How to control fan control temperature
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
irenicus09
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper

PostPosted: Fri Jun 07, 2013 9:09 pm    Post subject: How to control fan control temperature Reply with quote

Hello I'm kinda new to Gentoo, can someone help me with what tools are out there to control the fan & keep the temp of my laptop at a minimum?

Thanks.
mike155
Advocate
Advocate

PostPosted: Sat Jun 08, 2013 11:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Are you new to Gentoo or to Linux in general? Which Linux distribution do you know and which tools did you use? Most probably, you can use the same tools on your Gentoo system.

To keep laptop temperatures at a minimum, a whole bunch of steps is required:
1) Proper BIOS settings
2) set CPU frequency governor to "on demand" with cpufrequtils
3) enable power management of devices with powertop
4) Configure your desktop environment

On many systems, fan control is set up by BIOS. On some systems, you can control fan with lm_sensors. But this can be dangerous...
irenicus09
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper

PostPosted: Sat Jun 08, 2013 1:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for your reply...I've been using linux for a few years now. Currently I'm using Sabayon Linux (Gentoo based) & they have 2 package managers one of which is portage (Gentoo's package manager).

I'm aware of powertop but I prefer to use laptop-mode-tools for keeping power usage at a minimum. I'll look into cpufrequtils, thanks for that.

As for DE I'm on Gnome3...was a big fan of Openbox still am, but had to switch for convenience....but I think the main reason for overheating has something to do with my internal Radeon card...I've not been able to properly set it up & I think it keeps on running. It's a hybrid ATI 8750 model, here's the details:

Code: