Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOLVED] Circular blocks kmod and module-init-tools
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
pgu
Guru
Guru


Joined: 30 Jul 2009
Posts: 425
Location: Oslo, Norway

PostPosted: Sun Feb 03, 2013 8:31 am    Post subject: [SOLVED] Circular blocks kmod and module-init-tools Reply with quote

I just did a



Code:

emerge --update --deep --with-bdeps=y --newuse world --ask
...
[ebuild     U  ] dev-ruby/racc-1.4.8 [1.4.6-r1] USE="-doc%"
[blocks B      ] sys-apps/module-init-tools ("sys-apps/module-init-tools" is blocking sys-apps/kmod-12-r1)
[blocks B      ] sys-apps/kmod ("sys-apps/kmod" is blocking sys-apps/module-init-tools-3.16-r2)
...
 * Error: The above package list contains packages which cannot be
 * installed at the same time on the same system.
             
  (sys-apps/kmod-12-r1::gentoo, ebuild scheduled for merge) pulled in by
    >=sys-apps/kmod-12 required by (sys-fs/udev-197-r4::gentoo, ebuild scheduled for merge)   

  (sys-apps/module-init-tools-3.16-r2::gentoo, installed) pulled in by
    >=sys-apps/module-init-tools-3.2 required by (virtual/modutils-0::gentoo, installed)



These have both been pulled in by other packages, but which is the most important? Can I safely unmerge module-init-tools?


Last edited by pgu on Sun Feb 03, 2013 11:02 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ssuominen
Developer
Developer


Joined: 30 Sep 2005
Posts: 2000
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Sun Feb 03, 2013 8:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

1. Make sure USE="tools" is enabled for sys-apps/kmod. Using -* in USE would prevent it from being there.
2. `emerge -C module-init-tools` and `emerge -1 kmod`

done
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
salahx
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Mar 2005
Posts: 368

PostPosted: Sun Feb 03, 2013 8:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Basically Portage is confused because it can satisfy the virtual/modutils-0 dependency EITHER by by upgrading sys-apps/module-init-tools is 3.2 OR uninstall it and installing kmod; portage prefers to due the former. However udev required kmod, but as portage has already chosen to upgrade earlier in the process, thus the block. Portage doesn't look far enough ahead to make the right decision (and a simialr issue occurs with ffmpeg and libav), but there's a way around this. Add " >=sys-apps/module-init-tools-3.2" to /etc/portage/package.mask. Now portage only has one way to satisify virtual/modutils-0 and it should do the right thing. You can remove the entry from package.mask after the merge completes.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pgu
Guru
Guru


Joined: 30 Jul 2009
Posts: 425
Location: Oslo, Norway

PostPosted: Sun Feb 03, 2013 11:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks,

I added

cat /etc/portage/package.mask/package.mask
>=sys-apps/module-init-tools-3.2

and got passed this problem...

and straight into the next: https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-950094-highlight-.html

But at least this was solved. Thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rickj
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Feb 2003
Posts: 341
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

PostPosted: Fri Feb 08, 2013 7:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

With kmod installed, and module-init-tools gone, the update-modules command is missing. Alsaconf, for instance, relies on this command.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ssuominen
Developer
Developer


Joined: 30 Sep 2005
Posts: 2000
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Fri Feb 08, 2013 7:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

rickj wrote:
With kmod installed, and module-init-tools gone, the update-modules command is missing. Alsaconf, for instance, relies on this command.


Are you saying alsaconf doesn't work anymore because of it?

If you do this:

Code:

# cd /usr/portage/sys-apps/module-init-tools/files
# ./update-modules-3.5 --verbose


It will only say:

Quote:

* We have just /etc/modprobe.d; Nothing to do!


So the script should be no-op and do nothing.

Futhermore alsaconf is a dead command, it's only useful with ISA and PCMCIA soundcards. See. https://bugs.gentoo.org/456214
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rickj
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Feb 2003
Posts: 341
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

PostPosted: Fri Feb 08, 2013 7:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, alsaconf whinges about the lack of the command:
Code:
Running update-modules...
/usr/sbin/alsaconf: line 929: update-modules: command not found

Running it manually gets me:
Code:
# ./update-modules-3.5.sh --verbose
 * You have /etc/modules.d, so things need to get coalesced
 * modules.conf: already up-to-date wheatness
 * modules.dep: already up-to-date goodness
 * Skipping /etc/modprobe.conf generation (generate-modprobe.conf doesn't exist)

At present I have a /etc/conf.d/modules /etc/modprobe.d/ /etc/modules.d/ and /etc/modules.conf. This seems like a lot of ways to say the same thing. Are some of these obsolete?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ssuominen
Developer
Developer


Joined: 30 Sep 2005
Posts: 2000
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Fri Feb 08, 2013 7:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

rickj wrote:
Well, alsaconf whinges about the lack of the command:
Code:
Running update-modules...
/usr/sbin/alsaconf: line 929: update-modules: command not found

Running it manually gets me:
Code:
# ./update-modules-3.5.sh --verbose
 * You have /etc/modules.d, so things need to get coalesced
 * modules.conf: already up-to-date wheatness
 * modules.dep: already up-to-date goodness
 * Skipping /etc/modprobe.conf generation (generate-modprobe.conf doesn't exist)

At present I have a /etc/conf.d/modules /etc/modprobe.d/ /etc/modules.d/ and /etc/modules.conf. This seems like a lot of ways to say the same thing. Are some of these obsolete?


You shouldn't have /etc/modules.d or /etc/modules.conf anymore, they are obsolete too. You can propably wipe them out without problems, but backup to be sure.

And I've patched out the call to update-modules from alsa-utils-1.0.26-r2:

http://sources.gentoo.org/viewvc.cgi/gentoo-x86/media-sound/alsa-utils/files/alsa-utils-1.0.26-kmod.patch?rev=1.1&view=markup

Thanks for noticing. However I don't expect any of this to "fix" alsaconf for you. The real solution is to remove the command and update documentation to edit /etc/modprobe.d/alsa.conf directly.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rickj
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Feb 2003
Posts: 341
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

PostPosted: Fri Feb 08, 2013 8:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Removing /etc/modules.d and /etc/modules.conf seems to have had no effect, not really surprising as both were empty.

As you say, it may be time for the guide http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/alsa-guide.xml to be revised.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
abienkow
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Aug 2008
Posts: 35

PostPosted: Sun Mar 24, 2013 12:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

rickj wrote:
Removing /etc/modules.d and /etc/modules.conf seems to have had no effect, not really surprising as both were empty.

As you say, it may be time for the guide http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/alsa-guide.xml to be revised.


Run the command below, until kmod dependency is fixed.

$ USE="-kmod -tools" emerge -avtDNue @system
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ssuominen
Developer
Developer


Joined: 30 Sep 2005
Posts: 2000
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Sun Mar 24, 2013 6:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

abienkow wrote:
rickj wrote:
Removing /etc/modules.d and /etc/modules.conf seems to have had no effect, not really surprising as both were empty.

As you say, it may be time for the guide http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/alsa-guide.xml to be revised.


Run the command below, until kmod dependency is fixed.

$ USE="-kmod -tools" emerge -avtDNue @system


You can't be serious. USE="-kmod" will prevent sys-fs/udev from linking against libkmod.so, and that disables ALL module loading with-in udev. And USE="-tools" will cause sys-apps/kmod to not install symlinks to the legacy commands like lsmod or modprobe.
Basically such USE flags can only be used on a system with no modules installed at all.

So I hope nobody will take your advise.

There was a problem with moving over from module-init-tools to kmod but that has been since fixed:

http://sources.gentoo.org/cgi-bin/viewvc.cgi/gentoo-x86/sys-apps/kmod/kmod-12-r1.ebuild?r1=1.14&r2=1.15

Which means about same as running 'depmod -a' from command-line. However you can trigger the code from the ebuild to be sure like:

Code:

# emerge -C kmod
# emerge -1 kmod


As in, remove it first, then restore, and the ebuild thinks you are moving from module-init-tools and runs the sequence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Clad in Sky
l33t
l33t


Joined: 04 May 2007
Posts: 756
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sun Mar 24, 2013 11:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm still having these circular dependencies for kmod and modutils.
I did what ssuominen posted to no avail and after that tried the masking salahx suggested with likewise results.
Any ideas?

Code:

Calculating dependencies... done!


[nomerge       ] sys-apps/kmod-12-r1  USE="tools zlib -debug -doc -lzma -static-libs"
[ebuild  N     ]  virtual/modutils-0  0 kB
[ebuild  N     ]   sys-apps/kmod-12-r1  USE="tools zlib -debug -doc -lzma -static-libs" 1,246 kB

Total: 2 packages (2 new), Size of downloads: 1,246 kB

 * Error: circular dependencies:

(sys-apps/kmod-12-r1::gentoo, ebuild scheduled for merge) depends on
 (virtual/modutils-0::gentoo, ebuild scheduled for merge) (buildtime)
  (sys-apps/kmod-12-r1::gentoo, ebuild scheduled for merge) (runtime)

_________________
Kali Ma
Now it's autumn of the aeons
Dance with your sword
Now it's time for the harvest
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TomWij
Developer
Developer


Joined: 04 Jul 2012
Posts: 1355

PostPosted: Sun Mar 24, 2013 11:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You may need to run

emerge -C sys-apps/module-init-tools ; emerge -C sys-apps/modutils ; emerge -1 --nodeps sys-apps/kmod

in order to proceed, this will unmerge all the module tools packages and then emerge kmod without considering its dependencies.

Another option is to just wait for this to be resolved in Portage, since a wide amount of users is experiencing this it may not take long for a fix to be present; you might as well wait one or two days and sync again then.

The more experienced user may consider to fix this dependency in his local overlay, though you'd end up doing double work since the maintainers are on it as well.

Note: This may fail during the build, in this case look in the build log what the last line before the ERROR message was, it will note what is missing; let's say this is libxslt, in this case you will want to `emerge -1 dev-libs/libxslt` such that it is in place.

Word of caution: Please note that during this command you should not reboot because without the presence of these modules there may be problems loading the modules; if the unfortunate event happens that you need to reboot, you might need to chroot from the installation medium to fix the havoc by continuing above command.


Last edited by TomWij on Wed Apr 10, 2013 7:00 pm; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ssuominen
Developer
Developer


Joined: 30 Sep 2005
Posts: 2000
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Sun Mar 24, 2013 11:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

There has been multiple reasons for these blockers between kmod, m-i-t and modutils.

The last comment was because of https://bugs.gentoo.org/462926. I've reverted that change for now, until we figure out how to workaround the problem. Next emerge --sync
in a hour or two should make that go away.

And yes, use `emerge --nodeps -1v kmod` as a workaround for this.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Clad in Sky
l33t
l33t


Joined: 04 May 2007
Posts: 756
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sun Mar 24, 2013 12:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you. --nodeps did the trick.
_________________
Kali Ma
Now it's autumn of the aeons
Dance with your sword
Now it's time for the harvest
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum