Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[solved] bridge and netplugd
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
alavov
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Feb 2013
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Wed Feb 06, 2013 5:34 pm    Post subject: [solved] bridge and netplugd Reply with quote

Hi All,

I have bridging set up as per Gentoo KVM Wiki and it works fine after boot.
However, if I unplug and plug back in the network cable, the bridge fails to start. I don't see any failure messages in the logs, just nothing about bridge or br0.
When unplugging:
Code:

netplugd[4346]: eth0: state ACTIVE flags 0x00011043 UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,MULTICAST,10000 -> 0x00001003 UP,BROADCAST,MULTICAST
netplugd[2481]: /etc/netplug.d/netplug eth0 out -> pid 2481
netplugd[4346]: eth0: state OUTING pid 2481 exited status 0
dhcpcd[5222]: br0: carrier lost


When plugging back:
Code:

netplugd[4346]: eth0: state INACTIVE flags 0x00001003 UP,BROADCAST,MULTICAST -> 0x00011043 UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,MULTICAST,10000
netplugd[3022]: /etc/netplug.d/netplug eth0 in -> pid 3022
netplugd[4346]: eth0: state INNING pid 3022 exited status 0

and that's it, no DHCP, no br0 activation.

How do I reactivate bridge after plugging in the cable?

thanks,
alavov


Last edited by alavov on Thu Feb 14, 2013 8:33 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AngelKnight
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 14 Jan 2003
Posts: 118

PostPosted: Thu Feb 07, 2013 1:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

(disclaimer: just an idea; I haven't tried it since I'm not at home...)

It's possible br0 is being treated as an interface subject to ifplug, if you have ifplugd installed. Possibly try adding
Code:
modules_br0="!plug"
to /etc/conf.d/net?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alavov
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Feb 2013
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Thu Feb 14, 2013 8:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

AngelKnight wrote:
(disclaimer: just an idea; I haven't tried it since I'm not at home...)

It's possible br0 is being treated as an interface subject to ifplug, if you have ifplugd installed. Possibly try adding
Code:
modules_br0="!plug"
to /etc/conf.d/net?


Thank you! Actually, it was the other way around - I needed to exclude eth0 from been "plugd"
Code:
modules_eth0="!plug"
, but the idea is the same :)
It works now.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum