Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
No internet connection after installation
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
c0bra
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Dec 2012
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Sun Dec 23, 2012 10:16 pm    Post subject: No internet connection after installation Reply with quote

Hi, im seeking help from these forums as i couldnt find help anywhere. My problem is quite simple, i have no internet connection after the installation, i forgot to emerge dhcpcd.
Im using vmware , so at first i thought it may be the bridged connection working just fine.
I tried to emerge xorg-server and found out internet was not working.

This is how it looks :
http://i.imgur.com/0O9pK.png
http://i.imgur.com/yUuoI.png
http://i.imgur.com/r0KuS.png

If someone could help me it would be much appreciated :) Reinstallation is a pain in the ass, so i hope it wont be necessary .
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Doctor
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 27 Jul 2010
Posts: 2600

PostPosted: Sun Dec 23, 2012 10:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Welcome to Gentoo!

The solution is actually dead simple. All you need to do is boot up using the live CD again and chroot into your install. All you should need to do get the internet working on the live CD, mount your paritions, then execute the following:
Code:
cp -L /etc/resolv.conf /mnt/gentoo/etc/
mount -t proc none /mnt/gentoo/proc
mount --rbind /sys /mnt/gentoo/sys
mount --rbind /dev /mnt/gentoo/dev
chroot /mnt/gentoo /bin/bash
env-update
source /etc/profile
export PS1="(chroot) $PS1"


And your set to go!

Alternately, you can download the required tarballs and copy them to /usr/portage/distfiles and then portage can emerge them from there. This may be tricky to do on a VM depending on how you can transfer the files.
_________________
First things first, but not necessarily in that order.

Apologies if I take a while to respond. I'm currently working on the dematerialization circuit for my blue box.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
c0bra
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Dec 2012
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Sun Dec 23, 2012 10:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The Doctor wrote:
Welcome to Gentoo!

The solution is actually dead simple. All you need to do is boot up using the live CD again and chroot into your install. All you should need to do get the internet working on the live CD, mount your paritions, then execute the following:
Code:
cp -L /etc/resolv.conf /mnt/gentoo/etc/
mount -t proc none /mnt/gentoo/proc
mount --rbind /sys /mnt/gentoo/sys
mount --rbind /dev /mnt/gentoo/dev
chroot /mnt/gentoo /bin/bash
env-update
source /etc/profile
export PS1="(chroot) $PS1"


And your set to go!

Alternately, you can download the required tarballs and copy them to /usr/portage/distfiles and then portage can emerge them from there. This may be tricky to do on a VM depending on how you can transfer the files.


The problem is, i dont have the liveCD, i used the .iso for the installation (minimal) and im using vmware.
Im triying the second choice, but is tricky since i cant move the files to my VM
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 7328
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Sun Dec 23, 2012 10:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Actually it is even more simple, just set up the connection manually, as described in Handbook. No CD booting and chroot needed. DHCP client is no more than a helper, not needed for networking.
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
c0bra
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Dec 2012
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Sun Dec 23, 2012 10:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jaglover wrote:
Actually it is even more simple, just set up the connection manually, as described in Handbook. No CD booting and chroot needed. DHCP client is no more than a helper, not needed for networking.

Dont worry, solved! I did this all over http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/handbook/handbook-x86.xml?part=4&chap=1


Last edited by c0bra on Sun Dec 23, 2012 11:58 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 7328
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Sun Dec 23, 2012 11:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Bridged? Use any unused IP address on subnet, same IP does not qualify.
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
c0bra
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Dec 2012
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Mon Dec 24, 2012 12:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Okay, i got it, but now i get another problem when installing xorg.
Oh gentoo, why you do this to me.
Im sure it has something to do with the USE flags.
http://i.imgur.com/z9L8I.png
Help would be really appreciated..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
c0bra
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Dec 2012
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Mon Dec 24, 2012 12:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Changed some tags, deleted 'ACCEPT_KEYWORDS'
This is what i get now :
http://i.imgur.com/8vjIv.png

And this is my make.conf:
http://i.imgur.com/ELzfc.png
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 44193
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Dec 24, 2012 1:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

c0bra,

The key sentence is the one starting !!! The ebuild selected ...
Its telling you you need to add a USE flag from the list.

It almost certainly means that you are building a desktop but don't have a desktop profile selected.
What profile does
Code:
eselect profile list
have the * against?

Your profile selects many USE flags for you.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
c0bra
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Dec 2012
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Mon Dec 24, 2012 1:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
c0bra,

The key sentence is the one starting !!! The ebuild selected ...
Its telling you you need to add a USE flag from the list.

It almost certainly means that you are building a desktop but don't have a desktop profile selected.
What profile does
Code:
eselect profile list
have the * against?

Your profile selects many USE flags for you.

I selected the third, the 'desktop' profile, since im not going to install kde or gnome, imma install xfce.
http://i.imgur.com/pXap9.png
added some flags (not all of them) and got it working, do i need to add them all? cant this process be automatic?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BillWho
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Mar 2012
Posts: 1600
Location: US

PostPosted: Mon Dec 24, 2012 1:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

c0bra,

Is there a reason you have -xorg in make.conf if you're setting up a desktop :?:

Also you have an invalid atom in package.use :?
_________________
Good luck :wink:

Since installing gentoo, my life has become one long emerge :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
c0bra
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Dec 2012
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Mon Dec 24, 2012 1:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

BillWho wrote:
c0bra,

Is there a reason you have -xorg in make.conf if you're setting up a desktop :?:

Also you have an invalid atom in package.use :?

Once i added '-' the errors stopped.
Yeah, i figured and now it dosnt show up anymore.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum