Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
problem with iface eth0 down
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
slashlinux
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Nov 2011
Posts: 62
Location: dan

PostPosted: Tue Apr 02, 2013 7:03 pm    Post subject: problem with iface eth0 down Reply with quote

Hello people.

I have one problem with installing gentoo on vmware player or vmware workstation 9.0.
I just finish to install my gentoo server, my kernel gentoo is compiled with genkernel wich is included and installed all modules on kernel...but my eth0 interface is not showing up..i have only this :


lo iface...etc etc etc..

What can i do, i put you a print screen from my lspci command..

Controller ethernet on vmware "Ethernet controller : Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] 79c970 [PCnet32 Lance] (rev 10)"


[IMG]http://imageshack.us/a/img689/6771/vmnet.png[/IMG]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 6250
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Tue Apr 02, 2013 7:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
modprobe pcnet32


If genkernel did not include pcnet32:
Code:
genkernel --menuconfig all
edit menuconfig toinclude
Quote:
Device Drivers --->
[*] Network device support --->
[*] Ethernet driver support --->
[*] AMD devices
< > AMD 8111 (new PCI LANCE) support
<M> AMD PCnet32 PCI support

_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
slashlinux
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Nov 2011
Posts: 62
Location: dan

PostPosted: Tue Apr 02, 2013 10:54 pm    Post subject: re: Reply with quote

Hello,


Is modulated that AMD pcnet 32 but still is not working...
My eth0 is not apear...

[IMG=http://img163.imageshack.us/img163/3598/amdpcnet32.png][/IMG]

Uploaded with ImageShack.us
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 6250
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Tue Apr 02, 2013 11:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
ifconfig -a
does eth0 appear?
Code:
ifconfig
does eth0 appear?
Code:
ls -l /etc/init.d/net*
does /etc/init.d/net.eth0 -> net.lo appear? does /etc/init.d/net.lo appear?
Code:
rc-update show | grep -i net
do net.lo | boot and net.eth0 | default appear?
Code:
/etc/init.d/net.eth0 restart
any action?
Code:
lsmod | grep-i pcnet32
what appears?
in vmware with cd booted what does lspci -k report for module and driver in use for the nic?
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
slashlinux
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Nov 2011
Posts: 62
Location: dan

PostPosted: Wed Apr 03, 2013 8:40 pm    Post subject: re: Reply with quote

Look what i have.. Instead of interface Eth0 i have interface enp2s1 and i have the folowing output in my screenshoot.

[IMG]http://img708.imageshack.us/img708/8805/enp2s1interfata.png[/IMG]

Uploaded with ImageShack.us


It says it is renamed by udevd...what is this?
How can i fix that?

Thank you
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 6250
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Wed Apr 03, 2013 9:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

don't fix it
just use it
Code:
cd /etc/init.d
rm net.eth0
ln -s net.lo net.enp2s1
rc-update del net.eth0
rc-update add net.enp2s1

edit /etc/conf.d/net to replace eth0 with enp2s1 anywhere it might appear.

when portage tells you there are news items you should read them.
Code:
eselect news read all
to catch up
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hu
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Mar 2007
Posts: 8592

PostPosted: Wed Apr 03, 2013 10:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

As described in the news, you can fix this and use the traditional naming by creating an empty /etc/udev/rules.d/80-net-name-slot.rules.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ssuominen
Developer
Developer


Joined: 30 Sep 2005
Posts: 2000
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Wed Apr 03, 2013 10:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

DONAHUE is right, it's a feature:

http://www.freedesktop.org/wiki/Software/systemd/PredictableNetworkInterfaceNames

You can turn the feature off like Hu pointed out, but we'd be talking about "Turning off a feature and possibly introducing random kernel assigned names" instead of "Fixing a problem"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
solamour
Guru
Guru


Joined: 21 Dec 2004
Posts: 484
Location: San Diego, CA

PostPosted: Thu Apr 04, 2013 12:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

"eth0" is the name I've been using for as long as I can remember. I'm sure the new scheme was added for very valid reasons and I usually prefer new things (Python 3.x instead of Python 2.x, for example), but I think it might take a while for me to adapt to the new way of naming network interfaces. I believe Gentoo Handbook (http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/handbook/handbook-amd64.xml?part=1&chap=8) still uses "eth0".

Of course, I don't have to use the new names if I don't want to. I'm torn in-between.
__
sol
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hu
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Mar 2007
Posts: 8592

PostPosted: Thu Apr 04, 2013 1:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ssuominen: it was my understanding that we would be reintroducing the randomly assigned kernel names that people have always had.

OP: If you do not have at least two cards which register under the same namespace prefix (eth, wlan, etc.), then the traditional non-predictable names are fine. Predictable names only help you if you have multiple cards which all register with the same prefix, in which case some kernel drivers may, under some circumstances, not number them the same on every startup. I have yet to figure out why the feature defaults to enabled when most users lack the hardware complexity to benefit from it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
EvadingGrid
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Apr 2013
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sun Apr 07, 2013 10:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This really is a problem with the upstream
The consequences are horrendous.

For example, if a newbie follows the Gentoo Handbook the result will be a computer with NO Internet
They are not going to be able to Google the answer, because they have NO Internet

Now I know some people will be aware of the changes to udev, and will know to do a quick
ifconfig -a

Its just not fair to expect newbies to be psychic.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Killerchronic
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 24 Apr 2007
Posts: 80
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun May 05, 2013 6:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just spent well over an hour sorting this, not sure yet when it came in but this caused numerous problems on a vmware install i had started some weeks back and never finished. Because i had no net i was not trying to emerge anything and wasn't seeing anything in regards to news, this also hasn't become an issue on my server or laptop and i do often go through a month or 2 without reading the news of updates unless something breaks. Last part is my own fault in a way but rather large change considering i can imagine most don't have more than 1 nic and never experience the issue or eth0 moving to eth1 on reboot. Infact even on a system where i have 2 nic's its never happened.

Least the fix was simple enough:

Code:
You disable the assignment of fixed names, so that the unpredictable kernel names are used again. For this, simply mask udev's rule file for the default policy: ln -s /dev/null /etc/udev/rules.d/80-net-name-slot.rules


Must remember to do this on my headless server before it next reboots.

Regarding the ifconfig -a part, i've never used that switch before either, i will check if an interface is there with ifconfig, if not i start looking for module issues etc.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum