Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Some Windows Garbled [SOLVED]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
hika
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 13 Mar 2009
Posts: 229
Location: Utrecht

PostPosted: Sat May 11, 2013 8:21 pm    Post subject: Some Windows Garbled [SOLVED] Reply with quote

I have of a sudden a weird thing happening. Some windows (WPA Supplicant, VirtualBox, but not the machines) startup black or with a garbled background in it. Other windows are OK. The garbling includes also menus from those applications, but not the windowborder..
It started when I was experimenting with Tux on Ice, where I had trouble with VBEtool. So I guess it has somehow to do with some videobios setting. Starting with another, older kernel without Tux on Ice the problem persists.

My machine is a recent Asus laptop with Intel integrated graphics. I know to little about graphics. Can anybody point me into a direction where to look? For instance, have the two programs something in common the way they handle graphics?

Hika


Last edited by hika on Mon May 13, 2013 2:07 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
i92guboj
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 30 Nov 2004
Posts: 10209
Location: Córdoba (Spain)

PostPosted: Sun May 12, 2013 10:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, I am not sure what your problem could be, but I'd start checking a few things.

First, /var/log/Xorg.0.log. There might be some warning or error in there that can give you some hint.

Secondly, check the output of xdpyinfo and glxinfo. Check also dmesg to make sure your graphics driver is not segfaulting or doing odd things.

Last, but not least, if you are running a WM or Desktop that's capable of doing compositing (effects) try to disable that, or better, try a simpler non-compositing WM, like fluxbox, and see if you can reproduce the error there.
_________________
Gentoo Handbook | My website
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hika
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 13 Mar 2009
Posts: 229
Location: Utrecht

PostPosted: Sun May 12, 2013 2:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I checked the logs and looked in the dependencies for common things and found only qt4 and openssl, so reinstalled qt4.
Nothing.
I now have parked the installation on my server and have started over. I needed to do some reconfiguring on the disk anyway. If I find anything I post it here.

Maybe later I check into those other things you suggested. I hate mysteries (unless on tv or in a book) .
By the way I use gnome and it was al fresh installed.

Hika
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hika
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 13 Mar 2009
Posts: 229
Location: Utrecht

PostPosted: Mon May 13, 2013 2:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I found the cause: At some time I had set qtgraphicssystem to opengl instead of raster.
And that is obviously not working

Hika
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum