Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Problem with ATI and X
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Silmano
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Mar 2012
Posts: 38

PostPosted: Fri Mar 08, 2013 7:52 pm    Post subject: Problem with ATI and X Reply with quote

Hi,

I'm trying to install X on a AMD E2-1800 with a Radeon HD7340, but I don't know where its failing. I'm using fglrx drivers and using ATI generated configuration or with no configuration at all, I end in the same error: http://pastebin.com/2JFyJbhf

This is my actual xorg.conf file: http://pastebin.com/0pdeuXK1

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 4560
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Fri Mar 08, 2013 10:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
Section "Device"
        Identifier  "ATI"
        Driver      "fglrx"
EndSection

Try with this and only this in your conf.
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Silmano
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Mar 2012
Posts: 38

PostPosted: Fri Mar 08, 2013 10:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think it gives the same error. Output of running startx: http://pastebin.com/ykrsCKEk

Code:
xbmc@ZOTAC ~ $ cat /etc/X11/xorg.conf
Section "Device"
        Identifier  "ATI"
        Driver      "fglrx"
EndSection
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 4560
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Fri Mar 08, 2013 11:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Your pastebin link is not valid.
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Silmano
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Mar 2012
Posts: 38

PostPosted: Fri Mar 08, 2013 11:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Weird... Here's another paste: http://pastebin.com/sxum442X

I think the issue might be with the HDMI output. It seems despite the DVI is HD7340, the HDMI is HD6250/6310 and its using the snd_hda_intel driver.
Code:
00:01.0 VGA compatible controller: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI Wrestler [Radeon HD 7340] (prog-if 00 [VGA controller])
        Subsystem: ZOTAC International (MCO) Ltd. Device a261
        Flags: bus master, fast devsel, latency 0, IRQ 18
        Memory at c0000000 (32-bit, prefetchable) [size=256M]
        I/O ports at f000 [size=256]
        Memory at feb00000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=256K]
        Expansion ROM at <unassigned> [disabled]
        Capabilities: [50] Power Management version 3
        Capabilities: [58] Express Root Complex Integrated Endpoint, MSI 00
        Capabilities: [a0] MSI: Enable- Count=1/1 Maskable- 64bit+
        Capabilities: [100] Vendor Specific Information: ID=0001 Rev=1 Len=010 <?>
        Kernel driver in use: fglrx_pci

00:01.1 Audio device: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI Wrestler HDMI Audio [Radeon HD 6250/6310]
        Subsystem: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI Wrestler HDMI Audio [Radeon HD 6250/6310]
        Flags: bus master, fast devsel, latency 0, IRQ 48
        Memory at feb44000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=16K]
        Capabilities: [50] Power Management version 3
        Capabilities: [58] Express Root Complex Integrated Endpoint, MSI 00
        Capabilities: [a0] MSI: Enable+ Count=1/1 Maskable- 64bit+
        Capabilities: [100] Vendor Specific Information: ID=0001 Rev=1 Len=010 <?>
        Kernel driver in use: snd_hda_intel
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 4560
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Sat Mar 09, 2013 12:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have no recent ATI experience, what seems weird is there are two PCI ID's for your card, does it have two outputs?
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DaggyStyle
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 22 Mar 2006
Posts: 4883

PostPosted: Sat Mar 09, 2013 6:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

it seems that you might have a mutex-less system, please search the forum for how to configure mutex less systems, look for answers by NeddySeagoon.
_________________
Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity and I'm not sure about the former - Albert Einstein
ProjectFootball
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum