Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Does KMS Require Firmware?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
anyNiXwilldo
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 20 Feb 2004
Posts: 176
Location: US

PostPosted: Sun Oct 14, 2012 12:57 am    Post subject: Does KMS Require Firmware? Reply with quote

I am running a deblobbed hardened kernel. It boots fine as long as KMS is disabled. If KMS is enabled, it stalls very early at boot, because it is trying to load CEDAR firmware which is no longer installed. Does KMS require firmware?
_________________
Of course you can have my root password. I'm on Hardened!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chithanh
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Aug 2006
Posts: 1559
Location: Berlin, Germany

PostPosted: Sun Oct 14, 2012 1:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, the radeon driver requires proprietary firmware. If a built-in driver is missing firmware during boot, it will hang the boot process for about 60 seconds per missing firmware file.

http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/xorg-config.xml has a list of firmware files that are needed for radeon KMS.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
anyNiXwilldo
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 20 Feb 2004
Posts: 176
Location: US

PostPosted: Sun Oct 14, 2012 1:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

*SIGH* I thought I solved these kinds of problems a year ago when I ditched nVidia, but a thousand thank yous for the quick and accurate response.

Does the nouveau driver require firmware for KMS?
_________________
Of course you can have my root password. I'm on Hardened!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chithanh
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Aug 2006
Posts: 1559
Location: Berlin, Germany

PostPosted: Sun Oct 14, 2012 1:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

NVidia cards require that some kind of microcode called "fuc progs" is loaded into the cards. For previous generation cards (Fermi and older) this microcode was reverse engineered and can now be generated by nouveau. For current (Kepler) generation cards it must still be extracted from the proprietary nvidia driver at runtime.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
anyNiXwilldo
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 20 Feb 2004
Posts: 176
Location: US

PostPosted: Sun Oct 14, 2012 2:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

chithanh wrote:

For previous generation cards (Fermi and older) this microcode was reverse engineered and can now be generated by nouveau.


Is a Nvidia 9500GT considered to be 'previous generation?'

(If I was where you are right now, I would be slathering some pork in curry catsup and planning which gluvien recipe to prepare for Yule.)
_________________
Of course you can have my root password. I'm on Hardened!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chithanh
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Aug 2006
Posts: 1559
Location: Berlin, Germany

PostPosted: Sun Oct 14, 2012 2:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

See http://nouveau.freedesktop.org/wiki/CodeNames
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
anyNiXwilldo
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 20 Feb 2004
Posts: 176
Location: US

PostPosted: Sun Oct 14, 2012 2:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

That website denotes the 9500GT as NV50 generation. It most likely doesn't require firmware, since it is highly recommended by Trisquel users, which is a deblobbed distro with neither proprietary firmware nor non-free software installed.
_________________
Of course you can have my root password. I'm on Hardened!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum