Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Why do I have so many xf86-video-* ?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
queen
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 19 Jul 2005
Posts: 1512

PostPosted: Mon Oct 29, 2012 4:13 pm    Post subject: Why do I have so many xf86-video-* ? Reply with quote

I found out that there are many xf86-video drivers installed. I am not sure how they were installed and which ones I really need. Some of them I know I need, others I'm out of ideas. Here is the list of xf86-video installed and the graphic cards that I have.

Code:
lspci |grep VGA
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation 3rd Gen Core processor Graphics Controller (rev 09)
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI Thames XT/GL [Radeon HD 7600M Series]



Code:

[I] x11-drivers/xf86-video-ati

[I] x11-drivers/xf86-video-dummy

[I] x11-drivers/xf86-video-fbdev
 
[I] x11-drivers/xf86-video-glint

[I] x11-drivers/xf86-video-intel

[I] x11-drivers/xf86-video-mach64

[I] x11-drivers/xf86-video-mga

[I] x11-drivers/xf86-video-neomagic

[I] x11-drivers/xf86-video-nv

[I] x11-drivers/xf86-video-openchrome

[I] x11-drivers/xf86-video-r128

[I] x11-drivers/xf86-video-savage

[I] x11-drivers/xf86-video-sis

[I] x11-drivers/xf86-video-tdfx

[I] x11-drivers/xf86-video-trident

[I] x11-drivers/xf86-video-v4l

[I] x11-drivers/xf86-video-vesa


I understand the intel and ati driver (which I installed the proprietary one) and v4l (which I enabled in the kernel, but what about the rest of them?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
aCOSwt
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 19 Oct 2007
Posts: 2375
Location: Hilbert space

PostPosted: Mon Oct 29, 2012 4:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

post the output of
Code:
# emerge --info | grep VIDEO_CARDS

_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
queen
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 19 Jul 2005
Posts: 1512

PostPosted: Mon Oct 29, 2012 9:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

aCOSwt wrote:
post the output of
Code:
# emerge --info | grep VIDEO_CARDS


Code:
USE="acl alsa amd64 berkdb bluetooth bzip2 cli cracklib crypt cups cxx dri fortran gdbm gpm iconv ipv6 mmx modules mudflap multilib ncurses nls nptl openmp pam pcre pppd readline session sse sse2 ssl tcpd unicode zlib" ALSA_CARDS="intel8x0,intel8x0m" ALSA_PCM_PLUGINS="adpcm alaw asym copy dmix dshare dsnoop empty extplug file hooks iec958 ioplug ladspa lfloat linear meter mmap_emul mulaw multi null plug rate route share shm softvol" APACHE2_MODULES="authn_core authz_core socache_shmcb unixd actions alias auth_basic authn_alias authn_anon authn_dbm authn_default authn_file authz_dbm authz_default authz_groupfile authz_host authz_owner authz_user autoindex cache cgi cgid dav dav_fs dav_lock deflate dir disk_cache env expires ext_filter file_cache filter headers include info log_config logio mem_cache mime mime_magic negotiation rewrite setenvif speling status unique_id userdir usertrack vhost_alias" CALLIGRA_FEATURES="kexi words flow plan sheets stage tables krita karbon braindump" CAMERAS="ptp2" COLLECTD_PLUGINS="df interface irq load memory rrdtool swap syslog" ELIBC="glibc" GPSD_PROTOCOLS="ashtech aivdm earthmate evermore fv18 garmin garmintxt gpsclock itrax mtk3301 nmea ntrip navcom oceanserver oldstyle oncore rtcm104v2 rtcm104v3 sirf superstar2 timing tsip tripmate tnt ubx" INPUT_DEVICES="evdev keyboard mouse" KERNEL="linux" LCD_DEVICES="bayrad cfontz cfontz633 glk hd44780 lb216 lcdm001 mtxorb ncurses text" LIBREOFFICE_EXTENSIONS="presenter-console presenter-minimizer" LINGUAS="en,he" PHP_TARGETS="php5-3" PYTHON_TARGETS="python3_2 python2_7" RUBY_TARGETS="ruby18 ruby19" USERLAND="GNU"[b] VIDEO_CARDS="fglrx,intel" [/b]XTABLES_ADDONS="quota2 psd pknock lscan length2 ipv4options ipset ipp2p iface geoip fuzzy condition tee tarpit sysrq steal rawnat logmark ipmark dhcpmac delude chaos account"


Something weird also happens I get a black screen. Nothing happens. xdm is added to default run-level and it should invoke kdm login manager.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 31342
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Oct 29, 2012 9:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

queen,

Code:
VIDEO_CARDS="fglrx,intel"
close .. its a space separated list, just like USE.
I suspect you got all of the video drivers as there isn't one that matches your single item.

fglrx is the binary blob for your ATI card.
intel is correct for your intel graphics.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
queen
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 19 Jul 2005
Posts: 1512

PostPosted: Mon Oct 29, 2012 10:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
queen,

Code:
VIDEO_CARDS="fglrx,intel"
close .. its a space separated list, just like USE.
I suspect you got all of the video drivers as there isn't one that matches your single item.

fglrx is the binary blob for your ATI card.
intel is correct for your intel graphics.


fglrx I wanted to install. I corrected the syntax. I"ll report back tomorrow how it works. The question how it pulled all the rest which I don't need.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 31342
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Oct 29, 2012 10:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

queen,

It matched no video drivers from your list so emerge pulled in the full set.
Thats a change. It used to be that when you did not ask for any video drivers, you got none.

By uses a comma separated list, emerge eas looking for one driver called "fglrx,intel" which does not exist.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
queen
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 19 Jul 2005
Posts: 1512

PostPosted: Tue Oct 30, 2012 9:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
queen,

It matched no video drivers from your list so emerge pulled in the full set.
Thats a change. It used to be that when you did not ask for any video drivers, you got none.

By uses a comma separated list, emerge eas looking for one driver called "fglrx,intel" which does not exist.


I removed the comma and it still gives me a black screen. ;-(
So probably there is another reason too.

In any case I will start removing all the other video cards that were pulled in.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 31342
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Tue Oct 30, 2012 7:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

queen,

If you wish to use the binary blob fglrx, you must write a xorg.conf file to say so.

Xorg will only try open source drivers on its own. For you, thats radeon and intel.
However, you may not install both radeon and fglrx at the same time as they need different mutually exclusive kernel settings.
Well, you can but you need two kernels with different names to do it.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
queen
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 19 Jul 2005
Posts: 1512

PostPosted: Tue Oct 30, 2012 9:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
queen,

If you wish to use the binary blob fglrx, you must write a xorg.conf file to say so.

Xorg will only try open source drivers on its own. For you, thats radeon and intel.
However, you may not install both radeon and fglrx at the same time as they need different mutually exclusive kernel settings.
Well, you can but you need two kernels with different names to do it.


OK, I didn't know about it. As far as I recall, when I installed the binary ati-drivers it created a xorg.conf with this setting. I will check again xorg.conf to see what it has. I installed according to this:
http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/ati-faq.xml
http://en.gentoo-wiki.com/wiki/Fglrx
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum