First Time Gentoo, not Linux, Install Questions
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
keypunch
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Wed Apr 10, 2013 7:21 pm    Post subject: First Time Gentoo, not Linux, Install Questions Reply with quote

Hello,

It has been longer than I expected to do my first Gentoo install. I have been using Linux since 1999. I have done some research to prepare myself for installing Gentoo.

Research suggests for a first time Gentoo install the time it takes is varied due to the learning curve. Though I have never used Gentoo I am familiar with building from source the likes of KDE, Gnome, Firefox, GTK, more kernels that I can count, LXDE, OpenBox, and most of the applications one could ever use. I know for example the image processing software I use can actually take longer than kernel, Firefox, KDE, Gome combined even though the size of the source code for the imaging software is much smaller. It seems the complexity of the imaging software is the reason for the long involved compile times.

The question I have is for a Intel T5600 laptop with a SATA 1 drive 4GB RAM what the best case guess for compile time from zero to LXDE, Firefox, Sylpheed, Gnome-Terminal, LeafPad, LXTerminal, PCmanFM, Geany, Gedit, Gparted, and GIMP? I am more than aware from manually building from source these programs a number of times over the years, and many more, that this implies a number of other packages and libraries. I certainly have alot more installed on my system than this list, but this would be my starting point to be up and running. There are certainly other packages I would also install, but know they will not take alot of time in comparison to compile or have complex dependencies, hence this short list to for a basic time estimate from zero to up to a working set of programs to enable me to transfer over my work and primary working distribution.