Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Use flags for gnome shell 3.6.x?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
caaarlos
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 27 Apr 2012
Posts: 108

PostPosted: Mon Dec 24, 2012 1:11 pm    Post subject: Use flags for gnome shell 3.6.x? Reply with quote

How can edit my use flags to use gnome shell 3.6.x?
Is there any tutorial? I don't find ;/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fturco
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 08 Dec 2010
Posts: 240
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Tue Dec 25, 2012 11:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's not really clear what you want. Do you want to install GNOME 3.6? There's an overlay for that.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
caaarlos
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 27 Apr 2012
Posts: 108

PostPosted: Wed Dec 26, 2012 1:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, I want to install Gnome 3.6 ou Gnome 3.x. Sorry but I don't know the meaning of overlay.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fturco
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 08 Dec 2010
Posts: 240
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Wed Dec 26, 2012 11:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

GNOME 3.4 is in Portage but it's still marked as testing (~amd64 and ~x86). It's what I'm using now, and I had no major problems with it. If you want to use it and you are running a stable system then you have to unmask it by adding entries in /etc/portage/package.accept_keywords.

GNOME 3.6 is not yet in Portage, but there's an overlay for it (unsurprisingly called "gnome"). If you don't know what overlays are, then you should read this guide. I tried installing GNOME 3.6 myself, but I had to unmask a lot of packages by adding entries in package.unmask. This is harder than just using GNOME 3.4, but it's still possible if you really want it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lmarcini
Guru
Guru


Joined: 21 Jul 2004
Posts: 531
Location: Champagne sur Seine (France)

PostPosted: Wed Dec 26, 2012 10:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Gnome 3.6, from "gnome" overlay, works very well. You only have to do symbolic links in your /etc/portage/package{use,mask,unmask,keyword} directories from "use" section in the overlay (aka /var/lib/layman/gnome/status/portage-configs/...)...

Enjoy!

Laurent.
_________________
umount /dev/brain
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
caaarlos
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 27 Apr 2012
Posts: 108

PostPosted: Thu Dec 27, 2012 1:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks fturco now i know what is overlay. lmarcini can you explain or show me one tutorial of how to use gnome 3.6?
thanks for the ensors!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lmarcini
Guru
Guru


Joined: 21 Jul 2004
Posts: 531
Location: Champagne sur Seine (France)

PostPosted: Thu Dec 27, 2012 5:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Forget the overlay : Gnome 3.6 is in portage now !
_________________
umount /dev/brain
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
caaarlos
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 27 Apr 2012
Posts: 108

PostPosted: Thu Dec 27, 2012 10:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ohh it's great! Thx =D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum