Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Problem with twm
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours
View posts from last 7 days

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Silent-Hunter
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 07 Jul 2013
Posts: 166

PostPosted: Fri Jul 12, 2013 9:53 pm    Post subject: Problem with twm Reply with quote

I can't add any menus to the main menu. If I do, twm complains about syntax errors, and the main menu stops working. I checked my .twmrc file MANY times. All I did was add two new menus to it.

Code:
NoGrabServer
RestartPreviousState
DecorateTransients
TitleFont "-adobe-helvetica-bold-r-normal--*-120-*-*-*-*-*-*"
ResizeFont "-adobe-helvetica-bold-r-normal--*-120-*-*-*-*-*-*"
MenuFont "-adobe-helvetica-bold-r-normal--*-120-*-*-*-*-*-*"
IconFont "-adobe-helvetica-bold-r-normal--*-100-*-*-*-*-*-*"
IconManagerFont "-adobe-helvetica-bold-r-normal--*-100-*-*-*"
#ClientBorderWidth

Color
{
    BorderColor "slategrey"
    DefaultBackground "rgb:2/a/9"
    DefaultForeground "gray85"
    TitleBackground "rgb:2/a/9"
    TitleForeground "gray85"
    MenuBackground "rgb:2/a/9"
    MenuForeground "gray85"
    MenuBorderColor "slategrey"
    MenuTitleBackground "gray70"
    MenuTitleForeground "rgb:2/a/9"
    IconBackground "rgb:2/a/9"
    IconForeground "gray85"
    IconBorderColor "gray85"
    IconManagerBackground "rgb:2/a/9"
    IconManagerForeground "gray85"
}

#
# Define some useful functions for motion-based actions.
#
MoveDelta 3
Function "move-or-lower" { f.move f.deltastop f.lower }
Function "move-or-raise" { f.move f.deltastop f.raise }
Function "move-or-iconify" { f.move f.deltastop f.iconify }

#
# Set some useful bindings.  Sort of uwm-ish, sort of simple-button-ish
#
Button1 = : root : f.menu "defops"

Button1 = m : window|icon : f.function "move-or-lower"
Button2 = m : window|icon : f.iconify
Button3 = m : window|icon : f.function "move-or-raise"

Button1 = : title : f.function "move-or-raise"
Button2 = : title : f.raiselower

Button1 = : icon : f.function "move-or-iconify"
Button2 = : icon : f.iconify

Button1 = : iconmgr : f.iconify
Button2 = : iconmgr : f.iconify

#
# And a menus with the usual things
#
menu "defops"
{
"Twm"   f.title
"Iconify"   f.iconify
"Resize"   f.resize
"Move"      f.move
"Raise"      f.raise
"Lower"      f.lower
""      f.nop
"Focus"      f.focus
"Unfocus"   f.unfocus
"Show Iconmgr"   f.showiconmgr
"Hide Iconmgr"   f.hideiconmgr
""      f.nop
"Xterm"      f.exec "exec xterm -fg white -bg black&"
""      f.nop
menu "network"
{
"Network"   f.title
"Aurora"   f.exec "firefox &"
"EarlyBird"   f.exec "thunderbird &"
"KTorrent"   f.exec "ktorrent &"
}
menu "system"
{
"System"   f.title
"PCManFM"   f.exec "pcmanfm &"
"XScreenSaver"   f.exec "xscreensaver-demo &"
}
""      f.nop
"Kill"      f.destroy
"Delete"   f.delete
""      f.nop
"Restart"   f.restart
"Exit"      f.quit
}
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lost+found
Guru
Guru


Joined: 15 Nov 2004
Posts: 509
Location: North~Sea~Coa~s~~t~~~

PostPosted: Sat Jul 13, 2013 6:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think submenus can't be nested. It needs a "f.menu" poining to the menu.
Like mine (without the ++++ and @@ from diff)...

Code:
$ whatis diff
diff                 (1)  - compare files line by line
...

$ diff -u /usr/share/X11/twm/system.twmrc $HOME/.twmrc
...

 #
 # And a menus with the usual things
 #
@@ -80,6 +92,7 @@
 "Show Iconmgr" f.showiconmgr
 "Hide Iconmgr" f.hideiconmgr
 ""             f.nop
+"More..."      f.menu "more"
 "Xterm"                f.exec "exec xterm &"
 ""             f.nop
 "Kill"         f.destroy
@@ -88,3 +101,17 @@
 "Restart"      f.restart
 "Exit"         f.quit
 }
+
+menu "more"
+{
+"More"         f.title
+"AlsaMixer"    f.exec "exec xterm -e alsamixer &"
+"Nano"         f.exec "exec xterm -e nano &"
+"Opera"        f.exec "exec opera -geometry 1021x746-1-1 -nolirc &"
+"Xine"         f.exec "exec xine -HLZ --loop=shuffle &"
+""             f.nop
+"Top"          f.exec "exec xterm -e top &"
+""             f.nop
+"Manual"       f.exec "exec xterm -e man twm &"
+"Settings"     f.exec "exec xterm -e nano -w ~/.twmrc &"
+}



-- Cheers
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lost+found
Guru
Guru


Joined: 15 Nov 2004
Posts: 509
Location: North~Sea~Coa~s~~t~~~

PostPosted: Sat Jul 13, 2013 7:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Another thing I use are Multimedia keys on the keyboard and remote control (Internet, E-mail, Search), which can be added easily.

.twmrc
Code:
...
"XF86HomePage"  = : all : f.exec "exec opera -geometry 1021x746+255+191 -nolirc &"
"XF86Mail"      = : all : f.exec "exec opera -geometry 1021x746+255+191 -nolirc -nosession -mail &"
"XF86Search"    = : all : f.exec "killall xine; ln -sf .lircrc-opera .lircrc && exec opera -geometry 1021x746+255+191 -nosession -nomail &"
"XF86MenuKB"    = : all : f.exec "ln -sf .lircrc-xine .lircrc && exec xine -H &"
...


Keyboard volume can be done adding ACPI events/scripts.

I keep Twm around as an "emergency" desktop.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Silent-Hunter
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 07 Jul 2013
Posts: 166

PostPosted: Mon Jul 15, 2013 2:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

But I saw lots of people nesting menus in their .twmrc files. Plus I've done it before, I did it on Fedora 16 when I used to have it. Did TWM change? I'll try the f.menu thing though. Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum