Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOLVED] VFS: ...unknown-block(0,0): error -6
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Kas_
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 05 Oct 2012
Posts: 124

PostPosted: Wed Oct 17, 2012 7:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey, sorry for being so late; I had to study the PSATs.

Anyway, fdisk -l
https://gist.github.com/3907645
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7651
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Wed Oct 17, 2012 8:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

have you edited your menuconfig as suggested above, recompiled, recopied kernel, and rebooted?
if panic recurs a digital photo posted at a free photo site might be helpful.
as the kernel on the cd could be identifying the hard drives differently from the installed kernel, it would be interesting to add to grub.conf:
Quote:
title Gentoo Linux 3.4.9 on sdb3
root (hd0,0)
kernel /boot/kernel-3.4.9-gentoo root=/dev/sdb3

title Gentoo Linux 3.4.9 on sdc3
root (hd0,0)
kernel /boot/kernel-3.4.9-gentoo root=/dev/sdc3
and try each in turn
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54098
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Wed Oct 17, 2012 8:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Kas_.

Panic Message wrote:
unknown-block(x,y)
tells a great deal about your problem.
x is the kernel device major number and y the device minor number. You ca get a list of these in /usr/src/linux/Documentation

0,0 is illegal. It means the kernel cannot communicate with your HDD. Usually because a piece of code you need in the kernel has either been left out or made as a module.
The kernel tries every filesystem it knows to mount root, hence some odd messages.

As a part of the panic message, the kernel will list all of the drives and partitions it can see. Sometimes this list is empty, in which case new users will miss it.

The kernel allocates device names to hard drives as they are found, so if your PATA driver was missing, it would not be found and one of your other drives would be /dev/sda, so as you say, the kernel is looking on the wrong drive.

You have an extra challenge as you have a mix of PATA and SATA drives. The boot order you set in the BIOS may determine the order the kernel sees drives in too.
This is unfortunate as it makes installing grub to the MBR difficult as your drive ordering can change from the liveCD to booting your own system.
We will address that if the case arises.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kas_
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 05 Oct 2012
Posts: 124

PostPosted: Wed Oct 17, 2012 8:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,
So i recompiled and recopied and reboot.
I got a
[code]
EXT3-fs (sda3): error: unable to read superblock
EXT3-fs (sda3): error: unable to read superblock
swapper/0: sending ioctl 5310 to a partition!
isofs_fill_super: bread failed, dev=sda3, iso_blknum=16, block=32
List of all partitions
No filesystem could mount root, tried: ext3 ext2 vfat msdos iso9660 ntfs
Kernel-panic - not syncing: VFS: Unable to mount root fs on unknown-block(8,3)[/code]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7651
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Wed Oct 17, 2012 9:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

a digital photo of the panic screen posted at a free photo site would be helpful. post the url here.
as the kernel on the cd could be identifying the hard drives differently from the installed kernel, it would be helpful to add to grub.conf:
Quote:
title Gentoo Linux 3.4.9 on sdb3
root (hd0,0)
kernel /boot/kernel-3.4.9-gentoo root=/dev/sdb3

title Gentoo Linux 3.4.9 on sdc3
root (hd0,0)
kernel /boot/kernel-3.4.9-gentoo root=/dev/sdc3
and try each in turn
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54098
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Wed Oct 17, 2012 9:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Kas_,

Thats an improvement. Notice the unknown-block(8,3), not (0,0).
This means that the kernel can see sda3 but not read what it finds there. There are two reasons. The filesystem you need is not in the kernel or the kernel is looking at the wrong disk.

Lets use grub to do a few tests. Grub allows you to edit the in RAM copy of the grub.conf before you boot.

Boot to the grub splash screen, then press 'e' to get into the editor.
Find the root=/dev/sda3, or real_root=/dev/sda3 depending on your setup.
Change the sda3 to sdb3 then allow the boot to contine.

If that fails test with sdc3 the same way.

The system will not boot as rootfsck will fail, so root will remain read only, but it should mount root, if you have the right filesystem in the kernel. You have ext3 ext2 vfat msdos iso9660 and ntfs.
Kernel ntfs is a very bad thing - if you only need ntfs read, its ok but it has almost no write support ... anyway, thats another Gentoo learning experience altogether.

When you know what works, boot with the liveCD and fix grub.conf and /etc/fstab
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kas_
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 05 Oct 2012
Posts: 124

PostPosted: Wed Oct 17, 2012 9:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

http://i.imgur.com/Rd8N8.jpg
http://i.imgur.com/foLyS.jpg

@Neddy,
I think it worked. I'm gonna try changing grub and fstab
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54098
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Wed Oct 17, 2012 9:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Kas_

This image shows that your two 20G drives are sdb and sdc.
The panic also says unknown block(8,3). which is sda3.

We know that the kernel sees all three drives - what did playing with the grub editor tell ?
What filesystem did you actually use or your root ?
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kas_
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 05 Oct 2012
Posts: 124

PostPosted: Wed Oct 17, 2012 9:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That gentoo is on sdb and the installation disc probably read it wrong.
ext3.

Unfortunately, I must've did something wrong because I got this error. http://imgur.com/YoTyF
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54098
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Wed Oct 17, 2012 9:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Kas_,

The system mounted root.

I've not seen a few lines of rubbish at the bottom of the screen before. Its normally all or nothing.

Its either a kernel issue or a configuration issue.
Does the boot proceed normally, with the rubbish moving up the screen or does it all halt there?

Do you use a framebuffer console or a plan VGA console.
Framebuffers all display one tux image per CPU core in your system VGA can't do that.

Do you use a CRT display or a LCD ?

Can you put your kernel .config on a pastebin please?
wgetpaste is your friend.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7651
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Wed Oct 17, 2012 9:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

the next line should be :
Quote:
udevd[1165]: starting version 171
udev starting the creation of devices

missing
Quote:
Device Drivers --->
Generic Driver Options --->
(/sbin/hotplug) path to uevent helper
[*] Maintain a devtmpfs filesystem to mount at /dev
[*] Automount devtmpfs at /dev, after the kernel mounted the rootfs
in menuconfig may be the cause
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kas_
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 05 Oct 2012
Posts: 124

PostPosted: Wed Oct 17, 2012 10:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

@Neddy,
The bottom of the screen is because I have two monitors and I was taking a picture of the larger one. It looks normal on the smaller monitor. I think it's just indicating where the smaller monitor ends.

I use LCD

I'll post it in a sec.

@DONAHUE
Thanks, I'll try it
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7651
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Wed Oct 17, 2012 10:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

While in chroot follow neddy's suggestion
Code:
emerge wgetpaste
wgetpaste /usr/src/linux/.config
post url returned here
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kas_
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 05 Oct 2012
Posts: 124

PostPosted: Wed Oct 17, 2012 10:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

http://bpaste.net/show/51898/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7651
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Wed Oct 17, 2012 10:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You have hybrid graphics on a laptop?
With kms invoked you should not have selected:
Quote:
CONFIG_FB_RADEON=y
CONFIG_FB_RADEON_I2C=y
CONFIG_FB_RADEON_BACKLIGHT=y

IMHO you should have:
Quote:
CONFIG_VGA_SWITCHEROO=y
CONFIG_FIRMWARE_EDID=y

#CONFIG_FB_RADEON is not set
#CONFIG_FB_RADEON_I2C is not set
#CONFIG_FB_RADEON_BACKLIGHT is not set

_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kas_
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 05 Oct 2012
Posts: 124

PostPosted: Wed Oct 17, 2012 10:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

well, it says it uses radeon so I kinda assumed to select radeon. but I'll try it.

EDIT: ok, I set it, anything else before i rebuild?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7651
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Wed Oct 17, 2012 10:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

radeon_fb is a different animal from radeon; not totally clear in http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/xorg-config.xml where it says
Quote:
Support for frame buffer devices --->
(Disable all drivers, including VGA, Intel, nVidia, and ATI)


not at the moment, build away, will take a general look at the config though
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kas_
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 05 Oct 2012
Posts: 124

PostPosted: Wed Oct 17, 2012 11:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I rebuilt it. should i restart to see if it works?
Also, when I uname -r (in chroot) I get 3.2.12-gentoo however in the kernel menu config thing, it says 3.4.9 so should i 3.4.9 or 3.2.12.

EDIT: I reboot and got the same errors.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7651
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Wed Oct 17, 2012 11:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

cd kernel shows up in chroot

exit and reboot installed gentoo with fingers crossed
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7651
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Wed Oct 17, 2012 11:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

boot cd
Code:

mount /dev/sda3 /mnt/gentoo
ls /mnt/gentoo/boot
should see no files, if you see a kernel it means the new kernel was copied to the /boot directory on the root partition, remove it with
Code:
rm /mnt/gentoo/boot/*
When ls /mnt/gentoo/boot is empty
Code:
mount /dev/sda1 /mnt/gentoo/boot
ls -l /mnt/gentoo/boot
verify a new kernel was copied to /mnt/gentoo/boot in the last hour or less.
Code:
nano /mnt/gentoo/boot/grub/grub.conf
verify the kernel line contains the name of the new kernel spelled exactly as in the ls -l /mnt/gentoo/boot output.
if no problem found continue into the chroot and again
Code:
 wgetpaste /usr/src/linux/.config
wgetpaste /etc/fstab
and post the url's.
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kas_
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 05 Oct 2012
Posts: 124

PostPosted: Wed Oct 17, 2012 11:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

same error :( And it's not even an error...it just plain doesn't work.
the last statement before it hangs is
[code]init-early.sh used greatest stack depth:3472 bytes left[/code] then nothing.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7651
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Thu Oct 18, 2012 12:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

boot cd
Code:
lspci -k
what is the radeon card's identity?
it should have firmware built in to the kernel
does your bios have the ability to disable radeon? if so reboot gentoo disabling radeon in bios on the way up. (or unplug external power before reboot if that is supposed to control graphics card in use.)
Does the hard drive continue working even though the screen hangs?
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kas_
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 05 Oct 2012
Posts: 124

PostPosted: Thu Oct 18, 2012 12:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

lspci -k https://gist.github.com/3842353

I think it's this: VGA compatible controller: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI RS880 [Radeon HD 4200] Subsystem: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI Device 0000

I think I need the extra-firmware thing because not only does it not work, it also hangs a bit at 'switching to clocksource tsc" https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-910986-start-0.html. I had plan on fixing it after I got gentoo to boot.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7651
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Thu Oct 18, 2012 12:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

in the chroot edit menuconfig to
Quote:
General setup --->
<*> Kernel .config support
[*] Enable access to .config through /proc/config.gz

and
Quote:
Device Drivers --->
Generic Driver Options --->
(/sbin/hotplug) path to uevent helper
[*] Maintain a devtmpfs filesystem to mount at /dev
[*] Automount devtmpfs at /dev, after the kernel mounted the rootfs
[*] Select only drivers that don't need compile-time external firmware
[*] Prevent firmware from being built
-*- Userspace firmware loading support
[*] Include in-kernel firmware blobs in kernel binary
(radeon/R600_rlc.bin radeon/R700_rlc.bin) External firmware blobs to build into the kernel binary
(/lib/firmware) Firmware blobs root directory
[ ] Driver Core verbose debug messages
[ ] Managed device resources verbose debug messages

Select
Quote:
() External firmware blobs to build into the kernel binary
then type or paste
Quote:
radeon/R600_rlc.bin radeon/R700_rlc.bin
into it. then exit the dialog and
Quote:
(firmware) Firmware blobs root directory
will appear; select it and edit
Quote:
firmware
to
Quote:
/lib/firmware
in the dialog box. Exit. Check all is as in the quote above. recompile recopy the kernel.
Code:
emerge linux-firmware

exit chroot and reboot.
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kas_
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 05 Oct 2012
Posts: 124

PostPosted: Thu Oct 18, 2012 10:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey, it works :) That's cool. Thanks for your help.
Was the problem the graphics?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Page 2 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum