Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Can pulseaudio be selectively enabled?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on AMD64
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
hfk22
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Dec 2013
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Fri Oct 31, 2014 5:40 am    Post subject: Can pulseaudio be selectively enabled? Reply with quote

Is there a way to selectively enable pulseaudio? Basically, Skype requires it unless we use apulse. However, on an AMD64 system, enabling apulse is a bit of a mess since we essentially have to enable the unstable keyword for dozens of packages, so that we have both the 32-bit and 64-bit versions. I'd rather not go down that route if there's a way to selectively enable pulseaudio. In other words, I only want to enable pulseaudio when running Skype and not use it at any other point in time. If I have to enable pulseaudio and then reboot, that's acceptable. Mostly, I just don't want to install and uninstall pulseaudio every time I want to use Skype.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 4598
Location: USA

PostPosted: Mon Nov 03, 2014 6:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't use Skype but use Pulseaudio on my amd64 setup. It seems to work fine, what specific software are you having reservations of using PA?
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed to be advocating?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mf2
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Jun 2007
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Mon Nov 03, 2014 7:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'd suggest that you check out the following article in the wine wiki: http://wiki.winehq.org/WineAndPulseaudio

The basic strategy is to ensure that pulseaudio does not use the soundcard exclusively. That way, skype may use pulseaudio and all the other applications can resort to basic ALSA.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Princess Nell
l33t
l33t


Joined: 15 Apr 2005
Posts: 601

PostPosted: Mon Nov 03, 2014 9:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Alternatively, you can run skype+apulse in a 32-bit chroot jail. There should be enough info in these forums to get you going. The price is some 1GB+ of disk space.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on AMD64 All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum