Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Any way to install GNOME 3.6?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
treeman1111
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Mar 2013
Posts: 69

PostPosted: Sat Mar 09, 2013 9:45 pm    Post subject: Any way to install GNOME 3.6? Reply with quote

I was wondering if there was a way to install GNOME 3.6 without having first installed GNOME 2.

Best,
treeman1111
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 31342
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Mar 09, 2013 9:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

treeman1111,

Gnome 3.6.2 is in testing Gentoo. If you keyword it and the things it depends on, it will install.
As Gnome is big and has lots of dependencies, you might consider a whole testing Gentoo install.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
treeman1111
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Mar 2013
Posts: 69

PostPosted: Sat Mar 09, 2013 10:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Alright, what exactly would I add to keywords?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 31342
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Mar 09, 2013 10:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

treeman1111,

Put
Code:
gnome-base/gnome
into /etc/portage/package.keywords, so you get gnome-3.6.2.

When you emerge gnome, portage will create a /etc/portage/package.keywords for you that you need to merge with etc-update.

Read about the --autounmask option in
Code:
man emerge

_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
treeman1111
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Mar 2013
Posts: 69

PostPosted: Sat Mar 09, 2013 11:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Awesome. This will install all of the gnome dependencies as well, yes?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 31342
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun Mar 10, 2013 4:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

treeman1111,

Yes - when your run
Code:
emerge gnome
the first time, it will fail with a list of change you need to make to package.keywords.
Once you make the changes it should run.

I can't test here easily as all my systems are pure testing. (~arch)
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
treeman1111
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Mar 2013
Posts: 69

PostPosted: Sun Mar 10, 2013 7:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

EDIT: Can I just add PACKAGE_ACCEPT="~amd64" to my /etc/portage/make.conf to get the GNOME 3.6 DE?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum