Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOLVED] no x server after upgrade
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
calvin1857
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Nov 2012
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Fri Jan 11, 2013 8:03 am    Post subject: [SOLVED] no x server after upgrade Reply with quote

hi ,
yesterday i performed a full upgrade of my lenovo x120e netbook (amd e350 apu) and now it is unable to start x server. the error i get is "DRM REPORT MODESETTING ISNT SUPPORTED"...here is an screenshot

http://imgur.com/ybPrL

i have disabled mode setting since one year because it leads to a greyed out display soon after the bootup.

this is the xorg log screenshot

http://imgur.com/ybPrL

xrandr outputs "cant open display"

I am running kernel 3.6 and xfce.

please help in this regard.
thanks


Last edited by calvin1857 on Sat Jan 12, 2013 6:31 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gusar
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 09 Apr 2005
Posts: 2633
Location: Slovenia

PostPosted: Fri Jan 11, 2013 10:02 am    Post subject: Re: no x server after upgrade Reply with quote

calvin1857 wrote:
i have disabled mode setting

Isn't it obvious then what you need to do? KMS is the future. Other drivers got rid of UMS some time ago, now the radeon driver did it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
VoidMage
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 14 Oct 2006
Posts: 5271

PostPosted: Fri Jan 11, 2013 10:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Those screenshots are completely useless.
We need the context of the log (pastebin it) and you hardware/kernel configuration.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gusar
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 09 Apr 2005
Posts: 2633
Location: Slovenia

PostPosted: Fri Jan 11, 2013 10:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

VoidMage wrote:
Those screenshots are completely useless.
We need the context of the log (pastebin it) and you hardware/kernel configuration.

I already know the context - he updated to xf86-video-ati-7.0.0 which doesn't have UMS anymore. And since he disabled KMS, he now has no modesetting.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
calvin1857
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Nov 2012
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Fri Jan 11, 2013 3:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thanks voidmage and gusar. sorry for not pasting the complete log, i will post when i get back home.
i had disabled kms from the beginning because it always caused a grey patchy screen with no visibility soon after the boot up.

thanks again

[UPDATE]: I just reverted back to older xf86-video-ati and x server is back, thanks to u gusar :D . But still i have to keep kms disabled, enabling it renders the screen useless
http://imgur.com/9jgI2

here is my kernel config file
http://pastebin.com/1ym8DnSi

How can i enable KMS?

thank you
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chithanh
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Aug 2006
Posts: 1561
Location: Berlin, Germany

PostPosted: Fri Jan 11, 2013 3:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Do you have the firmware for radeon installed? If you build radeon as module, you need to ensure that it loads before X starts.

If you can, please provide the dmesg output once the screen becomes corrupted (you may need to do this via ssh).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
_______0
Guru
Guru


Joined: 15 Oct 2012
Posts: 521

PostPosted: Sat Jan 12, 2013 12:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

why are u uploading pics??

paste the logs somewhere.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
VoidMage
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 14 Oct 2006
Posts: 5271

PostPosted: Sat Jan 12, 2013 3:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Also, for KMS to work correctly CONFIG_FB_RADEON must be unset.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
calvin1857
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Nov 2012
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Sat Jan 12, 2013 6:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

thank you everyone :D :D . finally KMS is working now. And it was my fault that i couldnt get it working in the past. :( . My gpu is HD6310 so after reading gentoo radeon wiki , I had enabled only radeon/PALM_me.bin and radeon/PALM_pfp.bin blobs in the kernel but in the lenovo x120e gentoo wiki(http://en.gentoo-wiki.com/wiki/Lenovo_ThinkPad_x120e) , I found that i need to include blobs for the SUMO and SUMO2 family cards also. After including them its working perfectly. :D

Thank you again guys, and this forum is really awesome.. :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum