Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
all interfaces up and yet cant connect to internet?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
JmpEax
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Oct 2012
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Sun Mar 03, 2013 1:59 am    Post subject: all interfaces up and yet cant connect to internet? Reply with quote

Been trying to figure this out for hours now.


My necesarry drivers/modules are loaded.

Wlan0 is loaded.

Yet when I iwconfig and net-setup or even wpa_supllicant my gentoo still does not want to reach/ping any hosts.

also if i ping my router it says destination host unreachable
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BillWho
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Mar 2012
Posts: 1600
Location: US

PostPosted: Sun Mar 03, 2013 2:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

JmpEax,

Does dmesg show any helpful info :?:
_________________
Good luck :wink:

Since installing gentoo, my life has become one long emerge :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JmpEax
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Oct 2012
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Sun Mar 03, 2013 3:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

also weird enough...if i boot from live cd i can connect but once i chroot it does not want to connect unless i net-setup again.

and dmesg output that stood out to me(wont let me wgetpaste)
Code:
r8169 000:07:000:0 eth0: link down


let me get on live cd and post my wgets from that.

dmesg from chroot
http://bpaste.net/show/81036/

wgetpaste of resolv.conf
http://bpaste.net/show/81037/

wgetpaste of /etc/conf.d/net
http://bpaste.net/show/81038/

wpa_supllicant
http://bpaste.net/show/81038/


Last edited by JmpEax on Sun Mar 03, 2013 3:42 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BillWho
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Mar 2012
Posts: 1600
Location: US

PostPosted: Sun Mar 03, 2013 3:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

JmpEax,

Are you mounting /proc /sys and /dev like:
mount -t proc none /media/gentoo/proc
mount --rbind /sys /media/gentoo/sys
mount --rbind /dev /media/gentoo/dev

It's been a while, but I think you have to copy resolv.conf to the chroot too.
_________________
Good luck :wink:

Since installing gentoo, my life has become one long emerge :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JmpEax
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Oct 2012
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Sun Mar 03, 2013 4:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

BillWho wrote:
JmpEax,

Are you mounting /proc /sys and /dev like:
mount -t proc none /media/gentoo/proc
mount --rbind /sys /media/gentoo/sys
mount --rbind /dev /media/gentoo/dev


It's been a while, but I think you have to copy resolv.conf to the chroot too.


well i had already done that. btw im trying to get network to work post installation. like its all installed already.

also the re adding resolv.conf did not fix it.
if it helps, net-setup also always clears my iwconfig
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BillWho
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Mar 2012
Posts: 1600
Location: US

PostPosted: Sun Mar 03, 2013 6:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

JmpEax wrote:
wgetpaste of /etc/conf.d/net
http://bpaste.net/show/81038/

wpa_supllicant
http://bpaste.net/show/81038/

Both are showing /etc/conf.d/net

Try booting to the new installation and redirect or tee dmesg, ifconfig, iwconfig to files that you can later access them from the chroot to paste back.

Also lspci -k and lsusb -v if the wireless adapter is of that type.
_________________
Good luck :wink:

Since installing gentoo, my life has become one long emerge :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JmpEax
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Oct 2012
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Sun Mar 03, 2013 6:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

BillWho wrote:
JmpEax wrote:
wgetpaste of /etc/conf.d/net
http://bpaste.net/show/81037/

wpa_supllicant
http://bpaste.net/show/81038/

Both are showing /etc/conf.d/net

Try booting to the new installation and redirect or tee dmesg, ifconfig, iwconfig to files that you can later access them from the chroot to paste back.

Also lspci -k and lsusb -v if the wireless adapter is of that type.

my bad the first link is fixed
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JmpEax
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Oct 2012
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Sun Mar 03, 2013 10:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

alright here are the files you requested

dmesg
http://bpaste.net/show/81220/

ifconfig
http://bpaste.net/show/81221

iwconfig
http://bpaste.net/show/81222

lspci -k
http://bpaste.net/show/81223

whenever i use iwconfig wlan0 key (my key) and then use net-setup...it always clears my iwconfig.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BillWho
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Mar 2012
Posts: 1600
Location: US

PostPosted: Mon Mar 04, 2013 12:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

JmpEax,

ifconfig shows no ip address and dmesg shows wlan0: deauthenticating

Try something like this in /etc/conf.d/net
Code:
modules="wpa_supplicant"
wpa_supplicant_wlan0="-Dnl80211 -c/etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf"
wpa_timeout_wlan0=60
config_wlan0="192.168.1.105/24 brd 192.168.1.255"
routes_wlan0="default via 192.168.1.1"
dns_servers_wlan0="8.8.8.8"

You shoud use you service provider's dns servers.

In /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf
Code:
ctrl_interface=/var/run/wpa_supplicant
ctrl_interface_group=wheel
update_config=1

network={
   ssid="myrouter"
   psk="secret"
   proto=WPA2
   key_mgmt=WPA-PSK
   pairwise=CCMP TKIP
   group=CCMP TKIP
   id_str="gentoo-laptop"
}

Check that CONFIG_MAC80211 and CONFIG_CFG80211 are enabled.

The rest is matching the router to the protocol etc.
_________________
Good luck :wink:

Since installing gentoo, my life has become one long emerge :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JmpEax
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Oct 2012
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Tue Mar 05, 2013 12:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

BillWho wrote:
JmpEax,

ifconfig shows no ip address and dmesg shows wlan0: deauthenticating

Try something like this in /etc/conf.d/net
Code:
modules="wpa_supplicant"
wpa_supplicant_wlan0="-Dnl80211 -c/etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf"
wpa_timeout_wlan0=60
config_wlan0="192.168.1.105/24 brd 192.168.1.255"
routes_wlan0="default via 192.168.1.1"
dns_servers_wlan0="8.8.8.8"

You shoud use you service provider's dns servers.

In /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf
Code:
ctrl_interface=/var/run/wpa_supplicant
ctrl_interface_group=wheel
update_config=1

network={
   ssid="myrouter"
   psk="secret"
   proto=WPA2
   key_mgmt=WPA-PSK
   pairwise=CCMP TKIP
   group=CCMP TKIP
   id_str="gentoo-laptop"
}

Check that CONFIG_MAC80211 and CONFIG_CFG80211 are enabled.

The rest is matching the router to the protocol etc.


Also as a note; the network I am currently on is actually a WEP network with a ascii hex password. I used wpa_config to set it up before so it shouldn't be any different right?

Alright after changing some settings, if i still run ifconfig no ip shows up.


My WPA Supplicant due to my network being WEP
Code:

ctrl_interface=/var/run/wpa_supplicant
ctrl_interface_group=wheel
update_config=1

network={
        # ssid is necessary for psk
        ssid="Your-AP-SSID"
   # You need double quotes
        psk="your-password"
        key_mgmt=WPA-PSK
        priority=5
}


Got the internet to work via net-setup. Instead of using WPA-Supplicant I changed my config file. I'll upload via other computer in sec.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BillWho
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Mar 2012
Posts: 1600
Location: US

PostPosted: Tue Mar 05, 2013 2:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

JmpEax,

Try the simplest configuration:
Code:
ctrl_interface=/var/run/wpa_supplicant
ctrl_interface_group=0
ap_scan=1

network={
  ssid="Your-AP-SSID"
  psk="your-password"
  key_mgmt=NONE
}


You can also try to start it from the cl with debugging messages:
Code:
wpa_supplicant -iwlan0 -Dnl80211 -d -c/etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf

-dd will increase the debugging verbosity. That might help with determining the problem.
_________________
Good luck :wink:

Since installing gentoo, my life has become one long emerge :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JmpEax
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Oct 2012
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Wed Mar 06, 2013 10:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

BillWho wrote:
JmpEax,

Try the simplest configuration:
Code:
ctrl_interface=/var/run/wpa_supplicant
ctrl_interface_group=0
ap_scan=1

network={
  ssid="Your-AP-SSID"
  psk="your-password"
  key_mgmt=NONE
}


You can also try to start it from the cl with debugging messages:
Code:
wpa_supplicant -iwlan0 -Dnl80211 -d -c/etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf

-dd will increase the debugging verbosity. That might help with determining the problem.


Thanks for your help. With your guidance I actually figured out how it works and now my internet is running smoothly. Question though. Do I still need eth0 even though I use a wireless interface?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BillWho
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Mar 2012
Posts: 1600
Location: US

PostPosted: Thu Mar 07, 2013 4:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

JmpEax wrote:
Thanks for your help. With your guidance I actually figured out how it works and now my internet is running smoothly. Question though. Do I still need eth0 even though I use a wireless interface?

Glad to hear you got it going :D

Since you have an Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor it wouldn't be a bad idea to have it configured just in case.

You can always remove net.eth0 from the default runlevel so it doesn't attempt to start on bootup, but you could start it manually if you should need it.

It's entirely up to you :wink:
_________________
Good luck :wink:

Since installing gentoo, my life has become one long emerge :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum