Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Question about URXVT in Spectrwm
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
r4nd0m
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 May 2013
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Fri Jun 21, 2013 10:35 pm    Post subject: Question about URXVT in Spectrwm Reply with quote

Hello,
first of all i wasn't sure where to post this, if I am in the wrong subforum please tell me..
I'm also new to Gentoo and Linux in general.
Is it normal that the terminal stays open after I execute i.e. firefox? The terminal sorta blocks 1/2 of the screen, since I can't write in it and firefox is in the other half of the screen (working)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
shazeal
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 03 May 2006
Posts: 140
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Sat Jun 22, 2013 12:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can just add an & symbol after the command and it will run in the background. And yes its normal for the terminal to stay open. You need to use some menu or launcher if you want to launch stuff without a terminal. Look up dmenu for a good launcher for tiled window managers.

eg. firefox &

The WM should have some commands to launch firefox in a separate workspace tho which means it doesnt have to fight with the terminal for screen space.

A good place to look for info on stuff is the Archlinux wiki, its pretty comprehensive. Just ignore the archlinux specific bits (like pacman commands which is the Archlinux package manager)

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Spectrwm
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
r4nd0m
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 May 2013
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sat Jun 22, 2013 11:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you, the '&' solves the issue so far, dmenu is already installed but I guess I have to configure it properly before I can use it, it lists me everything on the system..

edit: Should i mark it as solved or delete the thread?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
smartass
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 04 Jul 2011
Posts: 189
Location: right behind you ... (you did turn around, didn't you?)

PostPosted: Sat Jun 22, 2013 1:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

When you start dmenu, it lists everything, but the list is narrowed as you type the name of the program you want to run.
So start dmenu (through some keyboard shortcut I suppose) and start typing "firefox". As soon as you see it in the list, you can navigate to it using arrow keys or just finish writing the whole name and then press Enter.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum