Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Fresh Install Gnome 3 Installation
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
risq
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Dec 2004
Posts: 68

PostPosted: Fri May 24, 2013 10:18 pm    Post subject: Fresh Install Gnome 3 Installation Reply with quote

Hej,

i wonder if there is any quick and NOT dirty way to make a fresh install with gnome 3.6 or 3.8.

I installed gnome3.x on some already running gentoo systems quite a few times, always had some trouble with a lot of blocking packages (libsoup!) and it always took a lot of time to mask/unmask all that stuff, even with using autounmask. I hope there is some pretty straight way nowadays, but i havent found one documented in here.

THx in advance, would really appreciate help

risq
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 33044
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Fri May 24, 2013 11:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

risq,

Its quick and not dirty at all. Run an all testing install. Set your ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="~amd64" or whatever your arch is.

Be warned that you will get a nasty surprise from time to time, since change in testing is expected. However, it can be managed.
Do not update just before you must use your system
Update frequently (between weekly and monthly)
Set FEATURES="buildpkg" so you collect all the binary packages you build.
File bugs when you find them, with patches if you can

The last step allows you to use emerge -K to revert a package that installs but doesn't work.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
666threesixes666
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 31 May 2011
Posts: 1248
Location: 42.68n 85.41w

PostPosted: Fri May 24, 2013 11:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

im cooking up a cinnamon wiki as we speak.... so far only slight problems that ill hammer out and polish on the other computer. libsoup blocking totally mitigated.... i dreaded dealing with it, but in the end it was painless. (i have had lib soup totally knock out my internet before)


as root

Code:

echo "net-libs/libsoup" >> /etc/portage/package.accept_keywords
echo "net-libs/libsoup-gnome" >> /etc/portage/package.accept_keywords
emerge -C net-libs/libsoup-gnome
emerge -av libsoup


dealt with libsoup good for me.

unfortunately cinnamon is giving me "oh noes" messages, and gnome3 isnt displaying the tool bar.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
steak-sandwich
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Aug 2012
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Sat May 25, 2013 12:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Does anyone know when Gnome 3 is (finally) becoming "stable" in Gentoo? It has been released more than a year ago. Other Linux distros already use at least version 3.6 but in Gentoo version 3.2 is not even marked stable.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
risq
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Dec 2004
Posts: 68

PostPosted: Sun May 26, 2013 11:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
risq,

Its quick and not dirty at all. Run an all testing install. Set your ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="~amd64" or whatever your arch is.

Be warned that you will get a nasty surprise from time to time, since change in testing is expected..


thx for the advice, but running ~amd64 on the whole system is never a good a idea in my experience. i used this setup from time to time, it definitely helps u with learning something about the system, but this is my main laptop for working stuff and i can afford this as a testing device.

anyway, i tested this recommended ~amd64 setup to get gnome 3.6.2 which i really like and like to have as my main WM. It works without putting much effort, although i need to resolve some blocks with gnome packages as well.

But there must be some "none-testing" way, to have a standard amd64 enviroment with gnome 3.6.2. without getting in too much blocking/dependency problems...at least i hop e so.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 33044
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun May 26, 2013 11:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

risq,

Yes and no ...
There is a ready made package.keyword file for Gnome 3.x and in theory thats all you need. However, running a mix of arch and ~arch exposes you to all sorts of slot conflicts.
This happens because a stable package my not have any testing dependencies. So if Gnome depends on a testing lib of some sort and other stable packages you have depend on the same stable lib, you are left with the choice of leaving out that Gnome package or moving the packages that need the stable lib to testing.

Its easier in the long term to use ~arch, manage your updates and keep /usr/portage/packages, so you can downgrade quickly.
That does not cover absolutely everything.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum