Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[Solved] Radeon X700 KMS Not Working
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
dennisn
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 01 Aug 2004
Posts: 103
Location: Montreal, Canada

PostPosted: Mon Apr 29, 2013 9:50 pm    Post subject: [Solved] Radeon X700 KMS Not Working Reply with quote

I still don't have KMS working on boot, with my "older" ATI Radeon Mobility X700 (rv410) video card. I am still forced to disable modesetting (radeon.modeset=0, with the 3.9.0 kernel), and then reload the module with modesetting=1 afterwards in order to use the newer xorg's.

With modesetting enabled (the default), my system will always hang, and the last thing shown on screen is something from udev waiting to populate /dev. Keyboard input is ignored and I'm forced to 4-second-power-button-off.

Also, if I keep modesetting disabled, and not even run X -- just remain in text mode -- I can't resume properly after suspending my laptop. Upon powering back up, the screen is either black or garbled with vertical lines. Keyboard works, and I can reboot, but the video isn't working.

Sigh.


Last edited by dennisn on Fri May 03, 2013 2:26 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ant P.
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 18 Apr 2009
Posts: 2204
Location: UK

PostPosted: Tue Apr 30, 2013 12:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Post the output of:
Code:
ls -l /lib/firmware/radeon
emerge -s radeon-ucode
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chithanh
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Aug 2006
Posts: 1562
Location: Berlin, Germany

PostPosted: Tue Apr 30, 2013 9:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

rv410 does not need external firmware.

Is DRM_RADEON in your kernel config set to "m" or to "y"?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dennisn
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 01 Aug 2004
Posts: 103
Location: Montreal, Canada

PostPosted: Tue Apr 30, 2013 12:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
CONFIG_DRM_RADEON=m
CONFIG_DRM_RADEON_UMS=y
# CONFIG_FB_RADEON is not set


I have to set it to =m now, and enable the new DRM_RADEON_UMS option, in order to unload/reload the module with modesetting after booting. (It can't boot with modesetting enabled. And I need modesetting for xorg.)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chithanh
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Aug 2006
Posts: 1562
Location: Berlin, Germany

PostPosted: Tue Apr 30, 2013 5:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If DRM_RADEON=m then KMS enabled does not matter for boot. KMS will only be activated when udev loads the radeon kernel module. So blacklist it in /etc/modprobe.d to achieve the same effect.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dennisn
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 01 Aug 2004
Posts: 103
Location: Montreal, Canada

PostPosted: Tue Apr 30, 2013 9:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ah yea. With DRM_RADEON=y (builtin) it fails to boot (to reach the init stage). The last message printed on screen is: "radeon 0000:01:00.0: radeon: using MSI.", or "[drm] Driver supports precise vblank timestamp query." if I set radeon.msi=0. I think the next printed message /should/ be "[drm] radeon: irq initialized."?

But modesetting *does* work, if I load the module later on! After init'ing, when I "modprobe radeon modeset=1", dmesg says:

Code:
Console: switching to colour frame buffer device 160x50
radeon 0000:01:00.0: fb0: radeondrmfb frame buffer device
radeon 0000:01:00.0: registered panic notifier
[drm] Initialized radeon 2.30.0 20080528 for 0000:01:00.0 on minor 0


Maybe the order that the kernel loads things (radeon before fbcon?) is an issue? :s
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
VoidMage
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 14 Oct 2006
Posts: 5268

PostPosted: Tue Apr 30, 2013 9:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I found it convenient to simply have CONFIG_FRAMEBUFFER_CONSOLE=y.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dennisn
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 01 Aug 2004
Posts: 103
Location: Montreal, Canada

PostPosted: Tue Apr 30, 2013 9:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have that too. (Neither way makes much of a difference for me though.)

Did you have similar problems?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kernelOfTruth
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 20 Dec 2005
Posts: 5610
Location: Vienna, Austria; Germany; hello world :)

PostPosted: Wed May 01, 2013 2:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

*subscribed*

I might need this info for an older laptop later

thanks
_________________
Unofficial minimal livecd x86/amd64 w/reiser4+truecrypt (by Neo2)
2.6.37.2_plus_v1: BFS, CFS,THP,compaction, zcache or TOI
Hardcore Linux user since 2004 :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
VoidMage
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 14 Oct 2006
Posts: 5268

PostPosted: Wed May 01, 2013 6:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

dennisn wrote:
I have that too. (Neither way makes much of a difference for me though.)

Did you have similar problems?


No and my card is significantly older than yours.
Pastebin your kernel config and post kernel boot line.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dennisn
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 01 Aug 2004
Posts: 103
Location: Montreal, Canada

PostPosted: Fri May 03, 2013 2:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I got booting with KMS working by undoing kernel patch:
Code:
2099810f903caa1920f3ef6014fb7f36e4786490
drm/radeon: enable pci bus mastering after card is initialised (v2)

https://git.kernel.org/cgit/linux/kernel/git/stable/linux-stable.git/commit/?id=2099810f903caa1920f3ef6014fb7f36e4786490

I got resuming-from-suspend to work by installing app-laptop/radeontool and executing the following after resuming from a suspend:
Code:
 radeontool light off
  radeonreg regset 0x00000284 0x1bd34208
  radeonreg regset 0x000002d0 0x003c00a1
  radeonreg regset CL:03 0x001c0007
  radeonreg regset CL:04 0x0002004a
  radeonreg regset CL:05 0x0002004a
  radeonreg regset CL:06 0x0002004a
  radeontool light on


(You can find what those values probably should be while it's working with "radeonreg regmatch CL:03" etc.)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum