View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
firetwister
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Mon Mar 18, 2013 6:46 am    Post subject: gcc-4.8.0-rc1 lto experience Reply with quote

Call me a ricer, but I did give gcc-4.8.0-rc1 a try 8) .
I had enabled lto with gcc-4.7 and I wanted to see how lto develops. I'm pleased to say that things got a lot better and I would consider it no more insane than -O3. The reason is mainly that -O3 causes runtime breakage whereas lto usually fails at build time. I'm doing that on my testing system, so unfortunatelly it won't get as much of everyday testing.
My main interest in lto is in space savings, because I'm an embedded developer and if you have to make an update over gprs you're thankful for every byte saved.

With gcc-4.7 my list of software NOT build with lto is:
x11-drivers/xf86-video-intel dev-util/kdevelop dev-db/mysql kde-base/akregator kde-base/okteta app-admin/sudo media-sound/pulseaudio media-libs/opencv app-text/libwps media-libs/libvisio media-sound/alsa-tools dev-lang/ocaml dev-libs/libf2c media-gfx/digikam media-gfx/hugin dev-lang/spidermonkey sci-libs/shapelib sys-apps/sysvinit dev-lang/perl sys-libs/gpm dev-libs/elfutils dev-lang/python sys-fs/e2fsprogs sys-apps/hdparm sys-apps/pciutils dev-vcs/cvs dev-qt/qtscript dev-qt/qtopengl media-libs/alsa-lib dev-util/dialog dev-util/valgrind app-cdr/cdrtools x11-libs/wxGTK dev-qt/qtwebkit dev-qt/qtdeclarative x11-base/xorg-server dev-tex/luatex app-misc/strigi kde-base/kdelibs kde-base/okular sys-devel/llvm dev-libs/glib sys-auth/polkit net-analyzer/nmap media-video/ffmpeg media-video/mplayer app-office/akonadi-server media-libs/mesa sys-fs/ddrescue

And now I tried the same list with gcc-4.8 and the ones failing to build were: