I'll try it as soon as I get a chance. The technical side of me wants to get to the root source of the why. Based on the sysinit scripts, it says it shouldn't need the _MOUNT, but only the CONFIG_DEVTMPFS.

This is kind of interesting. I had to be quick about it, but when I do enter into interactive, I do see that it indeed does believe it executed each of the startup scripts. It asks me if I want to execute them. But in fact, they were not.

Each script uses the /sbin/runscript program that supposedly interprets the code in the script, it looks like. I attempted telling the sshd init and also the udev-mount script to echo to the /dev/tty1, but it never did so. So /sbin/rc is executing via init. "rc" is properly seeing each of the scripts it should execute, but it doesn't execute them (or the code in them).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 6256
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Wed Jun 26, 2013 10:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you like, in the chroot,
Code:
emerge wgetpaste
wgetpaste /usr/src/linux/.config
i'll meld against pappy's kernel seed and see if a missing item rings a bell.

do you remember introducing any variations in the stage 3 or in executing the handbook?
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 6256
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Thu Jun 27, 2013 12:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

a list of items that have at various times been required to correct problems similar to but not in memory the same as yours

CONFIG_DEVTMPFS=y
CONFIG_DEVTMPFS_MOUNT=y
CONFIG_HOTPLUG=y
CONFIG_FSNOTIFY=y
CONFIG_DNOTIFY=y
CONFIG_INOTIFY_USER=y
CONFIG_NET=y
CONFIG_PROC_FS=y
CONFIG_SIGNALFD=y
CONFIG_SYSFS=y
CONFIG_SYSFS_DEPRECATED is not set
CONFIG_UEVENT_HELPER_PATH=""
CONFIG_BLK_DEV_BSG=y
CONFIG_TMPFS=y
CONFIG_TMPFS_POSIX_ACL=y
CONFIG_TMPFS_XATTR=y
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
swass
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Jun 2013
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Thu Jun 27, 2013 12:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

DONAHUE wrote:
If you like, in the chroot,
Code:
emerge wgetpaste
wgetpaste /usr/src/linux/.config
i'll meld against pappy's kernel seed and see if a missing item rings a bell.

do you remember introducing any variations in the stage 3 or in executing the handbook?


Well, before I use any more of anyone's time, I am going to try another build of this. I'm not so far in that it would be a huge pain to do it again. The longest part was really to configure the kernel, but I can save the .config. This way, I can try compiling the same kernel, and if that one doesn't work, try a stock kernel. I can also be sure I didn't do something that departs from the standard build -- but I don't think I did. So far as I know, I followed all the directions word-for-word.

I'll try to do that tonight and then write back to this thread. I will also make sure to compile with those settings you mention. None of them look like they would add much of anything to my kernel size.

Thank you for helping!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 6256
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Thu Jun 27, 2013 12:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You have an interesting problem, would be glad to look over kernel config. my version of cyber gaming.
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
swass
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Jun 2013
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Thu Jun 27, 2013 4:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

DONAHUE wrote:
You have an interesting problem, would be glad to look over kernel config. my version of cyber gaming.


Hi, Donahue:

Yeah, I'm in process of rebuilding it. The only step I knew I deviated from, come to think of it, was with making /boot ext4. I did need to tweak the grub.conf to make it recognize that it was ext4 right away, even though it did eventually realize it.

Below are the links for the kernel configs.

Original Kernel Config: http://bpaste.net/show/110126/

Modified Kernel Config: http://bpaste.net/show/110127/

You can diff them, but basically they are pretty close with a few tweaks. I removed one module I didn't need for this motherboard, and then adding directly into the kernel the other. Then I changed a small number of entries to reflect what your postings mentioned.

Hopefully I can have the kernel compiling tonight and will know in the morning how it works. Then if all else fails, I'll try an unmodified version.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Goverp
Guru
Guru


Joined: 07 Mar 2007
Posts: 325

PostPosted: Thu Jun 27, 2013 9:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

swass, you're using genkernel to provide an initramfs, so I presume there are some things to be mounted or decrypted, or on LVM or RAID or whatever. But your grub "kernel" command line isn't asking the initramfs to do anything (e.g. domdadm). Is that correct? Also, your fstab doesn't have a line for /dev/shm - I've no idea if that's relevant, but I've always had
Code:
shm                     /dev/shm        tmpfs           nodev,nosuid,noexec     0 0

_________________
Greybeard
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 6256
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Thu Jun 27, 2013 4:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

native language support??

Code:
            
yours CONFIG_NLS_DEFAULT="iso8859-1"    pappy's CONFIG_NLS_DEFAULT="utf8"
yours CONFIG_NLS_CODEPAGE_437=y   pappy's CONFIG_NLS_CODEPAGE_437=y
yours CONFIG_NLS_ISO8859_1=y      pappy's CONFIG_NLS_ISO8859_1=y
yours CONFIG_NLS_ASCII is not set   pappy's CONFIG_NLS_ASCII=y
yours CONFIG_NLS_ISO8859_15=y      pappy's CONFIG_NLS_ISO8859_15 is not set
yours CONFIG_NLS_UTF8=y      pappy's CONFIG_NLS_UTF8=y

_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
swass
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Jun 2013
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Thu Jun 27, 2013 5:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Goverp wrote:
swass, you're using genkernel to provide an initramfs, so I presume there are some things to be mounted or decrypted, or on LVM or RAID or whatever. But your grub "kernel" command line isn't asking the initramfs to do anything (e.g. domdadm). Is that correct? Also, your fstab doesn't have a line for /dev/shm - I've no idea if that's relevant, but I've always had


Well, since we're past the initramfs and the root file system mounted properly (although read-only), it doesn't seem like it should be an issue with that. I also am not using LVM or RAID right now, but am compiling the capability into initramfs so I could use it later if I wanted.


The /dev/shm shouldn't be necessary, I don't think. I can certainly mount it though if I have issues. So far as I know, /sbin/rc shouldn't use that.


Last edited by swass on Thu Jun 27, 2013 6:13 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
swass
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Jun 2013
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Thu Jun 27, 2013 5:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

DONAHUE wrote:
native language support??


Hmm. I might want to turn on NLS_ASCII and change default, but I'm not sure it's really necessary. I'll see if I run into troubles and maybe try that one too, if I do. I'm almost ready to try booting to the new system after rebuild.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
swass
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Jun 2013
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Thu Jun 27, 2013 7:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Darn. No-go. I just rebooted the system and it once again has the same issue. "rc" is executing, sees the init scripts, but nothing is getting executed.

This is frustrating. :) I'll try some more..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum