Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOLVED] Error with NetworManager.
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
caaarlos
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 27 Apr 2012
Posts: 155

PostPosted: Tue Jun 11, 2013 12:02 am    Post subject: [SOLVED] Error with NetworManager. Reply with quote

Hi,

I always used networkmanager but today one strange error happened. I was configuring my router when networkmanager stopped to list my wife and my ethernet conexion. But I continue connected to the internet without ethernet cable. I'm connect to my wirelles network, but I don't know why, because network manager does not list any network interface. What is my problem?

Thanks.


Last edited by caaarlos on Mon Jun 17, 2013 8:24 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
imaginasys
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 26 Dec 2009
Posts: 83
Location: Québec

PostPosted: Tue Jun 11, 2013 2:06 am    Post subject: Re: Error if NetworManager. Reply with quote

caaarlos wrote:
I was configuring my router when networkmanager stopped to list my wife and my ethernet conexion.


Can you give us a clue of what you did change on your router ?

It seems you dont have anymore the wired interface and are using the wireless instead.

Please would you show output of "# ifconfig -a " ?

Regards,

BT :mrgreen:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
caaarlos
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 27 Apr 2012
Posts: 155

PostPosted: Tue Jun 11, 2013 4:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I reseted my router and change its password and chagen ESSID and wireless password.
I unplugged my wired conexion.. now I'm on wifi.

ifconfig:

Code:
eth0: flags=4099<UP,BROADCAST,MULTICAST>  mtu 1500
        ether 54:42:49:31:10:34  txqueuelen 1000  (Ethernet)
        RX packets 0  bytes 0 (0.0 B)
        RX errors 0  dropped 0  overruns 0  frame 0
        TX packets 0  bytes 0 (0.0 B)
        TX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  carrier 0  collisions 0

lo: flags=73<UP,LOOPBACK,RUNNING>  mtu 16436
        inet 127.0.0.1  netmask 255.0.0.0
        inet6 ::1  prefixlen 128  scopeid 0x10<host>
        loop  txqueuelen 0  (Loopback Local)
        RX packets 0  bytes 0 (0.0 B)
        RX errors 0  dropped 0  overruns 0  frame 0
        TX packets 0  bytes 0 (0.0 B)
        TX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  carrier 0  collisions 0

sit0: flags=128<NOARP>  mtu 1480
        sit  txqueuelen 0  (IPv6 sobre IPv4)
        RX packets 0  bytes 0 (0.0 B)
        RX errors 0  dropped 0  overruns 0  frame 0
        TX packets 0  bytes 0 (0.0 B)
        TX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  carrier 0  collisions 0

wlan0: flags=4163<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,MULTICAST>  mtu 1500
        inet 10.0.0.105  netmask 255.255.255.0  broadcast 10.0.0.255
        inet6 fe80::7add:8ff:fee2:c5da  prefixlen 64  scopeid 0x20<link>
        ether 78:dd:08:e2:c5:da  txqueuelen 1000  (Ethernet)
        RX packets 16934  bytes 7947201 (7.5 MiB)
        RX errors 0  dropped 522  overruns 0  frame 0
        TX packets 12572  bytes 3600009 (3.4 MiB)
        TX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  carrier 0  collisions 0

iwlist scan works and show all wireless avaliable...


iwconfig wlan0:

Code:


wlan0     IEEE 802.11bgn  ESSID:"Safina CAVE" 
          Mode:Managed  Frequency:2.442 GHz  Access Point: 00:1A:3F:4D:8E:FA   
          Bit Rate=54 Mb/s   Tx-Power=15 dBm   
          Retry  long limit:7   RTS thr:off   Fragment thr:off
          Encryption key:off
          Power Management:off
          Link Quality=70/70  Signal level=-37 dBm 
          Rx invalid nwid:0  Rx invalid crypt:0  Rx invalid frag:0
          Tx excessive retries:1  Invalid misc:296   Missed beacon:0


Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
caaarlos
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 27 Apr 2012
Posts: 155

PostPosted: Wed Jun 12, 2013 6:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

When I turn on my notebook, appers one massage that Network manager is inactive. And when I try to restart NetworkManager the same error happens.

# /etc/init.d/NetworkManager restart
* WARNING: you are stopping a boot service
* Unmounting network filesystems ... [ ok ]
* Stopping NetworkManager ... [ ok ]
* Starting NetworkManager ... [ ok ]
Connecting............... 1s
* Marking NetworkManager as inactive. It will automatically be marked
* as started after a network connection has been established.
* WARNING: NetworkManager has started, but is inactive
* WARNING: netmount is scheduled to started when NetworkManager has started

Using /etc/init.d/NetworkManager restart, my network conexion stops, than I have to restart dhcp, but no internet conexion was showed on nm-applet.

The last thing that I have installed, was VirtualBox, following this tutorial http://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/VirtualBox. When another thing is that I launched wpa_gui, but no internet interface (wlan0 and eth0) was showed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
caaarlos
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 27 Apr 2012
Posts: 155

PostPosted: Thu Jun 13, 2013 5:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I intalled wicd, and its show me all wirelles network avaliable. But NetworkManager still not showing. What can it be?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
caaarlos
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 27 Apr 2012
Posts: 155

PostPosted: Mon Jun 17, 2013 8:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I fixed my problem...

first I tried
Code:
# NetworkManager --config=/root/test.txt


So I realized that nm-applet started to show me all wirelles network avaliable. But when I clicked to connect one plug erro appers.

then I tried
Code:
# echo " " > /etc/conf.d/net


And restart my pc, its works and I can connect to wirelles internet using nm-applet.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum