Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
openbox error after fresh installation
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
qedqed
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 May 2013
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sun May 26, 2013 11:03 pm    Post subject: openbox error after fresh installation Reply with quote

This is my first time using openbox, so I expect some error.

After installing www-client/google-chrome, I tried to use it but instead I got an error :

"no protocol specified" and "Gtk-warning : cannot open display"

Anybody care to help me?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 4561
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Sun May 26, 2013 11:32 pm    Post subject: Re: openbox error after fresh installation Reply with quote

qedqed wrote:
This is my first time using openbox, so I expect some error.

After installing www-client/google-chrome, I tried to use it but instead I got an error :

"no protocol specified" and "Gtk-warning : cannot open display"

Anybody care to help me?


OK ... you failed to provide necessary information.

The first question - is Openbox running?
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
qedqed
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 May 2013
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sun May 26, 2013 11:34 pm    Post subject: Re: openbox error after fresh installation Reply with quote

Jaglover wrote:
qedqed wrote:
This is my first time using openbox, so I expect some error.

After installing www-client/google-chrome, I tried to use it but instead I got an error :

"no protocol specified" and "Gtk-warning : cannot open display"

Anybody care to help me?


OK ... you failed to provide necessary information.

The first question - is Openbox running?


I think it's running, when I type
Code:
startx
the screen goes blank but I can do right-click and then open xterm, just like the "how to" says.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 4561
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Sun May 26, 2013 11:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

How exactly are you starting Openbox? From ~/.xinitrc?
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
qedqed
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 May 2013
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sun May 26, 2013 11:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jaglover wrote:
How exactly are you starting Openbox? From ~/.xinitrc?


Yes, because I added this line
Code:
exec openbox-session


to .xinitrc and then i just type startx
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 4561
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Sun May 26, 2013 11:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Alright, so the next thing you do is you open the terminal and type chrome? And you get the the error you mentioned? Please post your emerge --info.
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
imaginasys
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 26 Dec 2009
Posts: 83
Location: Québec

PostPosted: Sun May 26, 2013 11:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It looks like you started twm ?? try to start OpenBox with a .xinitrc script with the following
Quote:
exec ck-launch-session dbus-launch --sh-syntax --exit-with-session openbox-session


You need to add some utilities to make your openbox a decent desktop :


obmenu -for configuring the menu
obconf -for configuring openbox
wbar -a dock for your apps
feh -for the background

there some config files that are in $HOME/.config/openbox : autostart and rc.xml (the menu)

read this good guides about openbox : http://urukrama.wordpress.com/openbox-guide/ https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Openbox

and good luck!

BT :mrgreen:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 4561
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Sun May 26, 2013 11:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

While there is nothing wrong with above recommendations, any X app should run when X is running. Even regardless if there is a WM or DE running.
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Doctor
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 27 Jul 2010
Posts: 1266

PostPosted: Mon May 27, 2013 12:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The OP has openbox working. What he has in his xinitrc is just fine. The problem seems chrome. There is nothing wrong with the above recommendations. They just will not solve this problem as Jaglover pointed out.

Personally, I found tint2 to be a good dock. There are options.

OP: seeing the output from chrome in its original form might be helpful. You should emerge wgetpaste. From your xterm, type google-chrome 2>&1 | wgetpaste> or whatever the command line is and post the url returned here. The line 2>&1 redirects the error output to standard out. Since we want to see everything, you should use this. You can use the same method to post the output of emerge --info, although in that case you can use emerge --info | wgetpaste
_________________
First things first, but not necessarily in that order.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
qedqed
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 May 2013
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Mon May 27, 2013 12:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here is the emerge --info

http://bpaste.net/show/102148/

here is the google-chrome 2>&1 | wgetpaste

http://bpaste.net/show/102147/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 4561
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Mon May 27, 2013 12:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Are you running X as root?!? :evil:

You just asked for support and made several members of this board to work for you while you neglected to follow the rule #1 of Unix - never run anything as root unless absolutely necessary?
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum