Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
eth0 and lo is there, but the script don't not work
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
nevinhappy
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Jun 2013
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Sun Jun 09, 2013 9:50 am    Post subject: eth0 and lo is there, but the script don't not work Reply with quote

Hi, this issue realy make me mad.

I recompiled kernel . and I confirmed that I added the network driver.
Code:

gentoo ~ # dmesg | grep eth
[    0.959085] e1000 0000:00:03.0: eth0: (PCI:33MHz:32-bit) 08:00:27:a5:c3:63
[    0.960286] e1000 0000:00:03.0: eth0: Intel(R) PRO/1000 Network Connection
[    5.193037] e1000: eth0 NIC Link is Up 1000 Mbps Full Duplex, Flow Control: RX
[   15.442141] eth0: no IPv6 routers present

But it's really weird, try to run /etc/init.d/net.eth0 restart ...
Code:
gentoo linux # /etc/init.d/net.eth0 restart
 * Bringing up interface eth0
 *   ERROR: interface eth0 does not exist
 *   Ensure that you have loaded the correct kernel module for your hardware
 * ERROR: net.eth0 failed to start

and when reboot ,then rc run these script ,it will show the same errors .
Does anyone can help ? I recompiled kernel again and again , tried to fix it, but failed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 6968
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Sun Jun 09, 2013 9:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
ifconfig -a
This will tell you interface name.
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nevinhappy
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Jun 2013
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Thu Jun 13, 2013 12:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
gentoo ~ # ifconfig -a
eth0: flags=4163<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,MULTICAST>  mtu 1500
        inet 10.67.3.201  netmask 255.0.0.0  broadcast 10.255.255.255
        inet6 fe80::a00:27ff:fea5:c363  prefixlen 64  scopeid 0x20<link>
        ether 08:00:27:a5:c3:63  txqueuelen 1000  (Ethernet)
        RX packets 742048  bytes 82296250 (78.4 MiB)
        RX errors 0  dropped 0  overruns 0  frame 0
        TX packets 52949  bytes 4823514 (4.6 MiB)
        TX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  carrier 0  collisions 0

lo: flags=73<UP,LOOPBACK,RUNNING>  mtu 16436
        inet 127.0.0.1  netmask 255.0.0.0
        inet6 ::1  prefixlen 128  scopeid 0x10<host>
        loop  txqueuelen 0  (Local Loopback)
        RX packets 31918  bytes 10545569 (10.0 MiB)
        RX errors 0  dropped 0  overruns 0  frame 0
        TX packets 31918  bytes 10545569 (10.0 MiB)
        TX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  carrier 0  collisions 0

sit0: flags=128<NOARP>  mtu 1480
        sit  txqueuelen 0  (IPv6-in-IPv4)
        RX packets 0  bytes 0 (0.0 B)
        RX errors 0  dropped 0  overruns 0  frame 0
        TX packets 0  bytes 0 (0.0 B)
        TX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  carrier 0  collisions 0

This is the output, Does it make any sense ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 6968
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Fri Jun 14, 2013 9:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmmm ... how did you run this command, from your Gentoo, not using some liveCD? It shows eth0 being used.
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nevinhappy
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Jun 2013
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Mon Jun 17, 2013 8:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jaglover wrote:
Hmmm ... how did you run this command, from your Gentoo, not using some liveCD? It shows eth0 being used.

Yes, I just run the commond form my Gentoo, not using LiveCD, Why shoud I use liveCD?
After comparing the output of "ifconfig", I found that the above output were differet from the normal , the device name ended with ":"
I don't know why!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BillWho
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Mar 2012
Posts: 1600
Location: US

PostPosted: Tue Jun 18, 2013 2:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

nevinhappy,

What does lspci -k|awk '/Ethernet/,/Kernel/' show :?:
_________________
Good luck :wink:

Since installing gentoo, my life has become one long emerge :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7550
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Tue Jun 18, 2013 5:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The colon : is just punctuation, it's not part of the interface name.
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum