Installing Gentoo for a compete Nooby
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Gulfwolf
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Sun Jun 23, 2013 6:24 am    Post subject: Installing Gentoo for a compete Nooby Reply with quote

Im very new to the world of linux and i wish to know how to install gentoo i plan on installing it on virtual box first and see how it is if it runs well then i may
use it as my main os. Im curios will gentoo have KDE as my desktop enviorment or do i need to install it myslef if so how do i do this?Furthermore i read the handbook but had trouble understanding it.Can someone perhaps give some detailed instrucations on how too install it?
TomWij
Retired Dev
Retired Dev

PostPosted: Sun Jun 23, 2013 7:48 am    Post subject: Re: Installing Gentoo for a compete Nooby Reply with quote

Gulfwolf wrote:
Im very new to the world of linux

Welcome!

Gulfwolf wrote:
and i wish to know how to install gentoo i plan on installing it on virtual box first and see how it is if it runs well then i may
use it as my main os.

That's a very good idea, getting used to using it before installing it can help you avoid to make some mistakes to the main installation.

Gulfwolf wrote:
Im curios will gentoo have KDE as my desktop enviorment or do i need to install it myslef if so how do i do this?

Gentoo has the minimal software required so you can start building what you need on top of that; so, KDE is not present and needs to be installed.

You can follow http://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/KDE which explains this in detail; but before you do that, you'll have to install Gentoo itself first.

Gulfwolf wrote:
Furthermore i read the handbook but had trouble understanding it.Can someone perhaps give some detailed instrucations on how too install it?