Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Fan control on Dell Studio 1555
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Q-collective
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 22 Mar 2004
Posts: 2056

PostPosted: Thu Nov 22, 2012 9:34 pm    Post subject: Fan control on Dell Studio 1555 Reply with quote

After I moved from the fglrx drivers to the radeon drivers I note that my fans are running like crazy. I also note that the temperature is way higher than before, despite the louder blowing. So, there is probably inefficient cooling going on.

This is probably because I forgot some option in the kernel that regulates the GPU temperature. However, I'm at a loss as to how to fix it. Where do I start?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gabrielg
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 16 Nov 2012
Posts: 86

PostPosted: Thu Nov 22, 2012 9:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Maybe start here: http://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Power_management

Search the wiki for ACPI and sensors as well. APM is supposed to be deprecated, but you'll see it out there, sometimes you have to use it. I managed to replace it completely with ACPI. Lots of things re power management really, so have a read.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Q-collective
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 22 Mar 2004
Posts: 2056

PostPosted: Sun Nov 25, 2012 6:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

gabrielg wrote:
Maybe start here: http://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Power_management

Search the wiki for ACPI and sensors as well. APM is supposed to be deprecated, but you'll see it out there, sometimes you have to use it. I managed to replace it completely with ACPI. Lots of things re power management really, so have a read.


The linked document is really just a springboard to other articles. I followed the Radeon and CPU ones and... nothing much happened.

I enabled the CPU frequency scaling and ticks as described here.
I also read this bit about the Radeon powermanagement, although it only proposes to let the graphics card less fast, which is a ridiculous workaround really.

Are there other solutions?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mbar
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 19 Jan 2005
Posts: 1952
Location: Poland

PostPosted: Mon Nov 26, 2012 12:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Unfortunately not. Use "mid" power profile.

echo "mid" > /sys/class/drm/card0/device/power_profile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Q-collective
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 22 Mar 2004
Posts: 2056

PostPosted: Mon Nov 26, 2012 1:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mbar wrote:
Unfortunately not. Use "mid" power profile.

echo "mid" > /sys/class/drm/card0/device/power_profile

So, I either downgrade X and keep at that forever, turn down the capabilities of the card, or I "live with it".

Yay, go go AMD/ATI :roll:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mbar
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 19 Jan 2005
Posts: 1952
Location: Poland

PostPosted: Thu Nov 29, 2012 1:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Do you use your laptop for gaming under Linux?
If not, then radeon driver is better choice than Catalyst.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Q-collective
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 22 Mar 2004
Posts: 2056

PostPosted: Sat Dec 01, 2012 8:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

mbar wrote:
Do you use your laptop for gaming under Linux?
If not, then radeon driver is better choice than Catalyst.

Why is that when the radeon drivers turn my laptop in a jumbojet?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Q-collective
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 22 Mar 2004
Posts: 2056

PostPosted: Mon Jan 07, 2013 9:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, I went for the following "solution" after the noise was slowly but surely driving me nuts:

Code:
echo "low" > /sys/class/drm/card0/device/power_profile


The temperature at least drops to below 65C, so the fan drops to acceptable noise levels.

However, if I remember correctly, I'll need to do that each time after a reboot. So, where do I set it to become permanent?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mbar
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 19 Jan 2005
Posts: 1952
Location: Poland

PostPosted: Tue Jan 08, 2013 2:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

create executable script "radeon-powersave.start" in /etc/local.d

Code:
#!/bin/sh
echo mid > /sys/class/drm/card0/device/power_profile


You can alternatively use auto if you can live with screen flickering.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Q-collective
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 22 Mar 2004
Posts: 2056

PostPosted: Tue Jan 08, 2013 6:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mbar wrote:
create executable script "radeon-powersave.start" in /etc/local.d

Code:
#!/bin/sh
echo mid > /sys/class/drm/card0/device/power_profile


You can alternatively use auto if you can live with screen flickering.


Ah yes, thanks :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum