Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Is it really that wise to update dependencies?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo Chat
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Cyberstudio
Apprentice
Apprentice

PostPosted: Thu Jul 11, 2013 2:21 pm    Post subject: Is it really that wise to update dependencies? Reply with quote

Hi!

Im returning to gentoo after a few years out of the linux world (i quitted when gnome killed its version 2). Im wondering... when you're updating your system, is that wise to ALSO update dependencies?

Im a windows dev. Lets say that we have an app named myApp.exe which depends on myDependency.dll. If i update myDependency.dll from version 1 to version 2, that update may break myApp.exe, because maybe the internal api of myDependency has changed.

What i say is, the installer of myApp.exe should be the one in charge of updating myDependency.dll, not me, because if i update the .dll by myself i may break the app.

So, if myApp was a linux app, i think that i should *ONLY* update myApp, and portage in turn should decide IF it needs to update its dependencies too.

Im right? Im looking at this from a Windows point of view. Maybe in linux it doesn't work like that. Can someone please help me to understand this?

Thanks! and sorry for my bad english
dmpogo
Advocate
Advocate

PostPosted: Thu Jul 11, 2013 2:26 pm    Post subject: Re: Is it really that wise to update dependencies? Reply with quote

Cyberstudio wrote:
Hi!

Im returning to gentoo after a few years out of the linux world (i quitted when gnome killed its version 2). Im wondering... when you're updating your system, is that wise to ALSO update dependencies?

Im a windows dev. Lets say that we have an app named myApp.exe which depends on myDependency.dll. If i update myDependency.dll from version 1 to version 2, that update may break myApp.exe, because maybe the internal api of myDependency has changed.