Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
x86 minimal flash boot
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
rarebud11
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Jun 2013
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Thu Jun 27, 2013 2:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i have a wireless router not but about 10 feet away from me and i'll edit this in a few min with the URL

edit http://bpaste.net/show/110118/
_________________
learning the ropes :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 6256
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Thu Jun 27, 2013 2:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Missed the one in red:
boot gentoo, run:
Code:
genkernel --menuconfig all
ensure you have the follwing enabled:
Quote:

Device Drivers --->
[*] Network device support --->
[*] Network core driver support
<*> Dummy net driver support
{M} Generic Media Independent Interface device support
[*] Ethernet driver support --->
[*] Atheros devices
<M> Atheros L1E Gigabit Ethernet support
{M} PHY Device support and infrastructure --->
[*] Wireless LAN --->
<M> Atheros Wireless Cards --->
--- Atheros Wireless Cards
[*] Atheros bluetooth coexistence support (NEW)
<M> Atheros 802.11n wireless cards support
[*] Atheros ath9k PCI/PCIe bus support (NEW)
[*] Atheros ath9k rate control (NEW)
when done editing exit until you see
Quote:
Do you wish to save your new configuration ? <ESC><ESC>
to continue.
< Yes > < No >
say yes, then allow genkernel to finish, then
Code:
 reboot
Code:
 ifconfig -a
when back up
_________________
Defund the FCC.


Last edited by DONAHUE on Thu Jun 27, 2013 2:40 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rarebud11
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Jun 2013
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Thu Jun 27, 2013 2:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

awww shucks :oops: doing it now and seeing how it goes. also ran the emerge code

EDIT: ok so i went into the

Code:
genkernel --menuconfig all


found the atheros 802.11n wireless cards support and it was already set to <M>odularizes features
_________________
learning the ropes :D


Last edited by rarebud11 on Thu Jun 27, 2013 2:44 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 6256
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Thu Jun 27, 2013 2:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

look up above for the edit having typing problems <M> Atheros L1E Gigabit Ethernet support
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rarebud11
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Jun 2013
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Thu Jun 27, 2013 2:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

DONAHUE wrote:
look up above for the edit having typing problems <M> Atheros L1E Gigabit Ethernet support



yup missed it :) kk recompiling and i'll reboot and try it out again. seriously i can't thank you enough you've been with me every step of the way. I am really thankful of that.
_________________
learning the ropes :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 6256
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Thu Jun 27, 2013 3:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

when back up you should have
Code:
ifconfig -a
showing eth0 and wlan0 or new names courtesy of udev. presuming eth0 and wlan0 are still in use:
Code:
cd /etc/init.d
ln -s net.lo net.eth0
ln -s net.lo net.wlan0
rc-update add net.eth0 default
rc-update add net.wlan0 default
nano /etc/conf.d/net
edit to
Quote:
modules_wlan0="wpa_supplicant"
wpa_supplicant_wlan0="-Dnl80211"
wpa_timeout_wlan0=30
iwconfig_wlan0_mode="Managed"
config_wlan0="dhcp"

config_eth0="dhcp"
and
Code:
nano /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf
edit to
Quote:
ctrl_interface=/var/run/wpa_supplicant
ctrl_interface_group=0
update_config=1
then
Code:
/etc/init.d/net.eth0 restart
ping -c2 -Ieth0 8.8.8.8
if good the interface works
Code:
ping -c2  -Ieth0 google.com
if good so does dns.
Code:
iw dev wlan0 scan
look for data for your router
Code:
nano /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf
edit to add network after the previous entry similar to
Quote:
network={
ssid="your router's ssid"
psk="your passphrase"
proto=RSN
key_mgmt=WPA-PSK
pairwise=CCMP
auth_alg=OPEN
}
if the scan does not provide data for an item, don't use that item, (it will not provide passphrase, if you use one, do put it in )
Code:
 /etc/init.d/net.wlan0 restart
ping -c2 -Iwlan0 8.8.8.8

_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 6256
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Thu Jun 27, 2013 4:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

when back up you should have
Code:
ifconfig -a
showing eth0 and wlan0 or new names courtesy of udev. presuming eth0 and wlan0 are still in use:
Code:
cd /etc/init.d
ln -s net.lo net.eth0
ln -s net.lo net.wlan0
rc-update add net.eth0 default
rc-update add net.wlan0 default
nano /etc/conf.d/net
edit to
Quote:
modules_wlan0="wpa_supplicant"
wpa_supplicant_wlan0="-Dnl80211"
wpa_timeout_wlan0=30
iwconfig_wlan0_mode="Managed"
config_wlan0="dhcp"

config_eth0="dhcp"
and
Code:
nano /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf
edit to
Quote:
ctrl_interface=/var/run/wpa_supplicant
ctrl_interface_group=0
update_config=1
then
Code:
/etc/init.d/net.eth0 restart
ping -c2 -Ieth0 8.8.8.8
if good the interface works
Code:
ping -c2  -Ieth0 google.com
if good so does dns.
Code:
iw dev wlan0 scan
look for data for your router
Code:
nano /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf
edit to add network after the previous entry similar to
Quote:
network={
ssid="your router's ssid"
psk="your passphrase"
proto=RSN
key_mgmt=WPA-PSK
pairwise=CCMP
auth_alg=OPEN
}
if the scan does not provide data for an item, don't use that item, (it will not provide passphrase, if you use one, do put it in )
Code:
 /etc/init.d/net.wlan0 restart
ping -c2 -Iwlan0 8.8.8.8

_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rarebud11
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Jun 2013
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Thu Jun 27, 2013 5:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok so for wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf i do not have ive tried the following

Code:
emerge net-wireless/wpa_supplicant
emerge wpa_supplicant
 echo "net-wireless/wpa_supplicant qt4" >> /etc/portage/package.use


tried

Code:
ls /etc


to find WPA and nothing. how to do i get wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf ?
_________________
learning the ropes :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rarebud11
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Jun 2013
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Sun Jun 30, 2013 12:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

im a nitwit.. i read through the guide and found my error.. when i downloaded portage i forgot to do this

Code:
tar xvjf /mnt/gentoo/portage-*.tar.bz2 -C /mnt/gentoo/usr


im restarting my install.
_________________
learning the ropes :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Page 2 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum