Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
mic DC offset compensation
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
MalleRIM
Guru
Guru


Joined: 23 Jul 2007
Posts: 535
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Thu Sep 19, 2013 1:35 pm    Post subject: mic DC offset compensation Reply with quote

Hi,

My laptop's built in mic has a bad DC offset, so bad that if I turn the volume up to one third, it will be completely out of range. If I keep the volume very low, I can use it, but it's quite annoying.
Is there any software way (pulseaudio, alsa) that can help resolve this problem, or at least make it better?

Cheers,
Malte
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Naib
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 21 May 2004
Posts: 4076
Location: Removed by Neddy

PostPosted: Fri Sep 20, 2013 12:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

DCoffset oO you sure that is the right term. mic's preamps come with an AC couple stage.
That said what snd card? is it one of those intel HD chipsets?
_________________
A free press is the unsleeping guardian of every other right that free men prize; it is the most dangerous foe of tyranny. Where men have the habit of liberty, the Press will continue to be the vigilant guardian of the rights of the ordinary citizen.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ant P.
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 18 Apr 2009
Posts: 2207
Location: UK

PostPosted: Fri Sep 20, 2013 3:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Pulseaudio can add a LADSPA DC offset filter, but that's software-only so it won't really solve your problem, only hide it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MalleRIM
Guru
Guru


Joined: 23 Jul 2007
Posts: 535
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sun Sep 22, 2013 3:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Naib: yes: 00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 7 Series/C210 Series Chipset Family High Definition Audio Controller (rev 04)
It actually seems to be a sound card problem because I have the same problem when I use an external microphone.

Ant P. Yes, I was looking for a software solution because I did not expect there to be any simple hardware solution. As long as it allows me to adjust the volume as usual, It doesn't really matter whether it solves the actual problem or not. How would I add the filter?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum