Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Latest update broke my X (old ATI)
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
bandreabis
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 18 Feb 2005
Posts: 2073
Location: ロヂで

PostPosted: Mon Nov 19, 2012 6:13 pm    Post subject: Latest update broke my X (old ATI) Reply with quote

Hi everybody! I love Gentoo and Gentoo people. But sometimes.... I love only Gentoo People!

As per title, last updates (double xf86-video-ati, double xorg-server, mesa, libdrm etc etc....) broke my Xorg.

I have a old ATI x200m, working miraculously! No KMS, because it brokes suspend/resume.

So, after last update, no more X, and no more KDE.

Xorg.0.log says:

Code:
[    24.273] (++) using VT number 7

[    24.446] (II) [KMS] drm report modesetting isn't supported.
[    24.446] (II) UnloadModule: "radeon"
[    24.446] (EE) Screen(s) found, but none have a usable configuration.
[    24.468]
Fatal server error:
[    24.468] no screens found
[    24.468]
Please consult the The X.Org Foundation support
         at http://wiki.x.org
 for help.
[    24.468] Please also check the log file at "/var/log/Xorg.0.log" for additional information.
[    24.468]
[    24.589] Server terminated with error (1). Closing log file.


What's up?

To have X back I had to mask latest versions (for the two, the latest and the second last).

Will I have to mask every next updates forever?
Or is there a solution?

I ask this question to my loved Gentoo people.

Please help me.

Thak you very very much.

Andrea
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
livibetter
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Apr 2009
Posts: 55
Location: Taipei, Taiwan

PostPosted: Mon Nov 19, 2012 6:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think you have same issue as I.

You need KMS, because xf86-video-ati-7.0.0 is KMS-only.

I added KMS to my system and only did that, and every thing is good.

I don't have suspend/resume and I don't use them, so it isn't a problem to me, if they don't work with KMS for me, either.

By the way, my card is X1400, an old card, too.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bandreabis
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 18 Feb 2005
Posts: 2073
Location: ロヂで

PostPosted: Mon Nov 19, 2012 6:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

livibetter wrote:
I think you have same issue as I.

You need KMS, because xf86-video-ati-7.0.0 is KMS-only.

I added KMS to my system and only did that, and every thing is good.

I don't have suspend/resume and I don't use them, so it isn't a problem to me, if they don't work with KMS for me, either.

By the way, my card is X1400, an old card, too.

Don't you wanna do my cavy, trying suspension? Would you? :P
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
livibetter
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Apr 2009
Posts: 55
Location: Taipei, Taiwan

PostPosted: Mon Nov 19, 2012 7:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

bandreabis wrote:
Don't you wanna do my cavy, trying suspension? Would you? :P

Tried to look for a guide for that, but not sure what exact steps are. I know I need to recompile kernel since I don't have related options set. Probably the first place why I didn't have suspension and I really don't need it. My computer is a laptop, not using much power. And whenever my computer is on, 95% of time, I am using it.

Anyway, you can't stall long. The driver probably will be KMS-only in the future. Even you can mask new xf86-video-ati (don't know if old 6.x will work with new xorg-server and other new stuff), but for how long?

We probably both have very minimal system, when I boot into X, it only uses ~70MB memory. Even I get suspension working for testing, I would remove it for sure. I now have KMS is only because the new driver requires it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bandreabis
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 18 Feb 2005
Posts: 2073
Location: ロヂで

PostPosted: Mon Nov 19, 2012 8:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

As supposed, KMS brokes suspension and hibernation.

Maybe I miss some r300 blobs (are they so called?).
I go back.

I don't use suspension a lot, but I don't want to lose something I could use, to have something I don't need!
HD videos run very bad, now.

Next pc, new story!

Thank you livibetter.

Andrea
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chithanh
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Aug 2006
Posts: 1561
Location: Berlin, Germany

PostPosted: Mon Nov 19, 2012 11:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you cannot use KMS, you have to stay with xf86-video-ati-6.14.6-r1.

One thing you can try is disabling AGP with radeon.agpmode=-1 parameter, and see if that allows successful suspend/resume.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bandreabis
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 18 Feb 2005
Posts: 2073
Location: ロヂで

PostPosted: Tue Nov 20, 2012 7:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

chithanh wrote:
If you cannot use KMS, you have to stay with xf86-video-ati-6.14.6-r1.

One thing you can try is disabling AGP with radeon.agpmode=-1 parameter, and see if that allows successful suspend/resume.


Hi chithanh, I masked newer packages. I will remain to xf86-video-ati-6.14.6-r1.

Maybe I could try your suggest. How does AGP disabled affects performances?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chithanh
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Aug 2006
Posts: 1561
Location: Berlin, Germany

PostPosted: Tue Nov 20, 2012 1:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The default agpmode is 4. -1 will disable AGP entirely which causes a noticeable drop in performance. So if -1 works and 4 not, you can try intermediate values (0,1,2).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dr.nil
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Jul 2007
Posts: 35

PostPosted: Fri Nov 23, 2012 4:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have the same problem as described here - ATI Radeon Mobility X1400, xf86-video-ati-7.0.0. I had to explicitly set radeon.agpmode=4 to make suspend work at all but it's extremely flaky: about 50% of the resumes will not work. If resume works, the mouse pointer is garbled, instead I can move a blurry suare around.

I have no clue how to debug this problem any further - Xorg.log and dmesg don't seem to show any abnormal entries AFAICT.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bandreabis
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 18 Feb 2005
Posts: 2073
Location: ロヂで

PostPosted: Fri Nov 23, 2012 7:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

We must resign! Our video card is old.
With version before this last update, my card works flawless according to its age.
The PC as a whole works very well without KMS, let's enjoy our senescence! :P
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dr.nil
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Jul 2007
Posts: 35

PostPosted: Fri Nov 23, 2012 10:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Why give up so soon? This seems to be purely a software problem as everything worked nicely before the update.

Meanwhile I had a look at the dmesg output after a successful resume again and found this:
Quote:

radeon 0000:01:00.0: GPU lockup CP stall for more than 10000msec
radeon 0000:01:00.0: GPU lockup (waiting for 0x0000000000000533 last fence id 0x0000000000000530)
Failed to wait GUI idle while programming pipes. Bad things might happen.
radeon 0000:01:00.0: (rs600_asic_reset:357) RBBM_STATUS=0x90010140
radeon 0000:01:00.0: (rs600_asic_reset:377) RBBM_STATUS=0x90010140
radeon 0000:01:00.0: (rs600_asic_reset:385) RBBM_STATUS=0x10000140
radeon 0000:01:00.0: (rs600_asic_reset:393) RBBM_STATUS=0x10000140
radeon 0000:01:00.0: GPU reset succeed
radeon 0000:01:00.0: GPU reset succeed


So it looks like the driver has trouble waking up the GPU after resume?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bandreabis
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 18 Feb 2005
Posts: 2073
Location: ロヂで

PostPosted: Fri Nov 23, 2012 10:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's not like giving up.
KMS does not bring any visible boost, on the contrary, it slow down some operation.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dr.nil
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Jul 2007
Posts: 35

PostPosted: Fri Nov 23, 2012 10:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

bandreabis wrote:
It's not like giving up.
KMS does not bring any visible boost, on the contrary, it slow down some operation.


But the latest ATI driver is KMS-only. I'm not sure if going back to the latest xf86-video-ati-6.14.6 will be a long term solution, will it?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bandreabis
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 18 Feb 2005
Posts: 2073
Location: ロヂで

PostPosted: Fri Nov 23, 2012 11:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

dr.nil wrote:
bandreabis wrote:
It's not like giving up.
KMS does not bring any visible boost, on the contrary, it slow down some operation.


But the latest ATI driver is KMS-only. I'm not sure if going back to the latest xf86-video-ati-6.14.6 will be a long term solution, will it?


Is a seven years old notebook still a long term solution? :wink:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dr.nil
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Jul 2007
Posts: 35

PostPosted: Fri Nov 23, 2012 12:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

bandreabis wrote:
Is a seven years old notebook still a long term solution? :wink:


Well it's only about 5 years old and it serves me very well on a daily basis.

Will you provide any real help or is ranting about outdated hardware everything?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bandreabis
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 18 Feb 2005
Posts: 2073
Location: ロヂで

PostPosted: Fri Nov 23, 2012 12:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

dr.nil wrote:
bandreabis wrote:
Is a seven years old notebook still a long term solution? :wink:


Well it's only about 5 years old and it serves me very well on a daily basis.

Will you provide any real help or is ranting about outdated hardware everything?


It's only my opinion about the problem. I love my 6 years and 4 month old PC, and it will last forever. Even if it does not work with KMS.

That's all.
Peace and love!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
while true
Guru
Guru


Joined: 07 Apr 2010
Posts: 346
Location: Ljubljana, Slovenia

PostPosted: Thu Nov 29, 2012 5:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hello, newbie here

sorry for hijacking this thread, but I think I have similar problem.
(I also have 'no screen' after xinit)

I have laptop, it is 5 years old, I guess it is old...
lspci says: ATI RV516 [Mobility Radeon X1350]
I followed livibetter's steps, but with no luck.
(The only thing I did not follow is
that in kernel I did not have 'radeon' but 'intel'
[*] Enable modesetting on intel by default)

Since I am newbie I do not know what to post,
I'll start with these:
I use ratpoison wm, and have a dog and a cat...



As I understand there is an option to stay on older version,
In /etc/portage/package.mask I put
>=x11-drivers/xf86-video-ati-6.14.6-r1

I also put my previous kernel back and wm now works, but...
very-very slowly, e.g:
gedit is horribly slow, as I type like 12 character it displays only 2, and than slowly the rest.
ff in unbareble, as I (mouse) scroll it stays foot for almost 3 seconds(!) before it scrolls...

emerge --update --deep --newuse world wants to UD xf86-video-ati-6.14.6-r1 to xf86-video-ati-6.14.4-r1,
but emerge fails (I can post error log, but is D right way?)


What can I do to make my old video card work?

Thank you
_________________
Kind regards, Goran Mitic

alive
while true
kick ass
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
s_bernstein
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 11 Mar 2006
Posts: 172
Location: Bremen, Germany

PostPosted: Thu Nov 29, 2012 10:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The real problem is, that the new xf86-video-ati sucks with old cards. Have the same problems with my T41 (RV250), which was running fine with xf86-video-at-6.12.xx, was slow with the subsequent versions. With version 7.0.0 it's even worse.
After changing my kernel to KMS, adding libkms to my make.conf and recompiling xorg-server, all x11-driver, libdrm and mesa, I got "full" acceleration via r200 renderer. So far, so good. But despite the fact, that glxgears reaches the same fps at around 700fps (I know - glxgears is not a benchmark), the desktop is horribly slow. It seems, that EXA is not as fast as XAA (which conviently was removed by xorg-server 1.13) for old ati cards.
Also, after resuming from suspend to ram, the driver falls back to llvm software renderer and becomes unusable.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bandreabis
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 18 Feb 2005
Posts: 2073
Location: ロヂで

PostPosted: Thu Nov 29, 2012 10:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Masking newer versions to work with older hardware is not a shame! Neither a "ranting"!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chithanh
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Aug 2006
Posts: 1561
Location: Berlin, Germany

PostPosted: Thu Nov 29, 2012 11:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

while true wrote:
In /etc/portage/package.mask I put
>=x11-drivers/xf86-video-ati-6.14.6-r1
I think that is wrong, it should be >=x11-drivers/xf86-video-ati-7.0.0 or >x11-drivers/xf86-video-ati-6.14.6-r1 if you want to stay with UMS.

Also look at the logs what your problem is, and if you can't figure it out create a new thread including your kernel config, dmesg and Xorg.0.log.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
while true
Guru
Guru


Joined: 07 Apr 2010
Posts: 346
Location: Ljubljana, Slovenia

PostPosted: Thu Nov 29, 2012 4:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hello guys


@s_bernstein
"changing my kernel to KMS, adding libkms to my make.conf and recompiling xorg-server, all x11-driver, libdrm and mesa, I got "full" acceleration via r200 renderer. So far, so good."

could I, as newbie or noob, ask for a bit of explanation?
-changing my kernel to KMS - are those changes the same as livibetter described?
I did that but I guess I did something wrong...
-adding libkms to my make.conf - could I bother you for exact line (I dare not mess with make.conf just like that)
-and recompiling - ok, I believe I can do that




@chithanh
I am ashame >= is not as >, you are right! I boost myself as logical guy, but here I fell miserably...




or is it better (for time being) to go back even further with xf86-video-ati-6.12.xy?





I am in no position to "rant" since I am glad to get free (as in stallman's free) software,
and since in our country there is 15% unemployment rate (and I am among them) I can not afford new hardware,
I can only make some origami for developers to show my gratitude, kheh...


Thank you
_________________
Kind regards, Goran Mitic

alive
while true
kick ass
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
livibetter
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Apr 2009
Posts: 55
Location: Taipei, Taiwan

PostPosted: Thu Nov 29, 2012 4:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

while true wrote:
@s_bernstein
"changing my kernel to KMS, adding libkms to my make.conf and recompiling xorg-server, all x11-driver, libdrm and mesa, I got "full" acceleration via r200 renderer. So far, so good."

could I, as newbie or noob, ask for a bit of explanation?
-changing my kernel to KMS - are those changes the same as livibetter described?
I did that but I guess I did something wrong...
-adding libkms to my make.conf - could I bother you for exact line (I dare not mess with make.conf just like that)
-and recompiling - ok, I believe I can do that


I don't have libkms added to make.conf, only add it to package.use for libdrm package.

Just follow X Server Configuration HOWTO for the kernel part.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
s_bernstein
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 11 Mar 2006
Posts: 172
Location: Bremen, Germany

PostPosted: Thu Nov 29, 2012 7:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, adding libkms to the make.conf was just a quick fix because I didn't know what packages will need this use flag. It turns out that libdrm is the only package.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ev56o
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 26 Jan 2010
Posts: 146

PostPosted: Fri Nov 30, 2012 11:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi i have the same problem, i remerging X libdrm ati-drivers and the kernel have KMS compiled as built-in no xorg.conf file and X doesn' t work.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bandreabis
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 18 Feb 2005
Posts: 2073
Location: ロヂで

PostPosted: Fri Nov 30, 2012 11:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ev56o wrote:
Hi i have the same problem, i remerging X libdrm ati-drivers and the kernel have KMS compiled as built-in no xorg.conf file and X doesn' t work.

I'm wrong or KMS works only with open drivers?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum