Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOLVED] no more terminals within window manager
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
sws
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Sep 2009
Posts: 29

PostPosted: Mon Oct 22, 2012 6:21 pm    Post subject: [SOLVED] no more terminals within window manager Reply with quote

Hi all,

after emerging world this weekend I can not open any terminal anymore form within a window manager. Gnome-terminal says: "getpt failed: file or directory not found".
I checked
- mounting /dev/pts: is mounted,
- grepped pts in /etc/fstab: not included,
- checked /dev/ptmx: is present.

One thing I noticed while booting is:
"mount: /dev/shm not mounted or bad option".
No idea what is wrong here, also I don't know if the first error has anything to do with the second. Maybe this is subject to another thread.

System is ~arch64.

Any helpful hints appreciated.

Greets,
Sebastian


Last edited by sws on Wed Oct 24, 2012 6:42 pm; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 33043
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Oct 22, 2012 6:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

sws,

What do you have inside /dev/pts ?
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sws
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Sep 2009
Posts: 29

PostPosted: Mon Oct 22, 2012 6:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi NeddySeagoon,

Code:
# ls -Fla /dev/pts
./
../


so /dev/pts is empty.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 33043
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Oct 22, 2012 7:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

sws,

Ah. I was bitten by this when I upgraded my KVM host.

/dev/pts needs to contain ptmx.

Add
Code:
# ssh and libvirtd fail without the next entry
devpts                  /dev/pts        devpts          defaults        0 0
to /etc/fstab

To avoid the reboot, run the mount manually.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sws
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Sep 2009
Posts: 29

PostPosted: Mon Oct 22, 2012 7:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi NeedySeagoon,

did what you proposed and mounted manually: everything's fine.
Rebooting unfortunately set everything back to the error state: both /dev/shm and /dev/pts "not mounted or bad option". Terminal gives "getpt failed" error.

I did a
Code:
# ps x

as root and got a message:
Code:
...
udisks-daemon: not polling any devices
...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 33043
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Oct 22, 2012 7:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

sws,

What if you add the line I suggested to /etc/fstab while the system is broken then do
Code:
mount -a
which runs through /etc/fstab and mounts everything not already mounted ?
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sws
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Sep 2009
Posts: 29

PostPosted: Mon Oct 22, 2012 8:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry to say, but when I did as you told me:

I added the line "devpts ..." in /etc/fstab and mounted devpts manually. Afterwards I could start gnome-terminal without problems.
But after a reboot /dev/pts was not mounted anymore.

Code:
# mount -a

unfortunately brought no improvement.

(BTW: have to quit for today, will be back tomorrow :-)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 4951
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Mon Oct 22, 2012 8:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
rc-update add udev-mount sysinit

This is what portage told me to do.
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 33043
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Oct 22, 2012 8:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jaglover,

Oh - thanks. I missed that.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 4951
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Mon Oct 22, 2012 8:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You are welcome! :)
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sws
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Sep 2009
Posts: 29

PostPosted: Wed Oct 24, 2012 6:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you both for your advice.
The hint to
Code:
# rc-update add udev-mount sysinit


was the last piece of this jigsaw. Terminals within window managers are starting again as before.

I'm taggng this thread as solved.

Thanks again,
Yours,
Sebastian
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum