Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Newbie on livecd problem
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
SeaDevil
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Dec 2012
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Mon Dec 24, 2012 12:50 am    Post subject: Newbie on livecd problem Reply with quote

I just downloaded the livecd and it booted up ok. Now the first thing i wanted to do was get online.

1. no connection.
2. Wicd Network mgr says: No wireless networks found.
3. So i went into general settings, and set Wireless interface = wlan0 and checked Global DNS Servers .
4. External programs = all automatic.
5. Advanced settings: = Driver = west, Backend = external
6. Wireless interface = both boxes checked.

tried again to refresh and still nothing.

I just downloaded the networkManager -0.9.6.4.tar.xz file, but don' know how to install it.

have to do it thru the terminal...but don't know the command.

appreciate any help ?

thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
d2_racing
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 25 Apr 2005
Posts: 13047
Location: Ste-Foy,Canada

PostPosted: Mon Dec 24, 2012 1:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi, can you try with the latest systemrescueCD ?

Here where you download it : http://www.sysresccd.org/Download

When you start the LiveCD, make sure that you select a 32 bits or a 64 bits mode.

Do you know if you are running with a 32 bits or a 64 bits CPU arch ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SeaDevil
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Dec 2012
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Mon Dec 24, 2012 1:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok, i'll download that and try. am on 32 bit.

thanks,
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
d2_racing
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 25 Apr 2005
Posts: 13047
Location: Ste-Foy,Canada

PostPosted: Mon Dec 24, 2012 1:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

At the prompt, when everything is launched, type startx and you will have XFCE or LXDE loaded. So you will be able to surf the web while installing Gentoo.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 6972
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Mon Dec 24, 2012 1:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

SeaDevil wrote:
ok, i'll download that and try. am on 32 bit.

thanks,

If your hardware can to 64-bit you should go 64.
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
d2_racing
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 25 Apr 2005
Posts: 13047
Location: Ste-Foy,Canada

PostPosted: Mon Dec 24, 2012 2:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

From a console,run this and paste it here :

Code:

# lspci -v
# cat /proc/cpuinfo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SeaDevil
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Dec 2012
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Mon Dec 24, 2012 2:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

well, ran the rescuecd put in the correct info....and nada, nothing....same message: no network connections.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SeaDevil
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Dec 2012
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Mon Dec 24, 2012 3:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok...here's the first output of lspci :

gentoo@Gentoo-2012 ~
Code:
 $ sudo lspci -v
00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation 82915G/P/GV/GL/PL/910GL Memory Controller Hub (rev 04)
        Subsystem: Hewlett-Packard Company Device 2a08
        Flags: bus master, fast devsel, latency 0
        Capabilities: [e0] Vendor Specific Information: Len=09 <?>
        Kernel driver in use: agpgart-intel

00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation 82915G/GV/910GL Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 04) (prog-if 00 [VGA controller])
        Subsystem: Hewlett-Packard Company Device 2a08
        Flags: bus master, fast devsel, latency 0, IRQ 16
        Memory at cfe80000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=512K]
        I/O ports at b800 [size=8]
        Memory at d0000000 (32-bit, prefetchable) [size=256M]
        Memory at cfe40000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=256K]
        Expansion ROM at <unassigned> [disabled]
        Capabilities: [d0] Power Management version 2
        Kernel driver in use: i915

00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 82801FB/FBM/FR/FW/FRW (ICH6 Family) High Definition Audio Controller (rev 03)
        Subsystem: Hewlett-Packard Company PufferM-UL8E
        Flags: bus master, fast devsel, latency 0, IRQ 41
        Memory at cfe38000 (64-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=16K]
        Capabilities: [50] Power Management version 2
        Capabilities: [60] MSI: Enable+ Count=1/1 Maskable- 64bit+
        Capabilities: [70] Express Root Complex Integrated Endpoint, MSI 00
        Capabilities: [100] Virtual Channel
        Capabilities: [130] Root Complex Link
        Kernel driver in use: snd_hda_intel

00:1c.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801FB/FBM/FR/FW/FRW (ICH6 Family) PCI Express Port 1 (rev 03) (prog-if 00 [Normal decode])
        Flags: bus master, fast devsel, latency 0
        Bus: primary=00, secondary=01, subordinate=01, sec-latency=0
        I/O behind bridge: 0000c000-0000cfff
        Memory behind bridge: 40000000-401fffff
        Prefetchable memory behind bridge: 0000000040200000-00000000403fffff
        Capabilities: [40] Express Root Port (Slot+), MSI 00
        Capabilities: [80] MSI: Enable+ Count=1/1 Maskable- 64bit-
        Capabilities: [90] Subsystem: Hewlett-Packard Company Device 2a0a
        Capabilities: [a0] Power Management version 2
        Capabilities: [100] Virtual Channel
        Capabilities: [180] Root Complex Link
        Kernel driver in use: pcieport

00:1d.0 USB controller: Intel Corporation 82801FB/FBM/FR/FW/FRW (ICH6 Family) USB UHCI #1 (rev 03) (prog-if 00 [UHCI])
        Subsystem: Hewlett-Packard Company Device 2a0a
        Flags: bus master, medium devsel, latency 0, IRQ 23
        I/O ports at a400 [size=32]
        Kernel driver in use: uhci_hcd

00:1d.1 USB controller: Intel Corporation 82801FB/FBM/FR/FW/FRW (ICH6 Family) USB UHCI #2 (rev 03) (prog-if 00 [UHCI])
        Subsystem: Hewlett-Packard Company Device 2a0a
        Flags: bus master, medium devsel, latency 0, IRQ 19
        I/O ports at a800 [size=32]
        Kernel driver in use: uhci_hcd

00:1d.2 USB controller: Intel Corporation 82801FB/FBM/FR/FW/FRW (ICH6 Family) USB UHCI #3 (rev 03) (prog-if 00 [UHCI])
        Subsystem: Hewlett-Packard Company Device 2a0a
        Flags: bus master, medium devsel, latency 0, IRQ 18
        I/O ports at b000 [size=32]
        Kernel driver in use: uhci_hcd

00:1d.3 USB controller: Intel Corporation 82801FB/FBM/FR/FW/FRW (ICH6 Family) USB UHCI #4 (rev 03) (prog-if 00 [UHCI])
        Subsystem: Hewlett-Packard Company Device 2a0a
        Flags: bus master, medium devsel, latency 0, IRQ 16
        I/O ports at b400 [size=32]
        Kernel driver in use: uhci_hcd

00:1d.7 USB controller: Intel Corporation 82801FB/FBM/FR/FW/FRW (ICH6 Family) USB2 EHCI Controller (rev 03) (prog-if 20 [EHCI])
        Subsystem: Hewlett-Packard Company Device 2a0a
        Flags: bus master, medium devsel, latency 0, IRQ 23
        Memory at cfe37c00 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=1K]
        Capabilities: [50] Power Management version 2
        Capabilities: [58] Debug port: BAR=1 offset=00a0
        Kernel driver in use: ehci_hcd

00:1e.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801 PCI Bridge (rev d3) (prog-if 01 [Subtractive decode])
        Flags: bus master, fast devsel, latency 0
        Bus: primary=00, secondary=02, subordinate=02, sec-latency=32
        I/O behind bridge: 0000d000-0000efff
        Memory behind bridge: cff00000-cfffffff
        Capabilities: [50] Subsystem: Hewlett-Packard Company Device 2a0a

00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation 82801FB/FR (ICH6/ICH6R) LPC Interface Bridge (rev 03)
        Subsystem: Hewlett-Packard Company Device 2a0a
        Flags: bus master, medium devsel, latency 0

00:1f.1 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 82801FB/FBM/FR/FW/FRW (ICH6 Family) IDE Controller (rev 03) (prog-if 8a [Master SecP PriP])
        Subsystem: Hewlett-Packard Company Device 2a0a
        Flags: bus master, medium devsel, latency 0, IRQ 18
        I/O ports at 01f0 [size=8]
        I/O ports at 03f4 [size=1]
        I/O ports at 0170 [size=8]
        I/O ports at 0374 [size=1]
        I/O ports at ffa0 [size=16]
        Kernel driver in use: ata_piix

00:1f.2 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 82801FB/FW (ICH6/ICH6W) SATA Controller (rev 03) (prog-if 8f [Master SecP SecO PriP PriO])
        Subsystem: Hewlett-Packard Company Device 2a0a
        Flags: bus master, 66MHz, medium devsel, latency 0, IRQ 19
        I/O ports at a000 [size=8]
        I/O ports at 9800 [size=4]
        I/O ports at 9400 [size=8]
        I/O ports at 9000 [size=4]
        I/O ports at 8800 [size=16]
        Capabilities: [70] Power Management version 2
        Kernel driver in use: ata_piix

00:1f.3 SMBus: Intel Corporation 82801FB/FBM/FR/FW/FRW (ICH6 Family) SMBus Controller (rev 03)
        Subsystem: Hewlett-Packard Company Device 2a0a
        Flags: medium devsel, IRQ 19
        I/O ports at 0400 [size=32]

02:01.0 FireWire (IEEE 1394): VIA Technologies, Inc. VT6306/7/8 [Fire II(M)] IEEE 1394 OHCI Controller (rev 80) (prog-if 10 [OHCI])
        Subsystem: Hewlett-Packard Company Device 2a0c
        Flags: bus master, medium devsel, latency 64, IRQ 4
        Memory at cffff800 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=2K]
        I/O ports at e800 [size=128]
        Capabilities: [50] Power Management version 2

02:02.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL-8139/8139C/8139C+ (rev 10)
        Subsystem: Hewlett-Packard Company Device 2a0b
        Flags: bus master, medium devsel, latency 64, IRQ 21
        I/O ports at e400 [size=256]
        Memory at cffff400 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=256]
        Capabilities: [50] Power Management version 2
        Kernel driver in use: 8139too

02:05.0 Communication controller: LSI Corporation V.92 56K WinModem (rev 03)
        Subsystem: LSI Corporation Device 044c
        Flags: bus master, medium devsel, latency 64, IRQ 255
        Memory at cffff000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=256]
        I/O ports at e000 [size=8]
        I/O ports at d800 [size=256]
        Capabilities: [f8] Power Management version 2

code tags added by NeddySeagoon for easy reading

______________________________________________________________________________________
then ouput of cpuinfo :

gentoo@Gentoo-2012 ~ $ sudo #cat /proc/cpuinfo
usage: sudo [-D level] -h | -K | -k | -V
usage: sudo -v [-AknS] [-D level] [-g groupname|#gid] [-p prompt] [-u user name|#uid]
usage: sudo -l[l] [-AknS] [-D level] [-g groupname|#gid] [-p prompt] [-U user name] [-u user name|#uid] [-g groupname|#gid] [command]
usage: sudo [-AbEHknPS] [-C fd] [-D level] [-g groupname|#gid] [-p prompt] [-u user name|#uid] [-g groupname|#gid] [VAR=value] [-i|-s] [<command>]
usage: sudo -e [-AknS] [-C fd] [-D level] [-g groupname|#gid] [-p prompt] [-u user name|#uid] file ...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ant P.
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 18 Apr 2009
Posts: 5595

PostPosted: Mon Dec 24, 2012 3:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Please use code tags.

You do not need sudo to cat /proc/cpuinfo.

Do not blindly copy and paste commands. Read what you are typing, and the output from them.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SeaDevil
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Dec 2012
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Mon Dec 24, 2012 4:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok, sorry about that....but like the very first thing i said on here: NEWBIE....so bear with me ok?

I did not know "cat" was a command.....first time i tried it got some message said "invalid command"...

now, I didn't know squat about "codes" either....I just came from 20 years of Windows, 95,98 and whatever was

before that even. So, please bear with me, because you DON'T have to go thru all this hassle to get online

in Windows. Really !!

I been thru Vietnam, 4 major major bouts of cancer, lost my jaw and part of my leg, and don't think that

was as tough as learning this LINUX stuff. Just trying to find the EASIEST distro that works ! Why? because I

am too old, broke and poor to afford and learn Windows 8.

thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jrussia
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 29 Aug 2012
Posts: 89
Location: Chicago

PostPosted: Mon Dec 24, 2012 5:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

From a quick glance at what you posted, it looks like you don't have a wireless card. Have I missed something? You have an Ethernet connection, though, so you can connect via Ethernet cable.

Wicd is also for wireless connections, so it won't be any help if you don't have one.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 42596
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Dec 24, 2012 1:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

SeaDevil,

You don't have a PCI based wireless card. If you have one at all, it must either be USB based or switched off.
Some systems have a physical switch to power off wireless, as its quite power hungry.

If wired networking is an option while you install, the following commands will get you on the net
Code:
modprobe 8139too
net setup eth0


Once installed, it will all JustWork.

If you must have wireless to install, please post the output of lsusb.

lsusb is a command, just like lspci
ls means list, or dir if you remember DOS.
The pci or usb tells what you would like listed - but they are seperate programs.
There are others too.

If you were comfortable at the DOS prompt 20 years ago, look at "Linux in a Nutshell" its free online or you can buy the dead tree edition.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SeaDevil
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Dec 2012
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Mon Dec 24, 2012 5:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello, NeddySeagoon,

yes, I do have my wireless on Belkin Router with a USB adapter. Didn't know that made a difference here as other Distro's
that I tried all connected to the Network easily unlike here.
Too bad the documentation doesn't talk about usb wireless. or how to implement it.




here is the output of lsusb:

Code:
Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
Bus 002 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 003 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 004 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 005 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 001 Device 003: ID 050d:945a Belkin Components F7D1101 v1 Basic Wireless Adapter [Realtek RTL8188SU]
Bus 002 Device 002: ID 046d:c52e Logitech, Inc.
Bus 005 Device 002: ID 058f:9360 Alcor Micro Corp. 8-in-1 Media Card Reader
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 42596
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Dec 24, 2012 5:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

SeaDevil,

Your wireless USB stick is
Code:
Bus 001 Device 003: ID 050d:945a Belkin Components F7D1101 v1 Basic Wireless Adapter [Realtek RTL8188SU]

The driver is in the kernel and I'm fairly sure that a recent SystemRescueCD supports it.

Unfortunately, I'm on an old SystemRescueCD right now as my initrd refused to assemble a degraded raid, so I can't check the detail.

Does the command
Code:
ifconfig -a
list a wlan0 interface ?
Once my raid has rebuilt and I can boot normally, I will post back with more detail.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 42596
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Dec 24, 2012 6:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

SeaDevil,

I've booted SystemRescueCD in Virtual Box so I can look at its kernel modules
Your 050d:945a needs the r8712u module.
Code:
modprobe r8712u
to see if you have it.

Look in the output of
Code:
lsmod
to confirm if it loaded.
Look in
Code:
ifconfig -a
to see if the interface exists.
Look at the end of
Code:
dmesg
to see if there were any errors loading the module.

I can confirm that SystemRescueCD 3.2.0-beta009.iso does have this driver.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SeaDevil
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Dec 2012
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Mon Dec 24, 2012 7:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK, here's what i got :

eth0: flags=4099<UP,BROADCAST,MULTICAST> mtu 1500
ether 00:11:d8:50:3b:b0 txqueuelen 1000 (Ethernet)
RX packets 0 bytes 0 (0.0 B)
RX errors 0 dropped 0 overruns 0 frame 0
TX packets 0 bytes 0 (0.0 B)
TX errors 0 dropped 0 overruns 0 carrier 0 collisions 0
device interrupt 21 base 0x6400

lo: flags=73<UP,LOOPBACK,RUNNING> mtu 16436
inet 127.0.0.1 netmask 255.0.0.0
inet6 ::1 prefixlen 128 scopeid 0x10<host>
loop txqueuelen 0 (Local Loopback)
RX packets 124 bytes 8856 (8.6 KiB)
RX errors 0 dropped 0 overruns 0 frame 0
TX packets 124 bytes 8856 (8.6 KiB)
TX errors 0 dropped 0 overruns 0 carrier 0 collisions 0

then i entered : modprobe r8712u
says: bash: modprobe: command not found

tried : cat modprobe 48712u
says: No such file or directory


by the way MERRY XMAS to you and all Gentoobers
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 42596
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Dec 24, 2012 7:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

SeaDevil,

You must run modprobe before you chroot as the kernel and all of its modules are provided by the boot media.
After the chroot, only the things that you put into /mnt/gentoo are accessable.

You really don't want to cat a binary file ... well not more than once ever. It will display all sorts of rubbish on the console and may even change fonts and modes to render it useless. When that happens type reset and press return.

As root
Code:
# ls /sbin/modprobe
/sbin/modprobe
shows that modprobe exists.

I know the command works as I managed to run it in a Virtual Machine booted with the SystemRescueCD I recommended.
I don't have the device, so I could not test that everything works after the modprobe.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SeaDevil
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Dec 2012
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Mon Dec 24, 2012 10:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'M STILL getting error message from the command modprobe r8712u that says: command not found

even after i reset.

next: # ls /sbin/modprobe (returns nothing, goes to cursor)
next /sbin/modprobe ( error: missing parameters, see -h)

next:
Code:
gentoo@Gentoo-2012 ~ $ modprob r8712u
bash: modprob: command not found

gentoo@Gentoo-2012 ~ $ lsmod
Module                  Size  Used by
ipv6                  188144  22
shpchp                 17923  0
pci_hotplug            16905  1 shpchp
snd_hda_codec_realtek    76946  1
i915                  264757  3
8139too                14217  0
snd_hda_intel          15860  4
8139cp                 12645  0
video                   9199  1 i915
snd_hda_codec          46136  2 snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec_realtek
thermal_sys             9746  1 video
r8712u                115580  0
s



last line shows the r8712u,

in the following dmesg....copied only the part that shows r8712u, otherwise there were NO errors showing.

Code:
ut4
[   44.937256] ACPI: Power Button [PWRF]
[   45.024828] ACPI Warning: 0x00000400-0x0000041f SystemIO conflicts with Region \SMRG 1 (20120111/utaddress-251)
[   45.024843] ACPI Warning: 0x00000400-0x0000041f SystemIO conflicts with Region \_SB_.PCI0.SBRG.SMRG 2 (20120111/utaddress-251)
[   45.024854] ACPI: If an ACPI driver is available for this device, you should use it instead of the native driver
[   45.156220] r8712u: module is from the staging directory, the quality is unknown, you have been warned.
[   45.163319] r8712u: DriverVersion: v7_0.20100831
[   45.163353] r8712u: register rtl8712_netdev_ops to netdev_ops
[   45.163359] r8712u: USB_SPEED_HIGH with 4 endpoints
[   45.164591] r8712u: Boot from EFUSE: Autoload OK
[   45.543037] r8712u: CustomerID = 0x0000
[   45.543043] r8712u: MAC Address from efuse = 94:44:52:e3:4d:2e
[   45.543046] r8712u: Loading firmware from "rtlwifi/rtl8712u.bin"
[   45.543882] usbcore: registered new interface driver r8712u
[   45.670816] r8712u: Firmware request failed
[   46.068422] 8139cp: 8139cp: 10/100 PCI Ethernet driver v1.3 (Mar 22, 2004)
[   46.068480] 8139cp 0000:02:02.0: This (id 10ec:8139 rev 10) is not an 8139C+ compatible chip, use 8139too
[   46.076025] snd_hda_intel 0000:00:1b.0: irq 41 for MSI/MSI-X
[   46.412101] 8139too: 8139too Fast Ethernet driver 0.9.28
[   46.413773] 8139too 0000:02:02.0: eth0: RealTek RTL8139 at 0xf9be6400, 00:11:



if you want, will put this off til after xmas.

I will try again Wed.

regards
old SeaDevil
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 42596
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Dec 24, 2012 10:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

SeaDevil,

Code:
[   45.670816] r8712u: Firmware request failed
You have everything except the firmware.
Thats a nuisance - it won't work without that.

Before we try patching up the Gentoo DVD. Can you try using SystemRescueCD from this page as your boot media.
The kernel module is there. Hopefully, the firmware is too.

You can file a bug at bigs.gentoo.org for the DVD. The important line is the one I quoted
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SeaDevil
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Dec 2012
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Tue Dec 25, 2012 12:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

WELL...let me thank you for your help, I really appreciate your time spent.

But......I had enough trying this OS out. Time to move on and go back

to UBUNTU or some other. It's like having to learn a new language here like

Chinese or Japanese or Dutch...whatever.

don't know how to close out this thread either, if you would be so kind.

thanks again for your patience.

SeaDevil.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 42596
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Tue Dec 25, 2012 12:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

SeaDevil,

You give up too easily.

WiFi is not one of the simplest features to make work especially for installing.
If your wireless JustWorks in Ubuntu, you can use that to install Gentoo. None of the install boot system goes into your gentoo install, it just provides the tools you need to accomplish the install.

When you go back to Ubuntu, leave 30G free for Gentoo, when you come back to it, then you can dual boot.

Enjoy your OS, even if its not Gentoo.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum